We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay at Hamilton House.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hamilton House,

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Pool
Denni's Local Beach Bar
Veranda
Hamilton House
Veranda
Jolly Beach
St John's
Crystal clear water
Google Map of Jolly Harbour
Jolly Beach, Near Apartment
Overview: English Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HUNKYDORY...
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Hamilton House.”
Reviewed February 17, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed here for two weeks and was very happy with our choice.
We have been to Antigua twice before, so we did know the area.
We were greeted by the lovely Jenny, who showed us around the apartment and gave us many tips on things to see and places to eat.
The apartment was very spacious for the two of us.
We loved the verandah especially in the morning, enjoyed having a breakfast with the birds.
Plenty of towels and linen and the kitchen was equipped with everything we needed, although we didn't do any cooking, just breakfast and made picnics.
We found it very peaceful here and and an ideal location for the many beaches.
Although i would say personally a car is recommended for ease to visit all these beaches and further field.
As others have said Jolly Harbour is close by, with it's supermarket and restaurants, and beach, probably about 10 min walk and about 15 min walk to beach.
Only one negative comment, a good mirror near a plug would be really helpful for drying your hair. Apart from that it was perfect.
We loved it so much we are back again next year.
Thank you, Adrian, Angela and Jenny.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annesusse...
Polegate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class accomodation in lovely peaceful setting with stunning views”
Reviewed January 30, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Good location within walking distance of beach, shopping and restaurants. Handy for buses.
Lovely pool and gardens.
Airy apartment with spectacular views.
Very well equipped. Good for eating in on lovely balcony.
Airconditioning and ceiling fans throughout.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2018
Thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back. Angela & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
859chrisc
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My wife and I booked this apartment for 7 days and from the meet and greet on day one to the goodbye handover, we have nothing but positive feedback.

The apartment was exactly as described. A spacious two bedroom, two bathroom apartment with an open plan living / dining / kitchen, and extensive veranda to enjoy those magnificent Antigua sunsets from. The pool although small is perfect for a cooling dip on a day when you wish to give the hustle and bustle of Jolly Harbour, or the beach a miss. We only used it on the final day of our trip as the location of this apartment allows you explore all of the island with relative ease. However, a car is highly recommended if you wish to travel further afield than Darkwood Beach or Jolly Harbour. Although taxis are plentiful, but regular day trips to St John's, English Harbour, the Rain Forest, Stingray City, (BTW our favourite excursion, an absolute must) etc. can become a rather expensive habit.

The apartment is well equipped with everything you could possibly need (even down to a cool bag and recyclable shopping bags. Plus a local mobile phone which is a real boon. There was nothing we could not find or did not have in the apartment.

The air conditioning and ceiling fans are more than sufficient to cool the apartment on hot nights & the BBQ on the veranda means you can enjoy a totally alfresco evening if you choose. Well maintained gardens surround the property as it is at the foothills of of a forested area, you have the joys of a sea view one way and a green treed view the other way.

A great find for us and one we are completely happy with.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2017
Thank you for your very positive comments and review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our Caribbean home and hope to welcome you back soon. Angela & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockinrob...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice apartment near the excellent Valley Church Beach.”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in Apartment 2 of Hamilton House with our two teenage sons. It was just as it looked on the website, although the bathrooms could do with some updating. We liked the verandah, a great spot for watching wildlife (birds and lizards!). The apartment was well equipped, and we were impressed with the number of beach towels provided. The air con and ceiling fans worked well, and the beds were comfortable. The location was quiet: Jolly Harbour (supermarket & restaurants) is a ten minute walk along the road in one direction, and Valley Church Beach is ten minutes along the road in the other direction. The road is quite busy, and with no footpaths, it is essential to walk in single file. The beach is excellent, especially when there are no cruise ships in St Johns, and we loved The Nest Beach Bar, particularly the Coconut Prawns! There are lots of good restaurants nearby, especially Miracles on the road to Jolly Harbour, and Oceanos near Valley Church Beach.
Airport transfers were included the price, very convenient.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Verandah
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MarcandRe...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with the kids”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Hamilton House over Christmas and although nervous of booking purely based on the website photo's and description without any personal referral it was exactly as described and we has a great week there as our base. The second floor apartment had great views and the apartment had everything we needed and everything worked, usual in the Carribean! The kids loved the pool shared amongst the four apartments.
The location is about a 10 to 15 minute walk from Jolly Bay restaurants, beach and supermarket, if we went again we would probably get a car. There are some great restaurants closeby, 5 mins in a cab, especially recommend Jackie O's and the beach there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and privacy, away from the hurly burly of Jolly Harbour
Liked least: The walk back up the hill from Jolly Harbour!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obsessedb...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this property for almost 3 weeks, including New Year's Eve. We occupied the Apartment 2, which is on the first ( and top) floor. The apartment was exactly as described on the website. It had all the amenities we needed, washing macine, electric stove, a huge microwave, fridge and freezer, TV set, DVD, kettle, coffee maker, a hudge toaster, baby cot. Robert, the manager, even left us a mobile phone, so we could contact him easily, as our cell phones didn't always work here. The apartment was very cozy, big enough. The terrace was nice, it had a beautiful view over the luxuriant vegetation and the sea. It had a BBQ which we've used quite often. Maid came once a week. The premises of Hamilton House were nicely taken care of, the lawn was mown, the pool and pool area neat and clean. There wasn't actually anything left to be desired. If I were to make a slight observation, that would be the walls are a bit too thin, so you can easily hear your neighbours ( and of course they can hear you) and also the strong winds that sometimes blow seem to shake the entire house. I reckon they don' t build the houses here the way they are built in Europe, there' s simply no need to, as it never gets cold, there' s no actual need of insulation.
We have rented a car, it is strongly recommended, although there are no big distances here. Everything is within minutes ( supermarket, - the Epicurian, a very good, well stocked one- beaches so many and so nice, all of them- still my favourite would remain Ffryes Beach, good restaurants, Jolly Harbour, are not far away) . Neither English Harbour nor St. John's , the capital, are far away, about 30-40 minutes by car). Last but not least, the price of the apartment was very reasonable, around 100€/day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing