We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, nice rooms. Awful tea and coffee.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good staff, nice rooms. Awful tea and coffee.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel is in a good position - right on the beach and only a short walk into town - and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had a really nice week in a big double room with sea view and lovely little terrace. We were on 5th floor, but the lifts were always good. However, the air conditioning didn't work (room 518) - the room was hotter with it on the coolest setting than with it off entirely!
Breakfast was buffet-style - although you could get eggs etc cooked to order - as much as you liked of cheese, cold meats, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, cooked sausages, beans, eggs etc. All very nice. Unfortunately tea and coffee was only available from machines, and all varieties tasted horrible!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Great to hear about your review, such a pleasure to have your thoughts about our hotel and our people, will surely share this with our team.

Regarding your comments about the air conditioning, tell you that in winter we use only the heating system in all the hotel, due to the low temperatures. I am sorry that you did not like the tea and coffee in the breakfast, we do really apreciate your comments because every single opinion helps us to improve our products quality.

We look forward to welcoming you back at VIk Gran Hotel Costa del Sol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    413
    340
    154
    114
See reviews for
307
508
37
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

If you want to play golf ,or do tours around costa del sol. Gran hotel mijas ( batibumba ) is a good choice, a pool for all not so deep, right on the beach and the lovley town of Mijas costa. I strongley recomend this not to expensive hotel.

Room Tip: Any room,but ask for a room close to beach and high uppmin the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for recommending us to other guests. It was a pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Really enjoyed 5 night stay. Reception staff very friendly on check- in however glad they kept the lack of customer service to check - out!!!!! Female with large black glasses was not very accommodating to the customers, returning safe deposit in cents! Not what you need when returning to the airport!! In my opinion only thing stopping hotel from being 4 stars would be the bathroom towels, thick and fluffy would be good, pleeease!!!!!

Room Tip: Both side as of hotel have their advantages
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvaholidayScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to be your host.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort in regards to bathroom towels. We take each and every feedback of our guest's on a serious note in order to make improvements.

Sorry for any inconvenience caused to you concerning the safe deposit back in cents, because in that moment we hadn´t notes of five euros available.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great sea view room and useful to have a fridge for cold drinks etc. What a luxury to have someone clean up after you so no housework for our month's stay! Food wasn't as good as last year and didn't always correspond with the published Menu for the day (never did get the promised Baked Potatoes I was craving) but the menus are 4/5 years old now so I'm sure tastes have changed. I was really disappointed that all the vegetables (including beautiful baby carrots and peas) came drenched in garlic - especially on a couple of days when I had a dodgy tummy and all I wanted was some plain food. Great if you love pasta, salads or something with chips, but much of the food was getting dried up on the buffet and wasn't always hot, although there was a microwave you could use. Breakfasts were great and I could have eaten 3 a day! Unfortunately, toward the end of our stay, the hotel was full3 times with coach tours and it became a mad-house. On our last day, while sitting on our balcony enjoying the last sun of our trip, a man drinking with his friends decided to walk over to the car park and urinate by the side of our car, when he could have easily gone into reception where there were loads of toilets. Not the hotel's fault, but really not what you'd expect in a 'so called' 4 star hotel. One day 6 coaches arrived at the same time and the road was blocked so nobody could get into the car park and getting into a lift was chaotic. Add to that having to queue for a table in the restaurant (? cafeteria as it was totally self-service?) and guests like us, who'd been there for weeks were a little unhappy! Also we paid for a moth's parking but on one occasion someone had parked in our space and we were issued with a new one, but with no key - when we left they would not return our key deposit. Would I go again? I don't think so. Would I recommend? Yes but with advice as it was good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmsnewemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. We take our guest's feedback on a serious note and certainly will take corrective steps to improve any shortcomings.

Hoping that you will give us another oppurtunity to restore your trust in VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here end July 13 for 2 weeks - my husband booked this holiday & we expected it to have a kids club of some sort but unfortunately It didn't. We mostly stayed round the pool every day it was very hot some days & during our stay we woke up to smog of some sort around the pool area. Some days it just didn't clear up, it was quite bizarre sitting around the pool with all this smog. The food in the hotel wasn't great & I struggled to have a nice meal there & it was luke warm as mentioned in other reviews. Entertainment was a bit dull a couple of good dance acts & a magician but a bit repetitive. Lots of different nationalities stay at the hotel & it did get quite rowdy with a group of Spanish youngsters but they were good fun & danced with our daughter so she was happy. Apart from coming down with a throat infection myself & spending 2days in bed it was an ok holiday. Our room & view of sea was brilliant but if you have a room around the other side overlooking "the swamp" then you're unlucky as it's just a dumping ground & not a pretty site. If booking ask for a poolside or sea view. Further down the beach are a few restaurants & a children's trampoline on ropes so nightlife gets quite buzzing later on a few market stalls with various nick nacks further along the path & some outside gym equipment to have a laugh on when you've had a few. A lot of the bars have a play area next to them so you can relax with a drink while the kids play. Our hotel also had a large play area bang opposite with a bar & also a kids go cart track - great to keep the kids entertained! Mijas is really lovely very family orientated but this hotel was a bit of a let down & a bit dull really. I wouldn't stay again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DebScottDarcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your time and your opinión.
Our guests comments gives us the possibility to improve our services.
I am glad that you were satisfied about the location and about the lovely city centre.
Thank you for appreciating the great sea view you had.
I feel sorry that you expected that we have an kids club, actually we have no kids club.
Our animation team tries to fulfill any kind of wishes of our client with different activitiy programme. As we are an international hotel of course we have guest from all over the world.
Probably the next time it is better to inform the reception if you had problems with other guests.
So we could find a fast solution to solve the invonvinience.

Thank you very much

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My partner and I went here from 20 - 29th December and all in all we were very happy with this hotel. All of the rooms face along the beach where the hotel is situated with fantastic views and the sound of the ocean drifting in through the patio doors. The room was a good size with plenty of storage space and also had a small fridge which was great. Most of the staff were very pleasant, although some of the restaurant staff could do with a lesson on how to smile. The restaurant food was plentiful with lots of choice, but the hot food was sometimes (in fact most of the time) not very hot which was a bit of a worry, although you had the choice of having food from the so called hot hold area or go to another area with a chef on hand usually serving a meat dish and a fish dish cooked on the spot at each meal time. We loved the area around here, the little town of La Cala was beautiful, not touristy at all, but with plenty of bars and restaurants, and little shops. We would probably not go back to the hotel we were in but would self cater as there was a small supermarket in the town and also Lidl and a large Supermercado to hand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Joyce,

Thank you for your time and for your opinión which helps us to improve our services.
It makes me happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Thanks for appreciating the big room, cleanliness and our staff.
Thank you for your suggestion about the tempreture about the food, we have it in our mind and we will try to find a solution.

Thanks

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have never encountered such rudeness!! We had our confirmation email, showed it to receptionist, and he wouldn't except reservation unless we had printout (i know i should have done this, but never needed it in the past). The two other staff girls at reception looked mortified by his behaviour. We had to walk 15 minutes to internet cafe, print out our booking sheet and photocopy our passports (reception wouldn't do this either).
When we got back to two girls at reception apologised for the managers behaviour saying 'he isn't usually like that' This simply wasn't good enough!!

Hotel very dated and basic, wouldn't go back if you paid me.

On the plus side, the bar had wifi and barman was very kind, making a non alcoholic cocktail for my niece

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DingoDublin1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear client,

Thanks for your time and for putting down your personal experience about our hotel.
I am very sorry that you had these kind of problems with our reception staff.
I can assure you that this is an exceptional case which will not occure again!!!
At our reception you can find a computer with a printer where you can print everything you like at any time of the day. The copies of the Passports makes our reception staff.
I can only suppose that at your arrival we had technical problems and due to this facts the staff asked you to print your booking confirmation in a photocopy shop.

Once again I want to apologize for the inconvenience you had.

We hope to see you again to show you that it was an exception.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Cala de Mijas hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cala de Mijas
1.0 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
6.1 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,207 reviews
1.6 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#2 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Property: VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Address: Calle Butibamba S/N, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is a 4 star hotel in Cala de Mijas (Malaga), located on the beachfront of Cala de Mijas with breathtaking views out over playa de la Butibamba. The hotel is placed only 15 minutes from Marbella and 10 minutes from Fuengirola , with big shopping malls . Sun , beach , golf and relax !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol
Hm Gran Mijas
VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol Mijas/La Cala De Mijas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing