We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price -Mijas is cute.”
Review of CalaMijas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
CalaMijas Hotel
Manchester U.K
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price -Mijas is cute.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was a stop off on our summer trip so we weren't looking for anything exceptional. But for value , location and amenities -I don't think we could have done any better. We got a ground floor room near the pool. The bed was huge and the bathroom was great. The pool area was like a resort. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Poolside are fun in the day and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winnie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    114
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
49
126
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We never stayed here just booked a table in the restaurant after a friend recommendation. The staff are very friendly trying their best to please and they do very well. The food was fantastic. The only downside was the lack of atmosphere. We were the only diners and a little background music would have made all the difference. Considering its a training hotel, the service was smooth and the food cooked to perfection. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank DDGROUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lovely hotel run by superb staff. Well designed layout with great rooms. Some taxi drivers weren't sure of the location so a spot of promotion could help. The gym equipment might need a bit of a service!

Room Tip: Book early! Building 1 is a little closer to the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My Husband, Son and I stayed for one night prior to a two week holiday at another resort.
The room was large and spotless and the beds were the best we have slept in at an hotel.
The staff made us feel very welcome.
We arrived early afternoon and were booked in for the evening meal; we chose a sharing dish of chicken fingers for a lunch time snack, lovely quality and presentation!
We would recommend B&B and eating from the pool side restaurant, if required?
La Cala market, a very good and varied market, is held Wednesday and Saturday and is adjacent to the hotel.
An Hotel to be recommended for all occasions...
We will be back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JHughes56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the CalaMijas for one week. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff were excellent, very professional, polite and extremely helpful. The rooms were large, bright and in excellent condition. The hotel was spotless, quiet and very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel was clean efficient and the staff very helpful. No problems in recommending others to it.
Only problem I had was finding it. I could not find a suitable address on the Internet to enter into my Sat Nav. Also two different web sites had the Hotel in different places!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of June, it was a late booking. The room was fine, clean and quite spacious, Ac worked efficiently.
We understood this Hotel was linked with a local Catering College which became obvious as we saw groups of students being taught how to lay tables and make cocktails !! but........ There is a lovely pool bar that was popular with the guests as it was cool and airy but they did not open it???? food and drinks had to be bought via the main Retaurant. Madness, it could be a little gold mine.
The pools are pristine and the gardens beautiful.
The food :- we were on a half board package
Breakfast- The buffet was very nice until you got to the bacon & eggs - DIABOLICAL both were always cold and greasy they were in warming containers that they either didn't turn on or were set too low to keep the food warm. My suggestion is to ask someone from the College to give some instruction as to how to use the warmers or cook to order, failing that just don't bother.
Evening meal was 3 courses and always contained a fish selection and was almost very good. Some imaginative ideas that didn't quite work on some occassions. It was nice to have reasonably priced drinks and of course the fridge in the room to chill down your own locally bought.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustaran, Gerente at CalaMijas Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, they are very important to us. We are indeed a Hotel Management School and we try to show our students how to provide a good service at our hotel. I would like then to apologise for the inconveniences we may have caused you during your stay. The problem with the breakfast buffet has been solved thanks to your comment. The Pergola Bat at the Pool is now open and will remain open until mid September. We are sorry you didn’t get the change to enjoy it. We hope you visit us again so we can make sure you have a wonderful stay next time. Thanks again for taking the time to write your thoughts about our hotel since they have helped us to improve our service. Best regards
M. UStaran
CIOMIJAS Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cala de Mijas
0.3 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,209 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#2 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
1.5 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
90 reviews
7.1 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#5 of 27 in Mijas
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CalaMijas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CalaMijas Hotel

Property: CalaMijas Hotel
Address: Carretera A7 Km 201 La Cala de Mijas, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Hotel Class:4 star — CalaMijas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your CalaMijas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CalaMijas Hotel Mijas/La Cala De Mijas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing