We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, horrible service”
Review of Sugar Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Ridge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jolly Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2011

My husband and I recently visited Sugar Ridge in Antigua. The hotel is very nice and clean, and has a nice setup up in the hills. Unfortunately it is not on the beach, and is about a 10 minute walk from a not so nice public Jolly Beach. After many Caribbean vacations we definitely understand "island time" and "island attitude" but the service at Sugar Ridge was awful. No one was willing to help, and everything always seemed to be an issue for them. Asking for towels at the pool was an ordeal! They were not helpful or very willing to give recommendations for food or activities. The majority of the staff seemed to be annoyed that the guests were even there. We unfortunately were not left with a very good feel for Antigua, and will not be returning anytime soon. That said, Carmichael's restaurant was great and there service was wonderful, and several of the waiters/waitresses at Sugar Club Restaurant were very kind and accommodating.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this nearly brand new hotel at the beginning of December. The hotel was in good condition and well laid out (if not a little hilly). Most of the staff were pleasant and efficient most of the time and the occasional times when they weren't they weren't that unpleasant nor inefficient. We were particularly impressed that the hotel laid on a very friendly and free delivery service to a number of the local beaches. One word of warning (and this has nothing to do with the hotel) is that if you're after a fairly busy night life don't go to Antigua!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

You cannot go wrong at Sugar Ridge. It is very new and overlooks Jolly Harbour. Having traveled a lot, this is a very well managed resort with excellent food, staff and views. It is quiet, and easy to get to. The reception is airy and the staff is exceedingly friendly and able to help in all ways. The internet is speedy and wireless everywhere. It does not stop there, the spa (Aveda products) is large and has all kinds of wonderful treatments to suit anyone. The gym is very large, well equipped and you can have a trainer as well. The two pools are very nicely laid out and there is a small lap pool in addition to infinity pool at the five star Carmichaels, their premier restaurant. I would buy the breakfast plan as there is a wonderful selection and again a great view and great staff. The rooms are marvelous, four poster king beds, large bathrooms, a beautiful porch and large closets. The ACs work like a charm and there is not a bug is sight, sitting out on the porch is simply charming. You can have them call up rental car companies, which did for a day that only cost 80 US for all taxes, a temp drivers lisc (required in Antigua) and refill on gas. Americans will need to get used to driving on the left but not too hard as the traffic is just not that much. You can however get lost a bit in St. Johns but if you go far enough you will always end of at the shoreline. We stayed a week and I would recommend it to one and all.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleRachmeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

we stayed at sugar ridge hotel for our holiday in antigua, it was really lovely ... not directly on a beach, but not far from many awesome ones, which at the end of the day doesn't matter how far you are on antigua from a beach as there are 365 of them ... all beautiful! We had a fantastic time, the staff and hotel were fantastic and we had great meals at carmicheals and sugar club. we ventured into town where we also had great food at hemmingways (a caribbean hideaway) and cafe bambula which serves a great selection for light lunches, we were also recommended to visit the new sheer rocks restaurant just down the road from the hotel, we can't recommend it enough, great food, great cocktails and great service, we had such a good evening there, we have already booked a table for January when we are back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorknewyork11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Stayed 2 weeks on a bed & breakfast basis. Rooms are clean and comfortable and very well equipped. Hotel only opened for business in 2009, so everything works!
Breakfast excellent, had a few meals in the main restaurant (The Sugar Club) which were OK. Had dinner twice in Carmichaels, the other more expensive restaurant - definitely worth the premium.
Pools (3) and spa area very clean.
Friendly and helpful staff - would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazynights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Stayed here from 20th-24th November.
Good points-The rooms are lovely, large comfortable beds and good size balcony.
The staff in the Sugar Club are very friendly, names to mention are Sherwin, Glaive and the lady with the glasses from British Guyana they were outstanding. Food is nice but would eat out a bit if you are here longer than a few days as the menus don't seem to change, but all well cooked and nicely presented. Carmichael's has a great view and good food and a nice quiet pool area.
The pool area by the Sugar Club is small but nicely laid out and the sunbeds are great with the little tables.
I only have one gripe- I have stayed in many hotels around the world and the air conditioning unit in our room was the noisiest I have ever heard! It was like a 747 taking off next to the bed! Could not get any sleep without turning it off then it got too hot in the room. Went to the front desk to ask about them and was dismissed with the comment "they are all like that nothing we can do about it", felt I was brushed off, for a new hotel I would expect better quality air con than that. Went to the namager's cocktail party and was going to talk to him about it but we never got to speak to him sadly.That is the only one thing I didn't like about the hotel. Also I would advise asking for a room not too far away from the reception otherwise it is a long walk or you have to keep asking for a golf buggy to come get you.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letoileGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We've just arrived back today from a week at Sugar Ridge in Antigua . We got a really good deal on our room rates from a special offer from Destinology via Travelzoo.
This hotel is absolutely fantastic in all ways. Like another reviewer we got bitten quite alot from sandflies on the various beaches, and not enough DEET on the legs when eating out at night, but even that didn't really infringe on our enjoyment of the holiday, alot of which was down to Sugar Ridge.
We arrived at 5pm in our rental jeep, and were welcomed with a fruit punch, speedy check-in, and a golf buggy up to our room. Our room had a plunge pool (excellent for abating sunburn) and everything about the room was perfect. The bed was (really ridiculously) large and comfortable, the aircon blew out lovely cool air, everything was beautifully clean and well designed, plus there were flowers scattered around on our first day. There is a small fridge (not a minibar, though I think you can ask for one if you really want) in the wardrobes to keep your water (and punch) cool in.
The verandah had great views, and it was lovely to sit on the out-bed and watch the hummingbirds and ghekos going about their business. The bathroom was great, though I could have done with a little more hot water pressure in the shower, though perhaps I'd not been patient enough with the controls...
We cannot fault the staff at this hotel. They were all, without exception, polite, friendly, helpful, and just great. Kevin, Michelle, Shirlene, and the guys at the pool, were among the many staff who made our stay so perfect. The food in both the Sugar Club and Carmichaels was interesting, tasty, and well presented. We'd recommend going up to the Carmichael's infinity pool for sunset.
There was a Management Cocktail Party on the Tuesday night, which was a good opportunitiy to meet the management and ask questions.
I'd recommend this hotel more for couples. I suspect kids over 2 would get bored, because it is all about the peace, quiet, beautiful views, and (for me) rum punches. The Sugar Club also has some really good live music. There was a couple with a young child there when we stayed, and from afar it seemed the hotel was very helpful and attentive to their needs, so I think it is fair to say this hotel is for everyone who wants a blissfully peaceful holiday in Antigua. We saw some other hotels on the island (incluing Sandals) and had a lovely smug feeling that we felt we were staying in the best hotel on the island.
We had a rental car, which meant we missed out on the full Vorn-experience, but did chat with him everynow and again and got some good tips. But the car meant we could see the whole island, from the excellent local beaches (Darkwood, Turner's, and Ffryes - Jolly Beach was too crowded for my liking) to the idyllic Half Moon Bay in the south east of the island, and the historic sites on the island such as Betty's Hope, Devil's Bridge, and Nelson's Dockyard.
This is a fabulous hotel with fantastic staff. We will, without doubt, stay at this hotel again when we next go to Antigua.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Tucksteroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jolly Harbour
8.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,887 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,021 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,340 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,765 reviews
13.0 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Ridge

Address: PO Box 153, Jolly Harbour, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Jolly Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jolly Harbour
Price Range: $223 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua’s newest boutique hotel nestles in a sugar cane-bordered natural hillside with stunning views of the surrounding landscape and the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Designed in contemporary colonial style, rooms have private large verandas, plunge pool and full amenities. An Aveda™ spa provides the latest in holistic therapies; a gym, 3 swimming pools, trendy Sugar Club bar/restaurant and the more formal Carmichael’s, make Sugar Ridge the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Ridge Hotel Jolly Harbour
Sugar Ridge Antigua/Jolly Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing