We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Akropolis Greek Taverna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We ate at this restaurant with a large group of about 20 people. I thought it was going to be a train wreck with that many people, but it was actually very smooth. The menu is not very expansive, but everything was delicious. The lamb shank was by far the best plate served. As in many Greek restaurants, the hummus appetizer was also terrific. The owners were very hospitable and made sure that we were taken care of. This is a family owned restaurant and you can tell there is a lot of effort that goes into there meals. There really is nothing bad I can say.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    130
    53
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family run Greek restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I visited this wonderful restaurant in October '12. Although we visit Antigua each year, this was the first time we had tried the Greek Taverna, What a delightful surprise! We got such a warm welcome from the family when we arrived. Vicki made such a fuss of us, she could not have been more welcoming if we had actually been her own family. The interior was very atmospheric with Greek music playing in the background. You could see right into the kitchen which was so clean and tidy. Although the menu is obviously Greek, Vicky will do whatever you would like to eat. On one of our visits we were with another couple and the husband could not eat anything remotely spicy or with herbs due to his food intolerances.This was no challenge to the cook! The large pork chop, mash and mixed vegetables were cooked perfectly to his taste. The rest of us had traditional Greek dishes which were delicious. You never felt in the way or rushed at all. Dimitri (hope I spelt that right) used to come out and ask how we were getting on and would answer any of our queries. Along with the incredibly tasty main dishes, Vicky makes delicious cupcakes and traditional Greek desserts. Mmmm Yum. We had recommended the Taverna to a number of people and their feedback was really positive. Ron and I wish Vicky, Ari and the whole family huge success with this new venture and to quote one of those who took our recommendation to visit the Akropolis
" She is one hell of a Cook - Awesome" Keep cooking Vicky You Rock!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madgefuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time felt like I was at a friend's house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The chef/owner came out and welcomes us and went over the entire menu. She was out of several things but explained why. She wouldn't settle for substandard ingredients. Drinks were good. Food was wonderful. Great portion sizes. Wish we had room for dessert. Another restaurant said it was the only place they will go out to eat on antigua.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zarroc6669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very passionate about their food and hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I visit this part of the island many times and this restaurant is relatively new. We ate there this week for the first time as my husband has many food intolerances and was worried about the Greek food not being kind to his digestion. However Vicky (the chef) was amazingingly accommodating and could not do enough for him. She sat with him and asked him many things about his requirements and came up trumps with a splendid meal of a huge pork chop, mash potatoes and fresh veg. It was perfect for him. Some passerby commented as he saw his meal "not very Greek is it?" but that is what he wanted. The rest of us had traditional greek food and it was delicious. The restaurant had a very relaxing ambience and the decor was typically traditionally Greek with Greek music gently playing in the background. You really felt you were on a Greek island for the evening and then you step down the stairs and back into the Caribbean once more. Thank you Vicky and we wish you every success that your hard work deserves. We will definitely return and would recommend everyone to try this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We're we dining at a different restaurant???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I'm not sure if we visited on an off night, but our experience does not mirror that of the other reviewers. The night we visited there was just myself and my husband and another couple with their teenage son. We were greeted as though we were an inconvenience shown to our table by a curly haired gentleman who grunted at us. We ordered drinks and no sooner had they been set on the table we were asked to order. The starters arrived promptly meatballs and hoummas which were both OK nothing special but nothing offensive. We had not finished eating the starters when our mains were brought out, this being about 15 minutes after arriving. The Moussaka had obviously been microwaved and for some bizarre reason had feta cheese on top bland tasteless with unidentifiable vegetables and definately not lamb mince. My husband chose the famous lamb shank which was inedible, congealed gravy over a microwaved lamb shank which had an odd gelatinous texture and lumpy cold mash potatoes.
An older man was walking in and out of the kitchen with a lit cigar. A man walked into the restaurant and a verbal altercation ensued which resulted in this man being thrown out. We felt we were disturbing the staff from their evening at the bar and didn't bother with dessert. Again I don't know why we had such a poor experience but I really couldn't recommend this place at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amelia121079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akropolis Greek Taverna also viewed

Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 
Saint Mary's, Antigua
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 

Been to Akropolis Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing