We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agriturismo Montagna Verde
Certificate of Excellence
La Ciotat, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful in every way”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have been hearing about this place for a while and have been dieing to get there and try it out for myself. Firstly the drive up there is spectacular - it's autumn and the leaves are all shades of red and orange, truly stunning. The restaurant is situated in a old church and occupies a position with incredible views. There is a big seated terrace and inside you can see the exposed stone walls. The restaurant is in 2 rooms and is cosy with a good atmosphere. We were welcomed with great friendly service and offered some mixed appetizers - delicious! They have a speciality of chestnut 'pancakes' served with ricotta, and the 'Talligata' was fantastically served in a sizzling clay plate. The homemade desserts were a selection of cakes which finished the meal perfectly. After the meal we were offered a map and recommended other places to visit in the area - a truly wonderful experience and the owners really care and are passionate about what they do. If you are in the area - or even fancy a detour - it's a must.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    103
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
94
150
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Montagna Verde is one of our most favorite places to eat in all of the world (we live overseas and consider ourselves foodies)! My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Italy and first experienced this place in 2010. We recently returned with our families and it did not disappoint. It is nearly impossible to eat all the courses so choose wisely. The antipasti is incredible and is a meal in itself! Their use of locally grown products and what is in season is such a treat. This is a MUST if you are in this region!

We did not stay there so I can't rate it for the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannahK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place is out of the way so even the drive is an experience. Then when you're there you're greeted by the friendliest staff and you can easily see that they love what they do. The food was amazing the wine was amazing and the price was so low I felt like I was getting away with one.

The only down side to this place is that it truly is off the beaten path. While the views and walks are amazing there isn't more that two nights worth of stuff to do while you're here.

Room Tip: Don't eat all the food. I ate so much by the time I got to the main course I was about to explo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you are in the region this place is a must! The food and the atmosphere is amazing. First we've got surprised by a selection of starters and then we could choose from 3 main dishes. We did not sleep there so I can't say anything about the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We went to Montagna Verde for the famous Sunday lunch. Phenomenal.

The basics:
- Set menu (8 courses!!!) for a fixed price (USD 25pp!!!).
- All food is locally growth/produced/procured. Everything is fresh, natural and tasty

The food: Every course played with the subtle flavours of the vegetables and meats featured, very nuanced and wholesome in taste. Each course was delicious, and catered to the tastes of everyone in our group - from salads, anti-pasti, pasta, meat, dessert - everything was delicious!

The experience: The meal itself is a leisurely affair. To give you an idea, we arrived at 12.30, and only left at 4.00. Between courses, we could get up and walk around, go outside for a smoke and a stretch of legs, and to take in the breathtaking view. It was a truly social event, about much more than the food itself. Service was great, everyone was prompt, friendly, attentive.

The location: It's hard to find. We got lost a couple times on the way to the village, and then a couple more times between the village and the actual agriturismo! But every time we stopped to ask for directions, people were very friendly and helpful. Finding the place, and passing the beautiful hilltop and valley villages on the way, was part of the experience!

Sumptuous meal, fantastic experience, great location. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScooterNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Licciana Nardi
3.2 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Miramonti
7.6 mi away
Agriturismo Il Montale
Agriturismo Il Montale
#1 of 11 in Mulazzo
107 reviews
3.9 mi away
Casteldelpiano Agriturismo
Casteldelpiano Agriturismo
#3 of 7 in Licciana Nardi
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Il Picchio Verde
Il Picchio Verde
#2 of 7 in Licciana Nardi
103 reviews
6.8 mi away
Podere Montese
Podere Montese
#1 of 6 in Villafranca in Lunigiana
45 reviews
16.7 mi away
Agriturismo Borgo Biaia
Agriturismo Borgo Biaia
#1 of 4 in Camporgiano
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Montagna Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Montagna Verde

Property: Agriturismo Montagna Verde
Address: localita Apella, 54016, Licciana Nardi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Massa Carrara > Licciana Nardi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Licciana Nardi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The agriturismo MONTAGNA VERDE is located in Apella di Licciana Nardi (province of Massa), Lunigiana region, in the north of Tuscany, surrounded by the centuries-old chestnut trees of the Appennino Tosco-Emiliano National Park. The rooms are in an historic watchtower built in 1000 and renovated in 1995 by Mario Maffei. The attentive, painstaking renovation project led to the creation of colourful rooms (bedrooms, apartments, tasting room, honey workshop, restaurant) that combine the relaxed and characteristic atmosphere of historic buildings with the functionality and comfort of modern accommodation, to ensure guests experience all-round well-being.The tasting room and restaurant, with its zero-km menu (local product and slow food menu), are the ideal place to enjoy delicious, traditional Lunigiana cuisine . In the summer, guests can enjoy the pool-terrace (25 x 5 meters) with a view of the Apuan Alps, completely surrounded by the green landscape of the surrounding mountains. In autumn, the myriad of colours creates an impressive and memorable backdrop, and visitors can witness the metato in operation (every October this special wood oven is lit for the traditional drying of chestnuts), and breathes in the aroma of roasted chestnuts spreading through the village. The biopark and educational farm are perfect for those interested in finding out about the biodiversity of the area and to getting to know the farm’s animals, such as donkeys, sheep and cows, as well as the organic gardens where herbs for medicinal and culinary purposes are produced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Montagna Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Montagna Verde Italy/Licciana Nardi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing