We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beaituful apartment in a stunning setting”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Giulia

Panoramic views of Tavernelle village from the terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Panoramic views of Tavernelle village from the terrace
Welcome to Casa Giulia The comfortable dining and living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Panoramic views of Tavernelle village from the terrace
Welcome to Casa Giulia
The comfortable dining and living room
Traditional Italian galley kitchen
The cosy double bedroom
The cosy double bedroom
Al fresco dining on the terrace
Spacious terrace with panoramic mountain views
Spacious terrace with panoramic mountain views
Montagna Verde from the terrace
Barbecue on the terrace
Stargazing from the terrace by night
The medieval Tavernelle Borgo
Via Chioppo, Tavernelle
The beautiful Tavarone River
The beautiful Tavarone River
Trekking from Tavernelle
Morning coffee at the Capriolo
Marketplace in neighbouring Licciana Nardi
Casa Giulia is a 35min drive from the stunning Ligurian coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Licciana Nardi, Province of Massa Carrara, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alex B
1 review
“Beaituful apartment in a stunning setting”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We could not have asked for more from our stay in Tavernelle. Nestled in the rugged Italian mountains but easily accessible by car and with great local amenities. The apartment itself is excellent, we were surprised by how big it was, the photos do not do justice to the beautiful balcony and living area, let alone the stunning views around it! The property was clean and everything worked as it should/was described. It was great to have wifi which worked so well up in the hills. The local area has a brilliant butchers shop and lovely authentic Italian bar which serves incredible pizza at the weekend. For larger shopping trips we tended to head into Licciana Nardi just down the road which has a bigger butchers shop, bread and large grocers, the italian produce in this area is great. Whilst there are numerous activities and restaurants in the area, we mostly found ourselves cooking in the apartment and enjoying the balcony in the sun. However we did enjoying running around the mountain roads and rugged walking paths. All in all I could not recommend Casa Guila highly enough, an excellent trip, if only it had been another week! Thanks, Alex

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2016
What a fabulous reaction to Casa Giulia! I am so pleased that you both enjoyed your holiday so much and that you felt relaxed and comfortable there. We hope to welcome you back for some more tranquillity!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam F
Lincoln, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming Location”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My sister and I visited the charming village of Tavernelle, where our grandfather was born, last week. Casa Gulia is a charming apartment and was a perfect fit for us. Thanks to Sheila, we found some cousins that we didn't know we had and had a wonderful visit with them. I can't thank you enough for helping us with that.

We ate at the local restaurant every day, the food is delicious

The only challenge we faced was negotiating the narrow spiral staircase with luggage.

I highly recommend Casa Giulia and a visit to Tavernelle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The convenience of the apartment location and the charming Tuscan Village
Liked least: The narrow spiral staircase
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am so pleased that you found your long lost cousins. They are a wonderful family! I am delighted that you liked Casa Giula and that you found everything to your liking. I will pass on your compliments on her cooking to Nella at the Capriolo..... I totally agree the food is delicious and remarkable value! Thanks again and I hope that we can welcome you back to Tavernelle and to Casa Giulia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevly88
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic and relaxing”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

After reading the great reviews Casa Giulia lived up to our expectations. The 'Casa' itself is charming and rustic and had everything we needed, including a welcome package and enough food to see us through to the next day as we arrived in the evening; we enjoyed a beer or the amazing terrace, the first of many! The terrace is beautiful with great views.
What I didn't realise was how attractive the village itself would be, and the villagers were friendly and helpful particularly all the old Italian ladies gathering on the streets having a gossip!
We struggled at first finding supplies as a lot is closed at the beginning of the week but the fruit man arriving on Wednesday morning kept us stocked up for breakfast for the rest of the week. The owners were super helpful after our umbrella on the terrace blew away and discreetly was replaced via the housekeeper when we are out for supper.
I would recommend the restaurant at the old monastery visible from the terrace on top of the next mountain, like the other reviews and the owners recommended it is not to be missed!
We tried to find the plunge pool but failed but hope to track it down on a return visit.
Nearby sites are a plenty, Parma, Modena, cinque terre and Florence is a couple of hours away, we only managed half of this as we spent a few days in Levanto on the coast, which has a great beach where you can also hire bikes and cycle to the next town.
All in all, the best holiday, the italans are always so friendly, particularly the ' garden grocery' in licciana Nardi who gave us a bottle of prosecco when we bought half the shop!
Thanks Micheal and Sheila, we hope to return!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2015
We are so pleased that your stay at Casa Giulia was so enjoyable and that you so obviously enjoyed everything about Casa Giulia and your holiday. I will pass on your 'Saluti' to the ladies on the Borgo.....they are so proud of their village and so glad to be of help. The food at Montagne Verde is indeed excellent and amazing value. We will pass on your compliments. Please do come back you would be most welcome ......you were lovely guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roof terrace
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2015
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Giulia so much and that you liked Tavernelle and the area. I agree that the terrace is a great place to relax and to enjoy the views and the fresh air! Montagne Verde is certainly a superb restaurant and remarkable value.....good wine too! We enjoyed your company too and look forward to welcoming you back to Casa Giulia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2015
We are very pleased that you both enjoyed your stay at Casa Giulia and that you liked Tavernelle and the area so much. I will pass on your comments to ELISA who looks after the apartment for us.....she will be be delighted to know that you were happy with everything at Casa Giulia. You will be most welcome back to Tavernelle ......you were wonderful guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the property/views
Liked least: The spiral staircase up to the front door could be a problem to some but it didn't effect us
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
We are absolutely delighted that you both enjoyed your stay at Casa Giulia so much. You certainly seem to have got to see and do a lot during your holiday. I agree that Nella's cooking at the Capriolo is so good. I will pass on your compliments to her....she will be very pleased! Please do come back and visit Tavernelle and Casa Giulia again.......you were ' molto simpatici' . Thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sian H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lle arbennig - a very special place!”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Os ydach chi'n hoffi llefydd tawel, golygfeydd bendigedig a bwyd da, dyma'r lle i chi! Pentref hynafol, patio mawr yn edrych dros y pentref a'r mynyddoedd, o fewn rhyw awr a hanner o daith o Pisa. Bwyd da yn y bar lleol, a bwyty arbennig mewn hen fynachdy rhyw 2 neu 3 milltir i ffwrdd. Wedi aros yma dair gwaith i gyd rwan ac mi awn yn ol fory nesa!

We stayed here in July this year- our third visit. The apartment, set in a quiet, medieval village, has everything you need and the patio is fantastic. As well as enjoying the walks locally, and discovering interesting villages such as Bagnone, we have visited The Chinque Terra and Lucca on day trips. The village bar serves very good food, and the Montagne Verdi, a restaurant a couple of miles up the road, is amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your return to Casa Giulia and that it and Tavernelle lived up to your lovely memories. Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing