We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed there for three weeks in January as part of a flight, hotel and breakfast deal. The rooms were clean, but in need of a re-furb. The towels were almost see through. The front of house staff were indifferent. Although we had pre-paid for 21 breakfasts we never had more than a handful. Coffee was powder from machine. The juice watered down and difficult to determine what fruit it was. Bacon was cold and fatty. Eggs likewise. Bread was stale. Have travelled extensively all over the world and this is not a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodythebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear estimated Guest,

Thank you for your comment about your stay.
We feel very sorry that you were disappointed about our breakfast buffett.
We are providing a big variety of different fresh and national dishes.
We want to apologize for the inconveniences you had at our hotel.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for seven night as I made big mistake buying package( in inclusive) holiday!
I will never stay there again. First of all room is very average which would be available in any 2 star hotel. Food is cheap and not testy. There are no gym or spa. What is the most appalling is staff, they were not helpful and very rude. When I tried to find hotel manager, the receptionist told me that he was the hotel manager and even provided with his name- Rayco Micolic ( does not sound very Spanish!). Eventually I found hotel manager's office ( his name was Jose Miguel) but he was not available. If you expect to use courtesy room, it will never happen although hotel was almost empty, you will be told to leave your room at noon regardless of the time of your flights and change in toilet!
If you wish to arrange excursion, you can have it only with company which is chosen my hotel receptionists, otherwise you will arrange it yourself. If you wish to have a drink, you would choose it from special list for 'all inclusive guests'. Needless to say drinks in this list are those they cannot sell otherwise. transfer from airport takes two hours ( literally without any exaggeration). This hotel was utter waste on money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Olga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Olga,

I will recommend you to inform you about the hotel you will go on holidays before you go there.
We have no Spa or fitness area in our hotel and we also do not offer it at all.
Our 300 rooms are very spacious and have fantastic views over the sea. Our kitchen staff is cooking every day with fresh and national ingredients.
Our staff is very friendly and helpfull and always stays at our guests disposal.
For complaints we have a new position directly in the hotel. The next time talk directly to this department they will try to find solutions. We offer excursions with an extern partner to the main sightseeing point. If you wish to go on your own you have the possibility to hire a car and explore the surroundings on your own.

However we hope you give us the chance to show you that we are a high quality 4 star hotel

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just stayed 1 night at this hotel, it is not like any four star I have stayed in before, it is clean but very shabby, it needs updating,. The food was awful, cold, and what you would expect from a 2 star hotel.
We paid 89 pounds for the one night bb, and security is none exsistent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Yvonne,

Thank for your time to send us your opinion about your stay.
We are a 4 star hotel with 300 very spacious rooms.
Our main strenghts are our cleanliness, our tipical spanish food, our friendly staff and of course our excellent location in the first line of the beach.
And just a 5 minutes walk away from the city centre of Cala de Mijas.
It is sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our delicous food.
Our kitchen staff is cooking daily fresh with national ingredients.

We hope to see you again

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just stayed in this hotel for two nights and it was 2 nights too many. The food is awful, cheap meat and cold. I have had better food in hospital. On our first night we had no air con and the room was hot. Made worse by it being a family room for 4 with just two beds which are in the same room. I have stayed in a 4 star in benalmedina and that hotel is miles better. The hotel needs an upgrade. Most of the sunbeds are broken and dirty. The entertainment was good but the hotel becomes a Spanish social club in the evening and we felt un welcome. On complaining to staff I was told to write a complaint form and was left at reception by the staff until she finished her shift and the security guard took over, who refused to do anything. Would not waste your money on this hotel

Room Tip: Dont go please its awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Chris,

Thank you for your time to send us your opinion.
It is nice to know that your were happy with our entertainment programme.
We feel sorry that you did not like our food.
Our kitchen team is cooking daily with fresh and national ingredients.
We feel sorry about the inconveniences you had

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Sorry everyone. I traveled here last year (May 2012) and forgot to write a review.

The only downside of this hotel is that it's a little bit far from the airport. The upside is that as it's the only big hotel in La Cala, and a bit far from the airport, the town is far nicer and quieter than many Costa Del Sol towns.

I went all-inclusive here for a week with a friend from work. The rooms were very nice - a good size, modern, and with a nice cold fridge. The beds were quite comfortable, the hotel was quiet - and there was no noise whatsoever from outside!!!! The only people around this hotel are local residents!!

The food was pretty good if not outstanding, the rooms were clean, and the staff were really good and very friendly The pool outside isn't that big or deep, but it has a great pool bar with nice staff, and a lovely garden area RIGHT ON THE BEACH!!! Definitely the nicest outside space of the hotels I've visited from May 2010- May 2013. Also easy to find a nice quiet spot around the hotel to sit and chill, have a coffee and check email etc.

The hotel had entertainers on each night and most were pretty good - the magician act was actually excellent - as was the hotels Sangria!!

In summary, a very, very good hotel and well worth trying.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, but the higher you go, the better it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Nessy,

Thank you so much for your great comment, for your recommendation to other travellers and for your high valoration.
Your opinion means so much to us as it motivates us to keep on working like we did until now.
It is so good to know that you were satisfied with our great location in the lovely town of Cala de Mijas, with our spacious and modern rooms and with our very friendly and helpfull staff.
Thanks also for valuing our good food and our fabolous entertainment programme

We are really looking forward to see you again

Kind Regard from Spain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Had one week fully inclusive, enjoyed everything about it, food was very good with plenty of choice, drink very good and plentiful, accommodation excellent.
We found all the staff to be very helpful and amazingly cheerful even when you could see they were very busy.
The town was very nice with plenty to do and with a good bus service for easy access to other resorts.

Room Tip: Upper rooms - Better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBGreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear estimated Guest,

Thank you so much for your great comment about your satisfied stay at our hotel.
It is a pleasure to know that you were happy with our good choice of great food, our very helpfully staff and our brilliant situation directly on the beach.

We are looking forward to see you soon again

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Bright Friendly Hotel. Right on the beach, Rooms spacious and clean, complementary bathroom goodies was fantastic, Pool area was spacious with lots of sun beds, Pool very clean but too shallow, Food was good apart from a bit cold, But there are microwaves to heat up, waiters always on hand and very helpful, Local town is 5 min walk away, with lots of eating places, My favourite was Sarah Janes tea room,Little English Tea Room, Cakes were to die for, very clean cosy and friendly, This is a must visit, Also a lovely menu, Another of my visits was the ocean bar again good food and friendly atmosphere. I will return to the Hotel and also for a slice of cake and cup of Tea.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side Room, Other side of Hotel is the car park and the back looks over a dried out st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Karen,

We thank you for your time to send us your comment about your stay here.
It is nice to know that you were happy with our spacious and clean rooms with toiliteries, the big pool area and our helpfull staff.
Our guests opinion is very important to us.
As it helps us to improve our services.
We hope to see you soon again

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cala de Mijas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#2 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
107 reviews
1.7 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
4 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#4 of 27 in Mijas
1,317 reviews
1 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
6.1 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Address: Calle Butibamba S/N, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Price Range: $53 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is a 4 star hotel in Cala de Mijas (Malaga), located on the beachfront of Cala de Mijas with breathtaking views out over playa de la Butibamba. The hotel is placed only 15 minutes from Marbella and 10 minutes from Fuengirola , with big shopping malls . Sun , beach , golf and relax !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol
Hm Gran Mijas
VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol Mijas/La Cala De Mijas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing