We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very relaxing week........”
Review of Sugar Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Ridge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jolly Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Maldon, Essex, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very relaxing week........”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have been travelling together to the Caribbean for 8-10 yrs as a family (2 sons) and more recently just as a couple and have bounced back & forth between holidaying in Barbados & Antigua, with Barbados balancing 2:1.
We really liked the look of Sugar Ridge and the Tripadvisor reviews where very helpful & swayed us towards giving it a try 11-18/May. We weren't disappointed, in every respect a very good establishment - staff - great, food - fantastic, particularly Carmichaels, were I counted only 3-4 dishes with supplements for AI guests (lobster, lamb rack & signature steak dishes), then very reasonable indeed. The design & layouit is really nice, yes, a little bit of walking, stairs, etc but nothing too challenging. We had a room with a plunge pool which on a sun-trap verandah in the afternoon was very welcoming. The infinity pool up the hill @ Carmichaels is a great design and we spent a lot of time up there. In fact, for the whole week we never went out of the hotel gate! Some may say this is a bit of a waste, but we're not beach people now the boys have flown the nest and we'd done the sights on the island on previous ocassions.
Didn't use the gym, but it looked fantastically well equiped. My wife used the AVEDA spa and sais she'd had the best facial ever. The AVEDA products in the bathrooms were good and we ended up purchasing some to take home. Can thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: rooms with plunge pools (all on the lower levels of each 4 room block
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCAMaldon_Essex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    350
    106
    45
    26
See reviews for
102
698
75
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I too am an Aveda nut, so I jumped on the opportunity to tack on a few nights to our trip to the USVI. We stayed at Sugar Ridge for 4 nights, and it was amazing. We didn't opt for the all inclusive, but I wish we had as you can get drinks/food at the local beaches. The rooms are very nice, the beds are comfortable, and we really appreciated the mosquito nets. That is the one suggestion I would make is make sure you get some insect repellant for the early mornings and evenings. I wasn't bothered at all when I sprayed myself. The gym is very nice and the gal that works at the gym is delightful. I didn't take any of the classes they offered but I heard they were great! EVERYONE at the resort was super helpful...the beach shuttle drivers, all of the people that work in the restaurants and at the front desk. If we ever needed anything, they sent it right up. Make sure to go to the infinity pool up top at Carmichaels...amazing views. I would definitely go back here, and I hope to very soon. Antiguans are very gracious and friendly...we loved every moment!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road, we had room 11 and it was very quiet and had a nice view. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kapper67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went for the 2 for 1 steak night and had the most fantastic meal. Sushi appetizer was great, wine was great, steak was great, dessert was great. We ordered another bottle of wine and stayed to listen to the music of Arrianne Whyte. We really enjoyed her show. You won't find a more beautiful place on the island. Very upscale and swanky. The male wait staff were fantastic. We found the female waitress to be rather cranky. We didn't stay there, but could easily see that the property was first rate,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We used Aveda points but would definitely stay here again even if we had to pay! Right from the start of check in there is a great feel. Open lobby/foyer that you can relax with fruit punch drinks while initial arrangements are made. Then golf carts carrying you up the access pathway to your unit. Accommodations are spectacular! Clean, bright, open and really just very relaxing. The balcony overlooking harbor, room size, comfortable bedding and a feeling of being in "your own" unit all make for a fabulous experience. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Carmichael's for sunset dinner is amazing. Aveda spa with massage therapist added to the pleasure. All in all, a terrific April school vacation holiday for a family.

Room Tip: the higher up the hill, the better the view but the further away from the pool and base area. Can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teaboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have just returned from celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary @ Sugar Ridge Hotel. We were married @ Hawksbill Hotel in Antigua but are delighted that we chose to stay @ the Sugar Ridge instead. I always use Trip Advisor for all vacations but this is the 1st time I have been compelled to write a review...it was that good!

We stayed in room 58 which was up by Carmichael's restaurant @ the top of the resort. The views were wonderful! The room had lovely furniture, a very comfortable bed with very useful mosquito netting (a must @ night) & the balcony was lovely to sit out on. We walked up a couple of times but the golf cart service was so good we soon got very lazy! I was worried about other reviews that said it was a long wait...hey, you're in the Caribbean ...'chill!'. Seriously it was never a problem during our 10 days there.

We stayed on the bed & breakfast plan as we enjoy eating out @ different locations. There was lots ,of choice for breakfast & I started off my choosing off the menu, as I thought it would be superior, but was converted to the available buffet as this was always good. Yes the toaster was slow but I wasn't in a rush. The bananna bread was lovely.

As for eating out @ different locations - we tried Dennis's, the Greek restaurant, Jackie O's, the fish & chip bus, the Crow's Nest, Hemingway's, Hawksbill, the Nest & Sheer Rocks. What surprised us was the lack of other people at these restaurants which would have made it more fun. We ate @ Carmichael's on our last evening - wonderful!

Sugar Ridge was in a good location. The beach shuttle was good but you could also walk to Jolly Harbour marina, Jolly Beach & the Nest Beach. The Nest was a favourite...& we used the beach shuttle! Just outside the hotel you could get the bus into St John's ($1/ each) & the taxi back was $20.

We also chartered the Jabberwocky Yacht one day, had a day's jeep tour of the island with Marcus & went to Shirley Heights on Sunday night. We had a complimentary couple's massage for our anniversary. Wonderful - thank you!

The staff @ the hotel were wonderful & made our holiday. I'm really sorry that we do not know everyone's names but big thanks to Keith (manager), Janine (reception), Kevin Thomas (driver with the best smile!), Robert, Marcia, Kawaan (pool bar & Sugar Club). Prince, Cordel (Carmichael's), Nafunda. The staff truly are assets & everyone there was good. They should be sent to teach the staff @ the Nest how to smile...

The only downside was we only had 10 days!
We hope to return to Antigua again before another 25 years & would certainly stay @ Sugar Ridge again. Room 58 please :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed for an entire week and loved every day. The spa is wonderful. Very tranquil. Beautiful views from the rooms and hill top pool. The beaches are scenic and private. The staff are the friendliest, most courteous, and most accommodating bunch of people we have ever encountered at a resort. Carmichael's restaurant deserves 10 stars. The food is amazing. Recommend you bring lots of American cash, can get a bit cumbersome using the ATM. Also, no need for heels ladies. Bring sandals! Too difficult to walk on the terrain in heels. This is a must visit!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmhill7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Was there on day pass of Cruise Ship got free cab there and great meal and got great meal to would do again was nice and Clean treated us like King and Queen !!! Would do again 100% .The Pool is great as is the Food ,and Staff .The view is One of a Kind too,did not want to go back to Cruise Ship ,lol,Won some money at Kings Casino after too .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jolly Harbour
8.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,681 reviews
0.5 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
13.0 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
0.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Ridge

Property: Sugar Ridge
Address: PO Box 153, Jolly Harbour, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Jolly Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jolly Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua’s newest boutique hotel nestles in a sugar cane-bordered natural hillside with stunning views of the surrounding landscape and the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Designed in contemporary colonial style, rooms have private large verandas, plunge pool and full amenities. An Aveda™ spa provides the latest in holistic therapies; a gym, 3 swimming pools, trendy Sugar Club bar/restaurant and the more formal Carmichael’s, make Sugar Ridge the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sugar Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Ridge Hotel Jolly Harbour
Sugar Ridge Antigua/Jolly Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing