We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My partner and I went here from 20 - 29th December and all in all we were very happy with this hotel. All of the rooms face along the beach where the hotel is situated with fantastic views and the sound of the ocean drifting in through the patio doors. The room was a good size with plenty of storage space and also had a small fridge which was great. Most of the staff were very pleasant, although some of the restaurant staff could do with a lesson on how to smile. The restaurant food was plentiful with lots of choice, but the hot food was sometimes (in fact most of the time) not very hot which was a bit of a worry, although you had the choice of having food from the so called hot hold area or go to another area with a chef on hand usually serving a meat dish and a fish dish cooked on the spot at each meal time. We loved the area around here, the little town of La Cala was beautiful, not touristy at all, but with plenty of bars and restaurants, and little shops. We would probably not go back to the hotel we were in but would self cater as there was a small supermarket in the town and also Lidl and a large Supermercado to hand.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
3  Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Joyce,

Thank you for your time and for your opinión which helps us to improve our services.
It makes me happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Thanks for appreciating the big room, cleanliness and our staff.
Thank you for your suggestion about the tempreture about the food, we have it in our mind and we will try to find a solution.

Thanks

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have never encountered such rudeness!! We had our confirmation email, showed it to receptionist, and he wouldn't except reservation unless we had printout (i know i should have done this, but never needed it in the past). The two other staff girls at reception looked mortified by his behaviour. We had to walk 15 minutes to internet cafe, print out our booking sheet and photocopy our passports (reception wouldn't do this either).
When we got back to two girls at reception apologised for the managers behaviour saying 'he isn't usually like that' This simply wasn't good enough!!

Hotel very dated and basic, wouldn't go back if you paid me.

On the plus side, the bar had wifi and barman was very kind, making a non alcoholic cocktail for my niece

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DingoDublin1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear client,

Thanks for your time and for putting down your personal experience about our hotel.
I am very sorry that you had these kind of problems with our reception staff.
I can assure you that this is an exceptional case which will not occure again!!!
At our reception you can find a computer with a printer where you can print everything you like at any time of the day. The copies of the Passports makes our reception staff.
I can only suppose that at your arrival we had technical problems and due to this facts the staff asked you to print your booking confirmation in a photocopy shop.

Once again I want to apologize for the inconvenience you had.

We hope to see you again to show you that it was an exception.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have booked this hotel from 17/12 till 21/12. Arrive 17/12 at 22,00 and leave the hotel on the 21/12 at 06,00.

On the day of our arrivel the reception told us that we had to pay for all inklusive for 5 days even i told them that we had only ordered for 3 days. He would nor give us any key if we did not pay for all inclusive for 5 days but told us that we could have our money for 2 days bac when the director for the reception was back next day.

We paid for 2 doublerooms with all inclusive for 5 days and expected to have back the next day what we have paid to much.

The next day i contacted the reception but they just told me No money back and if we would not accept this we could leave the hotel immediately without any pay back.

This is simpel, they stole from us.

Furthermore, the good was miserable, so again Don' use this hotel.

Karl Mørup

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear Karl,

Thanks a lot for your comment about your stay at our hotel. Like every hotel in the world has rules we also have rules. And one is that if you book all inclusive it has to be for your whole stay.
You can not stay 2 days with full board and then the last 3 days with all inclusive.
I am sorry but this is not posible as we can not control this.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

location is very good - love being right on the beach - and if you have a car very easy to get around. The rooms are very clean and the staff are wonderful the entertainment varied but the food can sometimes be a litle like canteen fare, however there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. We will be staying again as such good value.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wigangirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor and your lovely comments regarding hospitality of our staff who were more than happy to welcome you.

We look forward to serving you soon and please do let us know if you require any further assistance in regards to your future stay.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I am just back from a 3-night weekend in this hotel and was accompanied by 13 other women. We had 2 triple rooms and 4 doubles and were all located on the 5th floor, which was great with the better views higher up. We paid approx £90 each for the 3 nights half board, which we all thought very reasonable. The man who checked us in spoke great English and was very friendly, the girl who also worked reception didn't speak as well and was not as warm and welcoming. Rooms were good though space is tight in a triple with the 3 beds in there but plenty of wardrobe space and a good bathroom with bath and shower. We were also delighted to find that a cupboard was actually a fridge! We had a view of the car park / pool and some beach from our side of the hotel, the view in the odd number rooms was better. The balcony is great and the temperature was warm enough for us to have our door open constantly. We missed two nights dinners due to being out and losing track of time but the one we did get we enjoyed. Breakfasts were ok, good variety but food could be cold although there was a microwave to heat it up. They probably could have done with more staff to top up items that were running out. The coffee in the breakfast area was not nice, the free coffee on the 1st floor bar was much better. Breakfast wine for free made up for the coffee!!! We had an issue with a smell of sewer in our room and asked on the Friday night for assistance. The nice man on reception sent someone to spray it and said we could move if the smell came back. It returned overnight and when we asked the less friendly girl on reception she told us we could not move as the hotel was full. The hotel did really pack in on the Saturday and it was only during the night the smell got really bad - it seemed to be stagnant water so it was fine if we ran water through the bath for ten mins or after we showered. Towels were very thin and skimpy in the room but this was hardly the end of the world. There was a good bathroom kit but no soap in it. We had no issues at all with the bar, other than closing earlier than hoped on the Sunday evening. It was busy on Saturday night and there was a dance show and bird show, good craic. We tipped well and between 14 of us, spent plenty so we were offered free shots as a thank you. The hotel is right on the beach and walking distance to shops, bars, other restaurants and to the bus stops for Fungeurola and Marbella. We went to Marbella for the day which was 2,20 Euro one way on the bus and 32 euro for our taxi back that night. The town of Le Cala de Mijas is lovely and I would return to both the town and the hotel for a weekend again.

Room Tip: The top floors have better views naturally and better rooms, and the view on the odd numbered side i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your time and for your comment.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you will come back soon.
Thank you for valuing the room with his wonderful views, our friendly reception staff and our animation programme.
I feel sorry to hear that the dinner was not satisfying you. I apologize for the problem with the smell you had in your room.
We will study your suggestion carefully.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

just spent 10 days at this hotel from 28th dec 2013 hotel nice and clean rooms very clean staff just ok right on the beach FOOD NOT HOT AND COFFEE AND TEA NOT HOT they so called did a gala dinner for new year YES I WAS THERE BUT DID NOT SEE IT just normal tea and for the frist time in 10 years I have been going away for newyear I HAVE NEVER NO ANY BAR TO CLOSE the MANGER CLOSE THE BAR FROM 8.30 TILL 12.15 WHAT A JOKE and did not do newyear for the ENGLISH only played music at 12.30pm we had 2 sit they all night BOARD 2 be honest don't book here waste off MONEY CALL YOUR SELF A MANGER YOUR THEY FOR YOUR CUSTOMERS NOT FOR YOUR SELF WHAT YOU DID AT NEWYEAR YOU SHOULD BE SACKED

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tracy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Tracy,

Thank you very much for your time and for your comment about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol.
Our guests opinión is very important for us as it helps us to improve our services.
It is a pleasure to know that you were satisfied with your room, the cleanliness of our hotel and the excellent situation of our hotel. I feel sorry that the temperature of the food and of the coffee was not as you wished it. We are always trying to fulfill our clients wishes. Thanks a lot for your suggestion we will study it carefully. I feel sorry that our new years eve programme was not satisfying for you. Our animation team tried to provide a lovely evening for our guests.

We hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel a few years back and wanted to leave a review for my stay. I stayed here at the end of my stay in Spain and it was a great way to end my trip. The hotel was absolutely clean and the rooms were huge. The balcony as a very nice touch too The staff were very kind and helpful and I felt well taken care of. I highly suggest staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear appreciated Client,

Thank you very much for your fabolus comment.
It makes me happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and recommend our hotel to other visitors.
Thanks for appreciating the room, cleanliness and our staff.

We hope to see you soon again

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cala de Mijas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#2 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
107 reviews
1.7 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
4 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#4 of 27 in Mijas
1,316 reviews
1 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
6.1 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Address: Calle Butibamba S/N, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Price Range: $53 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is a 4 star hotel in Cala de Mijas (Malaga), located on the beachfront of Cala de Mijas with breathtaking views out over playa de la Butibamba. The hotel is placed only 15 minutes from Marbella and 10 minutes from Fuengirola , with big shopping malls . Sun , beach , golf and relax !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol
Hm Gran Mijas
VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol Mijas/La Cala De Mijas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing