We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would say good overall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Shanklin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I would say good overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

I stayed 15th-22nd August with my grand daughters who are 8 & 10..I read numerous reviews prior to going. The hotel is clean and hotel staff work really hard to maintain this. They missed cleaning our room one day, informed front desk didn't complain just asked for change of towels.
We did queue twice, once for breakfast and evening meal, but no more than 5 minutes. Food varied, but as you would expect for large hotel. The pool is small but works, beach right next door , during our stay the waves not suitable for small children. 2 minute walk to bars and restaurant. Entertainment doesn't start till 10pm. There were a few games organised by staff: mainly two females, around pool for children. One day was particularly embarrassing and caused much comment around the pool as clearly 2 of the boys playing the children's games were clearly related to the organiser! Some of staff of front desk are not particularly friendly or welcoming, one girl in particular. Their English is poor, but hey maybe I should improve my Spanish. On the whole, we had a great time, made our own fun and enjoyed the sun, and have good memories.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jabamshanklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear appreciated Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to review your recent stay at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol.
Our guests satisfaction is our priority therefore it is a pleasure to know that you had relaxing, enjoyable and great holidays with your grand daughters at our hotel.
Thanks for valuing the cleanliness, the good choice of food, the entertainment programme and the ideal location.
Thanks also for the suggestion concerning the entertainment programme to star it earlier in the morning.
In our next meeting we will communicate all point to the responsable person.

We hope to see you soon again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    397
    318
    148
    104
See reviews for
295
476
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

By UK & Irish standards this hotel is - at a push - a 3 star. On arrival we were checked in by a lady who was in no way welcoming. Our room was on 5th floor (507), got there to find that the door was forced in some way and would neither close nor open. Back to check in and asked for a room change, absolutely not, we had to sit in the lobby with our luggage for at least 1 hr while maintenance fixed the door - no apology given and no refreshments offered, Not a great start. The room itself was clean and pleasant. Rooms were made and towels refreshed daily. The sea view was to the right of our balcony-there are no rooms looking directly onto the sea. Our direct balcony view was of a swampy inlet with mossy green water inhabited most mornings by an unpleasant sight! The queue on our first morning for breakfast was 30+ deep. Food was disappointing, seemed like a huge selection, but difficult to find something hot or tasty. Hot drinks difficult to find. We tolerated this for a 2nd day and then chose to have breakfast elsewhere in the town - very disappointing when you have paid for a standard not delivered. The hotels location is perfect for walking into the little town. The town is pleasant, not too touristy or busy, nice to stroll around and has a selection of bars & restaurants. We were not tempted in any way to have dinner at the hotel and taxis were easy to pick up. Whilst our kids loved the pool, we adults found it to be very busy every day and difficult to find a spot as people frequently reserved beds with towels etc. even tho there were signs up asking guest not to. Hotel is beside the beach if you like hot sand. Gentleman on check out was pleasant at 430am....at that time my 12 yr old spotted something black on his shoe and when he shook his foot to drop it off, it scampered off.......won't be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view to avoid the swamp view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Julie,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.
Our guests satisfaction is our priority therefore your opinion means a lot for us and we take every comment very seriously.
We want our clients to have a relaxing and enjoyable holidays.
We feel very sorry that you were disappointed about our services and facilities.
The first impression keeps in mind for always therefore I want to apologize for the bad start you had in our hotel at the day of arrival.
Normally it is not the way we handle with our guests.
Our staff usually ist welcoming, friendly and helpfull. Of course we will communicate all the inconveniences in our next meeting with all our departements.
I also want to thank you for mentioning the good points like for example the great location directly on the beach, the nice surrounding of the lovely town Cala de Mias, the cleanliness especially of the daily changed towels and the pleasant gentleman when checking out.
Once again I want to apologize in the name of the whole hotel for all the problems you had.
I really hope you give us a 2nd chance in order to show you our improvements.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Cala de Mijas hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

While the local town is lovely, this property is definitively not a 4 star, accommodation basic, bathroom while aesthetically quite nice, shower was poor. Pool was very small & shallow, not suitable for adult swimming at all. All inclusive food of a poor standard & very similar food at all lunch & evening meal sittings. Staff not particularly helpful & very poor english spoken at reception. Phone not working at reception so receptionist unable to call taxis etc. Reception understaffed. No suitable activity for teenage children. Archery, beach volleyball, aquafit activities were not available.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, choose a room with a balcony view at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahJames2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Sarah Jame,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
I was pleased to know that you were satisfied with the location of our hotel just a 5 minutes walk away from the lovely city centre of Cala de Mijas.
We feel very sorry that you were disappointed with our staff, the entertainment programme and the offer of food.
Concerning the problem with the staff I may inform you that we had a technical problem and therefore our staff was not able to use the telephone.
But I can assure you that our staff is always helpfull and friendly and stays at your disposal.
We do our best in order to fulfill your wishes.
Our animation team provides a variety of different activities indoor but also outdoor like wateropolo.
We feel sorry that you did not have the chance to see that.
We also want to apologize for the inconveniences you had with our offer of food.
Our kitchen staff is cooking daily with fresh and national ingredients to provide a great choice of high quality dishes.
We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future.

We have taken note of all your suggestions and will negotiate and communicate in the next meeting about them.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Went to this Hotel last November, going again this November,Excellent Hotel very clean, friendley staff.Food good couldnt fault it.All incusive.The Hotel is only a short walk from the Town and is right on the Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool as balconys catch the sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Billy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Billy,

We highly appreciate the time you have taken in order to send us your positive review of your recent stay at our hotel.
Your opinion means a lot for us and we take all comments very seriously.
It gives us the chance to get to know our weaknesses and make them to our strengths.
It is a pleausre to know that you were fully satisfied with your holidays at our hotel.
It makes us proud to know that you already booked your next stay at our hotel.
Thanks for your recommendation to other travellers and for valuing our cleanliness, the friendly staff, the location and our good choice of food.

We are looking forward to see you soon again

Kind Regards from Spain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinver
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the VIK Gran, all the staff are very hard working, very polite and language is no barrier, the whole of the hotel is spotless. Yes it is possibly a 3* plus not 4* and it is in need of an update but that might spoil it, of course if you want to be picky the towels are thin but are refreshed everyday, there are queues at times but you have 2.5 to 3 hours to fit in each meal, the queues only seem to happen to the folks that leave it to the last minute, queues at the bars are soon reduced by the hard working staff, some of the fod was luke warm but again wait abit and the staff refresh them and there was a good choice of freshly cooked from the grill, only critism would be that most of the salads have meat or fish in them, it would be nicer to have these as an addition for guests to add as required. Brilliant hotel in a perfect location.

Room Tip: Try and get room 528 or 526
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Graeme,

Thank you very much for the kind comments especially about our staff which is the soul of our hotel and for awarding VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol your top score.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay completely at our hotel and had relaxed holidays here.

Thank you for your comments and appreciation for our team´s standards as well as our facilities and services.
We appreciate the suggestion about the towels and will study it carefully in order to find a quick solution.

We are hoping to welcome you back next time you visit the Costa del Sol

Kind Regards

Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Could see the hotel from AP-7 but proved difficult to find the correct turn-off. If one is hiring a car be certain of your directions. Once in the area of the hotel there was plenty of free parking.
Hotel reception was very efficient and we were in our room in no time! First impressions of the room were clean, spacious, good sized bathroom and side view of the beach/sea - albeit with a drainage track running parallel. Wifi is free and very good.
Food proved to be good but a bit tiresome by day 5. The waiters were definitely 4 star material. The hotel pool seemed rather small and shallow for the size of hotel but was always full! However this leads directly onto the beach if one requires a bit of privacy and can hire 2 loungers for 9 euros/day.
The outside bar offered snacks, lager, cocktails etc which proved very enjoyable late afternoon.
A short walk from the hotel are bars, shops, cafe's, markets all at a reasonable price.
We used the hotel as a base to travel the region, particularly Ronda and Gibraltar which were excellent.
My wife and I enjoyed are stay and would visit again. Between a 3 & 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveMak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Mr. Steve Mak,

Thank you for taking your time to send us your review of your stay at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol.
Your opinion is very important for us and means a lot for us. You help us to get to know our weaknesses and we have the chance to make them to our strenghts.
Therefore it is a pleasure to know that you were satisfied with your holidays and will come back soon again.
We are glad you enjoyed our comfortable, clean, spacious and great views of your room.
Thanks for valuing our good food, our ideal location and our friendly staff.
Our hotel is situated just a 5 minutes walk from the ciry centre of Cala de Mijas away.
Cala de Mijas is a lovely small town which provides a tipical spanish atmosphere where you have the chance to relax completely.
It is good to know that you had enjoyable afternoons at our pool bar.
We are always trying to fulfill our clients whishes in order to offer a relaxing holiday at our hotel.
We are looking forward to see you soon again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Would say this hotel is definately only 3* given the fact that is it very dated compared to a lot of hotels in the med these days. It doesn't appear to have had a face lift at all since originally built. Everything about the hotel is basic although very clean. some staff were very friendly and others, a rude woman at reception who spoke to you as if you were stupid if you could not speak fluent Spanish. Mijas itself is a lovely safe area and the hotel's location is very good on the beach. Food very limited and I did have a jippy tummy the day after eating the luke warm seafood paella. Definately stayed in much better 4* hotels and would say the only thing this hotel has going for it is the location. Evening entertainment again very poor and the daytime was same old

Room Tip: Ask for sea/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asykes1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear appreciated Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
We take our guest comment very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.
I was pleased to know that you felt our ideal location on the beach for your relaxing holidays was satisfying you, but naturally disappointed that you felt our service was not a high standard.
I understand your frustation regarding the misunderstanding you had with our reception staff.
I can assure you that it was an exceptional case- as our staff is always friendly and very welcoming. It is our priority to fulfill our clients wishes and make them a comfortable stay.
I also want to apologize for the inconveniences you had with our offer of food and our entertainment programme.
This is a point that we ware extremely passionate about and work at daily to keep on improving.
We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind Regards and once again we want to thank you for your suggestions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cala de Mijas
1.0 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#2 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
13.3 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#28 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hacienda Puerta del Sol
13.9 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
3.4 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Property: VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Address: Calle Butibamba S/N, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is a 4 star hotel in Cala de Mijas (Malaga), located on the beachfront of Cala de Mijas with breathtaking views out over playa de la Butibamba. The hotel is placed only 15 minutes from Marbella and 10 minutes from Fuengirola , with big shopping malls . Sun , beach , golf and relax !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol
Hm Gran Mijas
VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol Mijas/La Cala De Mijas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing