We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lle arbennig - a very special place!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Giulia

Panoramic views of Tavernelle village from the terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Panoramic views of Tavernelle village from the terrace
Welcome to Casa Giulia The comfortable dining and living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Panoramic views of Tavernelle village from the terrace
Welcome to Casa Giulia
The comfortable dining and living room
Traditional Italian galley kitchen
The cosy double bedroom
The cosy double bedroom
Al fresco dining on the terrace
Spacious terrace with panoramic mountain views
Spacious terrace with panoramic mountain views
Montagna Verde from the terrace
Barbecue on the terrace
Stargazing from the terrace by night
The medieval Tavernelle Borgo
Via Chioppo, Tavernelle
The beautiful Tavarone River
The beautiful Tavarone River
Trekking from Tavernelle
Morning coffee at the Capriolo
Marketplace in neighbouring Licciana Nardi
Casa Giulia is a 35min drive from the stunning Ligurian coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Licciana Nardi, Province of Massa Carrara, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sian H
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lle arbennig - a very special place!”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Os ydach chi'n hoffi llefydd tawel, golygfeydd bendigedig a bwyd da, dyma'r lle i chi! Pentref hynafol, patio mawr yn edrych dros y pentref a'r mynyddoedd, o fewn rhyw awr a hanner o daith o Pisa. Bwyd da yn y bar lleol, a bwyty arbennig mewn hen fynachdy rhyw 2 neu 3 milltir i ffwrdd. Wedi aros yma dair gwaith i gyd rwan ac mi awn yn ol fory nesa!

We stayed here in July this year- our third visit. The apartment, set in a quiet, medieval village, has everything you need and the patio is fantastic. As well as enjoying the walks locally, and discovering interesting villages such as Bagnone, we have visited The Chinque Terra and Lucca on day trips. The village bar serves very good food, and the Montagne Verdi, a restaurant a couple of miles up the road, is amazing.

Date of stay: July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your return to Casa Giulia and that it and Tavernelle lived up to your lovely memories. Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything!
Liked least: My lack of Italian!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2014
I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your holiday so much. Casa Giulia is a very relaxing place and I am very pleased that you found it so. It is great to know that you found Casa Giulia so comfortable, clean and welcoming. I will pass on your comments to our housekeeper.....she will be very happy. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back and you can relax on the terrace once again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
andredoe
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nature & relax”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Very nice place, with a beautiful panoramic views from the huge patio area where there's also a barbecue. Silence and the place far away from city lights give you dark nights to watch the stars.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: patio, terrazza
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2013
I am absolutely delighted that you liked Casa Giulia, Tavernelle and the area so much. I am glad that you found everything in the apartment to your satisfaction and that you felt comfortable and relaxed there. I agree that watching the stars from the terrace and taking in the mountain views is a real pleasure! Thank you for your kind comments and hope we can welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie24...
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Interesting, but ..”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment is located in a medieval village. The apartment on the whole is good, although in need of a bit of TLC. We came to this apartment based on previous reviews, but have to say we were quite disappointed with the accommodation.

The village is very old and steeped in history. However it was sometimes impossible to walk from the car to the accommodation without walking in some dog/cat muck, which seems to be everywhere. That is obviously not the fault of the owners! However one needs to be aware if attempting to take a suitcase to the apartment on wheels.

Once near the apartment, one has to negotiate very steep spiral wooden steps - which is quite a challenge when trying to negotiate them with a suitcase.

At the apartment, the key was in the door as stipulate in the pre-arrival information. The welcome pack was also there comprising of a bottle of wine (which was good), spaghetti, pasta sauce, bread, milk and water in the fridge. However when we decided that I might use the sauce, I was amazed to find it was 8 months out of date. Needless-to-say, we did not use it and left it at the apartment.

The apartment itself is very very small, which may not be obvious from the photos. The bedroom is very cramped with little room to move around the bed - although the bed was comfortable. On the first night I found a number of what looked like light brown hairs on the bedsheets - though the bed was freshly made. This was not on a close inspection, but me turning down the bedsheet to get into bed. Neither my husband nor I have that colour hair.

The kitchen is reasonably supplied with dishes, pots and pans. However the cooking facilities are minimal and the positioning of the fire alarm beside the cooker is probably not the wisest move as it was set off everytime anything was cooked. This was with the doors open to allow for circulation.

Now to the worse aspect of the apartment. The bathroom and toilet were in dire need of a good clean. The shower cubicle was pretty disgusting and it took a lot for me to actually get into it!

All-in-all, I think this apartment needs a very thorough and professional clean. I am not sure where the other reviewers stayed when they assessed the apartment being very clean - as this was not our experience.

On a positive note, the response from the owners when the wifi went down was great - as they could not have done more. The booking experience was very good and the follow-up emails were well responded to.

The bar at the corner where you park was good food at a reasonable price. However on the last night we tried the owners' recommended restaurant called Montagna Verde in Apella. This was exceptional and extremely good value for money. Well worth the 10 minute drive up a curvy hillside road.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Montagna Verde
Liked least: Bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2013
This review came as a complete surprise as we had spoken to our guest during his stay and he had intimated that everything was to his satisfaction. Also,they had met with our housekeeper after their arrival and had not contacted her with any complaints. Had they done so, it would have been possible to address some of the issues raised in a more timely manner.

To date, feedback from our clients has been very largely positive which contributed to our sense of shock at the range and extent of negative comment. Tavernelle is a medieval town in rural Tuscany. The streets are too narrow for motorised street cleaning so the Comune relies on old fashioned street sweepers who do their best, as do the villagers who love Tavernelle.
The apartment is small and intimate with a large living space and a very large 360 degree terrace. This is made clear in the advertisement, the photos and correspondence with clients.

The comments regarding the cleanliness of the bathroom are far more significant and disturbing and might have been dealt with more satisfactorily had they been raised during their stay. We have thoroughly reviewed the cleaning procedures with our housekeeper and can give our assurance that the apartment will be spotless for all visitors. It should also be noted that the housekeeper rejects the assertions made.

One further detail. The date on the jar of sugo was not the best-before date, but the date of manufacture. It was still in date.

We appreciate the positive aspects of the review, and will be happy to welcome them back to Casa Giulia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Date of stay: July 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2013
Many thanks for such a fullsome review. I am so glad that you loved Casa Giulia and Tavernelle so much. It really is a special place and also the people are so friendly and anxious to help. I will pass on your compliments to the chef and family at the restaurant. They are always anxious to serve good authentic Italian food to their guests and delighted to know that they have done so! I agree the views from the terrace never disappoint! It is a wonderful place to sit and relax. I hope you got to see the shooting stars and the fireflies. I hope you do come back both the village and I will be delighted to welcome you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sound of the donkeys bells every morning as they walked uo the hill
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely comments. I am really pleased that you liked Casa Giulia and Tavernelle so much and that you found it comfortable, clean and welcoming. I also love a BBQ on the terrace or just sitting and taking in the views. I hope to welcome you back to enjoy it all again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tickton, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 19, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the apartment
Liked least: flies lots of them maybe to do with the chickens underneath
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2013
I am delighted that your stay at Casa Giulia was so enjoyable. Also really pleased that you liked the terrace so much. Pity that it rained as a BBQ on the terrace is quite unforgettable! I appreciate your comment on the mattress. We ourselves slept there at the end of the season and have since changed it. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing