We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great hotel right on the beach,close to restaurants and bus service
The entertainment in the evening is also good music dancing and cabaret,we were only B and B so we eat out pm.The market is near by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
5 Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Jayne,

Thanks a lot for your time and for your nice comment.
It is very great to know that you were satisfied with your stay here by us.
Thanks for valuing our perfect location in first line beach and our entertainment programme.

We are looking forward to see you again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    407
    337
    154
    114
See reviews for
307
501
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

On first arriving at the hotel, all seemed well! Staff were pleasant and helpful, we got checked in at 10am, rather than waiting until the 2pm which is the normal check in time. When walking to our room, the corridors were quite dark and extremely dated! The rooms open with a key card, which was very handy! The electrics in the room are activated by slotting the card into a device in the room, I found this ways really helpful as we always knew where the card would be! The main bedroom was extremely spacious, two single beds pushed together to make a double, but no problem there, huge cupboards, tv, and balcony which were all a great standard and very clean (and kept extremely clean).

The pool area was extremely clear, clean and spacious. Although the hotel says to not reserve beds in the morning, DO IT, otherwise they are gone! Most of the beds are broken so be careful when laying down. The pool bar is very efficient, constant supply of all drinks, crisps and other snacks available. Music is played in the pool area from 11 until 2/3 in the afternoon, it's quite repetitive but is easily zoned out by headphones or a book. The pool itself goes from ankle deep down to waist deep, so don't expect anything too vast, but very nice to cool you down. The beach has a secluded and sectioned off area strictly for hotel guests, with comfortable beds and shaders. However the beach is quite narrow so again a race for beds is once again there.

When it comes to the food, don't expect to have anything that's plain or what it says on the (not so correct) information label. Nothing is standard, everything has a twist, but most things that I ate throughout the duration were delicious! Especially breakfast and the seafood courses at dinner. My best advice is to not be afraid to taste what may seem to be odd, and try to get to each sitting earlier on in the time slot rather than the last hour as that's when everyone tends to turn up!

Entertainment at the hotel is limited to purely dance shows, so if you like that kinda thing then that's brilliant, but be careful as the music is extremely loud! It can get quite repetitive however, so for a couple of drinks will be more than enough. The bar closes at half 11, so you never get a late late night. There is entertainment throughout the day at the pool, from bird shows, aqua aerobics, table tennis, table football and pool polo/basketball.

Overall the hotel provided us with a great holiday, although there isn't much in the town of Mijas, I highly recommend visiting, Selwo Marina Dolphinarium and Fuengirola Bio Park!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Casey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Casey,

Thanks for your time to let us know your personal opinión about your stay here.
Thanks for appreciating out great location, our spacious romos, our helpfull staff, the clean pool área and our food.
Thanks for your suggestion about our animation programme.
We will keep it in mind.
It is nice to know that you had a great stay and will come back soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel was clean and comfortable but food uninspiring and repetitive and after 3days we couldn't face it anymore. The staff were quite ignorant at times, unhelpful and positively miserable. It's definitely not 4 star quality and would never go there again. The sun loungers were broken and uncomfortable and the toilets at the pool a disgrace. The area is beautiful with lots of lovely places to eat. I wouldn't advise a pre arranged transfer, all tour companies use the same firm. The transfer time by car would be 25 mins max but we waited almost 2 hours to leave the airport and then the journey took over 2 hours. Longer than the flight from the UK! Nightmare. If going to that area I suggest a taxi or train.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Chris,

We appreciate your time in order to send us your comment about your stay at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol.
It is a pleasure to know that you liked the lovely surroundings of our hotel.
Concerning our staff I would like you to inform that our staff is very friendly and helpful and always trying to fulfill our guests wishes.
I can assure that it was an exceptional case.
We already bought new sunbeds. We are sorry for the inconveniences you had.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The good points there wasn't any. Staff so on helpful, I stayed All inclusive and the food and drink was cheap.. I am from northern Ireland and the bar staff just didn't make you feel welcome. Just back on the 24th June and will not be booking this hotel never ever. Plus the food was always cold didn't matter what time you went in to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank chrissie298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Chrissie,

First of all we want to thank you for your time to send us your personal comment about your holidays here.
It helps us to improve our services. I feel sorry that the temperature of our food was not for your satisfaction. We keep it in mind and study it carefully. Concerning the staff I want to inform that our staff is one of our main strenghts.
Our staff is very helpfull and friendly and we always stay at our clients disposal.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Cala de Mijas hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just returned from 11 nights at Gran Hotel. very nice hotel located almost in the centre of La Cala de Mijas which is one of the best and prettiest holiday towns i have been in. Food was good with a great choice, staff excellent and very friendly, area around pool clean but sun loungers could be better as most had broken spars. Rooms comfortable and clean, should replace towels in bathroom as they are almost paper thin and past there best. Entertainment could be better but this seems to be the case where ever you go nowadays. would consider going back simply for it,s location.

Room Tip: If you like sun on balcony at night and a good sea view rooms 20-32 even nos. on level 3,4,5 are bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebrown1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dr. Mr. Brown,

Thank you very much for your time in order to let us know your opinión about your stay here.
It sounds so good to know that you enjoyed your holidays in the lovely surrounding of our hotel - so close to the city centre of La Cala de Mijas.
It is a pleasure to know that you will come back soon in order to enjoy our spacious and clean rooms.
Thanks for valuing our location and our "excellent" staff.
Thanks for your suggestion about the entertainment programme.
We will keep it in mind and study it carefully.

Kind Regards

Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cymru/Wales
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had a week's All Inclusive here. Firstly, the small town of La Cala is delightful, clean, pretty and not very commercialised with a great market(not too big) every Wed & Sat morn. Bus service to Fuengirola or Marbella is a 10 minute stroll away and runs every half hour.
The Hotel position is brilliant, right on the beach with lovely views whichever side you're on. Our room was fine, towels changed daily, shower and air con working efficiently-no complaints at all!
The dining room was also ok with staff very busy but friendly and obliging. Food was the usual, suited me fine as I eat lots of salads, there was always something to suit most people if you're not too fussy! The All Inc drinks were also as you expect, and quite acceptable.
Now for the negatives. The pool area looks fine at first, but you have to go out of the front doors of the hotel to get there, then there is a large area around the pool(a dipping/cooling pool, too shallow for serious swimming!) before you reach the small wooden pool bar with 4 high tables & stools, and this is the ONLY seating area unless you sit on a sun lounger on grass (and most of those were old and broken). I've never come across this before, there was just nowhere to sit outside and yet there was plenty of space to put tables, chairs & parasols.
Also, the pool bar is supposed to be open till 7pm, but shut promptly at 5.30 every night when we were there(apart from one night when there was a rock band performing outside!) so if you want a drink after 5.30 you have to walk all the way through the main entrance of the hotel and up to the 1st floor lounge/bar to get it!!
Entertainment was also poor apart from one night when there was a Flamenco Show(inside)
Because of these issues I probably wouldn't stay here again. Also, the toilets at the pool area were absolutely awful!!
Furthermore, the reception Manager(?) could do with being more obliging and friendly! Name tags on staff would also be useful!

Room Tip: If you like morning sun,choose odd numbers( better for high season). For afternoon/evening sun, choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julieteilyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Julie,

We thank you for your time to let us know your opinión about your stay.
It is great to know that you have no complaint at all about your room.
Thanks for valuing our brilliant location, our fine rooms and the pool área.
Regarding the entertainment programme we appreciate your suggestion and hope to find a solution as soon as possible.
It is nice to know that you enjoyed our fresh and national dishes at the restaurant.

We hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The good points are that it's right on the beach - actually that's the only good point. The cleanliness left a lot to be desired. There was thick dust in places in the room that one normally wouldn't look (but I did). There was also thick dust on ledges on the pillars next to tables in the dining room. We were all inclusive (big mistake). The taste of the fruit juices did not resemble their alleged flavour and the food was very bland. (Although the desserts were good). The coffee machines were only available to guests during "dining times". One had to go to the first floor to enjoy the Wi-Fi, however if there were more than a handful of people using it, one didn't stand a chance! One or two of the staff were friendly, but most of them were not. The reception staff seemed annoyed if you asked them anything. The only time I saw them smile was when they greeted a Spanish guest! It was not worth the money that we paid at all.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay there again, so couldn't comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Beverly,

We thank you for your time to let us know your opinión about your stay.
Thanks for valuing our brilliant location.
We are situated in the first line of the beach just a 5 minutes walk from the city centre of Cala de Mijas away.
We feel sorry that you did not enjoy your stay completely. I feel sorry that you had the impression that our staff was not friendly enough.
I can assure it was an exceptional case.
Our staff is always friendly and stays at our guests disposal.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cala de Mijas
1.0 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
14.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,133 reviews
13.3 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#28 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#2 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
14.4 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#26 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,996 reviews
6.1 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Property: VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Address: Calle Butibamba S/N, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is a 4 star hotel in Cala de Mijas (Malaga), located on the beachfront of Cala de Mijas with breathtaking views out over playa de la Butibamba. The hotel is placed only 15 minutes from Marbella and 10 minutes from Fuengirola , with big shopping malls . Sun , beach , golf and relax !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol
Hm Gran Mijas
VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol Mijas/La Cala De Mijas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing