We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be on New Year's Eve”
Review of Sugar Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Ridge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jolly Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to be on New Year's Eve”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

My family and I had the pleasure spending New Year's Eve at the sugar ridge it was great they had fireworks live band DJ party till the little hours of the night it was a beautiful evening that we will always remember the place is amazing and especially Carmichael on the very top of the hill where you can go for a 3 o'clock last-minute dip and admire the Breathtaking view of Jolly Harbour just a great place to be We certainly will be back we really enjoyed it

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    354
    107
    45
    26
See reviews for
102
703
76
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and two adult children spent a week at Sugar Ridge over New Years and found the hotel to be everything we had hoped for and more. The setting is truly beautiful and even though it is not on the beach, the spectacular views from the rooms and Carmichaels restaurant are worth the minor inconvenience of a shuttle to the beach. Jolly Beach is busy and fun and a short walk from the hotel. Valley Church, Fryes and Darkwoods are less busy but require a 5-10 minute shuttle ride. My wife and I spent most of our quiet days lounging by the infinity pool at Carmichaels enjoying the stunning views from our recliners under the protection of one of three covered decks.
We spend a lot of time travelling and usually stay at the upper level of accommodation including Relais and Chateaux, SLH, Four Season and Fairmont properties and this hotel measures favourably, especially considering the rates. All of the staff were very friendly. Especially Marcia, Nufauna, Stevette, Janine, Robert and Kevin at the front desk and pretty much everyone in the restaurants, with Melissa, Emerson and O'Neil being standouts. Cordel makes some wicked cocktails in Carmichaels bar. The food at Sugar Club is excellent and a good value. Carmichael's food is generally better than Sugar Club but does have a rare "miss" and I believe Clifford is working hard to enhance this. Having said that, I had two superb dishes at Carmichael's, a delicious "catch of the day" and a heavenly pork belly. The wines (and the drinks for that matter) are good and priced very reasonably.
We had two lovely rooms, our children in 7, which had beautiful views and was a short walk to Sugar Club. Perfect for young people who want to be close to the action. They did not complain of any road noise while sitting on their balcony. My wife and I were lucky to get room 60 which is probably the best situated room on the property being high up by Carmichael's and having stunning views and a high level of privacy and no road noise what so ever. But be aware that room 60 does require a little stair climb to reach. We loved the vertical nature of Sugar Ridge as it allowed us to get a little exercise throughout the day, only taking the golf carts once or twice the entire week. I would use the stairs up and the road down as a running circuit but Sugar Ridge also has one of the best gyms I have seen in the Carribbean. The Aveda spa is also excellent and occasionally we would be treated to the wafting scent of eucalyptus from the spa while sitting at the lower pool (which even has a 25m lap lane!).
The whole week was superb, but the crowing event had to be the New Years Eve celebration which started with an excellent meal at Carmichael's followed by a live band, fire works and dancing till the wee hours. Our children (who are very seasoned partiers) said it was the best New Years they had attended, ever.
All in all, a fabulous week. Strongly recommended and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tdeakon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Chose this property because of the Aveda Spa-Salon. Couple's massage shortly after we arrived. Facial just before leaving. Perfection! Great spa staff-friendly, welcoming, know what they're doing. But that's just the beginning of what makes Sugar Ridge stand out. Easy and quick check-in process. Room that was tropical and luxurious met, even exceeded, all of our needs. Air conditioning cool and quiet. Exquisite bed linens. Spacious bath, loads of hot water, with Aveda products. We opted for room on upper level, no plunge pool but lovely views of the sun sliding into the Caribbean Sea at the end of the day with a glass of wine (South African Pinotage from C&C Wine House at RedCliffe Quay in St Johns) and quiet mornings over coffee (provided in room) watching the island awakening to the day. Beautifully landscaped property so lots of birds and butterflies. Shuttle to a several different beaches allowed us to avoid the cruise crowds. We had Valley Church beach to ourselves for hours. Two pools on the property. The upper level pool was our favorite, well worth the climb. Sugar Club open air bar on the lower level of the property featured exceptional tropical drinks. Carmichael's open air restaurant at the upper level next to that upper level pool, a real treat, drinks while the sun set, creative chef with just enough restraint so that seafood is the star (crispy shrimp-yum). Wait staff understands service. With no one rushing us to finish (thank you Melissa), we lingered over dessert (chocolate lava cake), coffee and an after dinner drink. Staff at front desk extremely helpful in getting us oriented to all the property offers and also with numerous helps and hints for discovering the best of Antigua and Barbuda. Met a wonderful driver, Ken (Mr Cool) Wyre, who works the area and became our transportation to restaurants (Sheer Rocks a wonderful find) in the area and into St. John's for a day of shopping (when the cruise ships weren't in town-be sure to meet Stephen Murphy at Zeni Arts and Craft at Redcliffe Quay in St. Johns.) Lovely mix among the guests of families, couples, younger, older, UK, US, islanders, who like us enjoyed what makes this gem off the beaten path so special.

Room Tip: Sunset view from our upper level room was blocked by a tree. We requested to be relocated and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RollingStoneMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here for 10 days and we found exactly the same pros and cons as some other reviewers. The rooms are good, the restaurant and bar areas very stylish, the pools good - we had Carmichaels pool completely to ourselves one day. Go to the beaches - idyllic - particularly Church Valley - uncrowded and beautiful. The food was good but be warned if you're not all-inclusive, the prices wouldn't be out of place in Mayfair. The restaurant at Carmichaels is labeled fine dining but it simply isn't. We found the food disappointing both visits - well presented but not as good as the food offered in the sugar club. We booked Carmichaels for Christmas dinner days in advance and were looking forward to it but it was poor. We arrived at our booked time to be told by the restaurant manager that "this is the only table I have" - pointing to two 2-tops which he said he would prepare for us. We were sat awkwardly in an L shape right outside the kitchen. When we pointed this out to the manager he said he had had other tables earlier but they were taken. He seemed bemused when we said that was the point of booking in advance. The a/con units are very noisy, the paths very slippery (and actually dangerous) when wet. The plus points do outweigh the negatives hence the overall rating but I wouldn't say this is universally excellent. My wife and daughter both had haircuts and said they were among the best cuts they'd ever had. Also those reviewers who say ignore the bad things perhaps aren't paying the level of prices you will from the UK - for a break costing tens of thousands of pounds we don't want to ignore the bad things. Staff overall were very good - some absolutely excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pshampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Review back dated to stay in November 2013 .Having stayed at this modern stylish resort.
we can only endorse the other good reviews that others have previously written about the hotel accommodation.However we must include a area that seems to of been overlooked.After the 10 hour traveling time including flights what better way to unwind than a visit to the air-com gym however apart from the normal gym equipment they have Jackie who will not only provide assistance in the gym but run various work out classes (she knows her stuff) and puts a light hearted encouraging approach to training.After that relax in the AVEDA SPA-SALON see Maria who will release those stress and strains from the the those long grueling hours in the office with her magic hands.
Then into the AVEDA hair salon where you must go to see Luis a stylist from London Covent Garden who will provide both Female and Male hair treatments superb cutter/colorist.
It was most encouraging to see that local residents including UK-USA-Italian expats also use all these facilities not just SR own hotel guests and that the reputation that this facility has to offer of all its services is truly professional and to a very commendable high standard .
Yes go to Carmichael's for the cocktails and see the sun set and do all the other good things previously written and take the bad with a pinch of salt.
Any one previously writing negative reviews about SR did you really stay there ? or if you had a issue why didn't you not raise any query at the time with the welcoming approachable staff or the duty manager ?
Did you forget you were on holiday enjoy yourself (we did) chill out you were in Paradise

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t1cke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinkneys Green
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon, and would highly recommend it. Booked with BA when we booked the flight. We chose the lower rooms for the little plunge pool, and had amazing views to the sea and a lake with diving pelicans!

Best bits: staff, bed/room, food (inclusive from the menu, not buffet), quiet pool area (mid November), views from Carmichael's bar, gardens attracting all sorts of nature including hummingbirds, mongoose and even a Merlin catching bats in the evening.

Bits that could be better: noisy air conditioning (but drowns out the noisy tree frogs!), hotel beaches can be busy on cruise ship days (ask when these are).

Recommendations: take the local bus to St Johns for some local flavour! Hire a car from the car park and go exploring (we loved snorkelling at long beach), chat to the staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The beginning and the ending of any holiday will invariably leave the greatest impressions, and will serve to add to the wonderful dreams of your vacation experience, long after it has passed. When we returned to SR in early December, it was like returning home: In fact, the staff's first words to us were "Welcome Home!". We were greeted by smiles of recognition and warm hugs from numerous staff members. We were shocked and amazed exactly how much detail about us that various individuals remembered. Of course, we remembered them, because in the intervening months, the memories of the friendliness, warmth and genuine desire to please us grew on us, making us want to renew these experiences.
The icing on the cake which makes SR such a sweet return was the result of so much attention to detail: a bottle of champagne chilling in our room, with a "Welcome Back" card, an extra foam mattress for the already lovely bed (because of my back issues), and numerous other special features which were personalised for us.
We were also impressed with the addition of screen doors on the patio, which allowed for the doors to be left open to the lovely, Caribbean breezes, negating any need for air conditioning. I still cannot understand why you would spend so much time and resources to travel to paradise, only to shut yourself up away from it? Maybe it's because I am from the north where we are shut up indoors away from fresh air for so much of the year, that natural ocean breezes are such a dream come true for me. SR's management is savvy enough to harness what is indigenous to the island and let guests have the options of being able t o access it. Furthermore, SR is now Green Globe Certified, which speaks volumes of their commitment to Antigua's natural infrastructure.
The resort's views of the harbour, the turquoise ocean and the verdant hills, is omnipresent, whether from one's room, the pool area, or Carmichael's spectacular vistas. Riding in the golf carts, or walking along the resort's pathways was always a treat, as you passed the gorgeous array of flora like bougainvillea and hibiscus, or fauna such as a scurrying gecko or curious mongoose. In the morning, while we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast on the balcony (thanks to room service), we watched the antics of bananaquits vying for an occasional breadcrumb.
Days were spent at one of the several breathtaking beaches that Vorn, our intrepid shuttle driver would drive us to, taking care to look out for our well being throughout. If we needed anything from the shops, it was only a quick shuttle drive away, where Vorn or Glendon would whisk us over and pick us up again, when we wished to return.
Since we had the partial board plan, with breakfast and dinner, we usually ate at the beach, such as Dennis. We enjoyed the Sugar Club's unassuming charm most evenings, especially the red snapper, king prawns and coconut shrimp. Christmas dinner was superb - mmmmm....chocolate mousse! I can't comment on bar drinks, other than house wine, since we drink so little.
Whilst we were at the hotel, it looked a little quiet, but the numbers increased with the holidays just as we were leaving. We actually preferred the quiet, simply enjoying chilling out in the blissful sunshine. However, there is no lack of activities or amenities, such as those which the gym or the spa provide. Our concept of a good holiday is essentially comfort, cuisine and conviviality: Escape from the rat race to be happy and comfortable. What more can you wish for?
Even dreams have to end, so as our final journey to the airport started to turn into more of a nightmare, as our flight was delayed by hours, fortunately SR was there to pick up the pieces. Our flight agent telephoned SR, who sent back a cab to collect us and provided us with a room to rest in for the afternoon, whilst we awaited our delayed flight - and all complimentary! Truly a bittersweet ending to a dreamy interlude.
Fortunately our memories can manifest themselves into reality as we plan our next dream vacation. Until we meet again, Sugar Ridge...see you soon, Keith, Marcia, Janine, Nafuna, Kevin, KevinS, Carleen, Glaive, Glendon, and Vorn!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelvaOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jolly Harbour
8.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,829 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,263 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
3,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
978 reviews
0.5 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Ridge

Property: Sugar Ridge
Address: PO Box 153, Jolly Harbour, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Jolly Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jolly Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua’s newest boutique hotel nestles in a sugar cane-bordered natural hillside with stunning views of the surrounding landscape and the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Designed in contemporary colonial style, rooms have private large verandas, plunge pool and full amenities. An Aveda™ spa provides the latest in holistic therapies; a gym, 3 swimming pools, trendy Sugar Club bar/restaurant and the more formal Carmichael’s, make Sugar Ridge the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Ridge Hotel Jolly Harbour
Sugar Ridge Antigua/Jolly Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing