We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights, can't fault the hotel - nice food, great staff and good all inclusive drinks. Weather was great for early April. Lovely beach and area of Costa del Sol. We were on the 5th floor and would suggest asking for a pool side view. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank macgal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to send us your opinión about your stay here.
It is a pleasure to know that you were satisfied with your stay.
Thanks for your recommendation to other travellers.
It is nice to know that you were happy with our variety of food, our great staff and our brilliant location directly on the beach with direct acess from the pool.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    402
    329
    149
    109
See reviews for
303
487
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

If your looking for a nice quiet relaxing holiday then the VIK Gran Hotel is for you. The hotel is lovely and right on the beach. The food was very nice, plenty choice and all freshly cooked. All the staff were lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Anne,

Thank you so much for your comment about your stay.
It helps us to get to know our weaknesses in order to improve our services.
We are a perfect location for a relaxing holiday as well for a romantic stay.
It is nice to know that you enjoyed our big choise of food, our staff and our great location.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were at the Gran Hotel in late Feb./13, the hotel it's self, is in a good location. The village, has so much to see and explore. There are many place to eat, from Chinese, Indian, to Tapas Bar's, all at reasonable prices( best is the tapas and wine), you will want to explore the places to eat, as the hotel, does not have the best food, basic, and they do recycle the food from one meal to the next. As stated by others the food is not hot, there is a microwave for heating. The coffee machines, I don't think it matters what you choose, it all comes out the same.
Make sure your room is on the front side of hotel, it is sunnier, warmer, nice sunsets. Rooms are decent in size and storage, bathroom good size, nice long narrow tub.

The hotel itself, is dated, and needs some update, the carpets, the paint colours, dark hallways, and furniture in front lobby. The lobby is where people make a 1st impression.
The hotel, does offer tours, but as we were with a group, did not need them. If on your own, do try to do the Tangier (for the experience), and Gibraltar.
They even have a Chinese Dollar Store, and Mac Donald's everywhere, throughout Spain.
If you are looking for Leather, go to Mijas, and look, very nice, and the price quoted, is not what you will pay.

The service is okay at the hotel. If you are looking at going here, make sure it is not on a Spanish holiday, as the hotel becomes over run, and loud!!, and noise that may carry on till the wee hours of the morning.

If I needed to, I would consider a return to this hotel for it's location, but there are alot of hotels, small, large, on golf courses, waterfront, just do your research, for what you want.
I would not rate this as a 4 Star hotel, 3 Star.

Room Tip: Higher floors, and not facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dsscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear estimated Guest,

Thank you so much for your time to send us your comment about your stay.
Your opinión is very important for us as it helps us to improve our services.
It is a pleasure to know that you were satisfied with the size of our rooms, our friendly staff and our location.

We are looking forward to see you soon again
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel which is advertised as being 4* but I would like to know how this has been arrived at. The good points are that the room was large with loads of storage space but could do with more hangers. There was plenty of hot water all the time, the staff were friendly and in is virtually on the beach. It is also within easy walking distance of bars, restaurants etc.

On the down side, the hotel needs money spending on it to bring it up to date as it looks extremely tired now, although no doubt it was originally impressive. There was no atmosphere to speak of. The bath towels were so thin you could see through them and were hardly big enough to wrap around you. The meals were hit and miss. There were some which were okay but nothing special and at other times it was just slop!! One night we took one taste of what was supposed to be turkey in gravy and walked out. We went to a little bar along the way where we had meals freshly cooked for us. The so-called fruit juices in the machines were completely tasteless, as they had been watered down to nothing]. The drinks were also very expensive if you decided to drink in the hotel.

All in all, rather disappointing.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms at the back of the hotel, as they overlook a dirty stream and request higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeminiHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment about your stay.
It is nice to know that you enjoyed our spacious rooms with their great food.
Thanks for valuing our great staff - it is one of our main strenghts.
I feel sorry that you did not have the chance to enjoy our great, fresh and tipical spanish food.
Our kitchen team is cooking daily with fresh and national ingredients.
I apologize that you did not enjoy our delicious food.

We hope to see you again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
britain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and thought it was a lovely hotel and very central.rooms were spotless and all inclusive with good drinks.the food was average.request a room on the pool side for afternoon sun and better views.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank keredu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your opinion.
We will do our best to repit the " good feeling during your stay"

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

very basic Spanish food on half board never hot but edible hotel rules r to many to list but to keep it simple u pay extra for anything! WI FI in lounge only & v/poor reception reception staff curt & unhelpful we stayed 7 days so we had a good taste of Spain as it used to b 20 years ago!

Room Tip: ask for sea & pool view on floor 3 or above or u get the main drains & yard view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ray k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Your opinion is very important for us .
In this way we can make more and more litle points to cam finaly an perfect service for our clients.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Need to be upgrade to year 2013. This hotel is like the 1980. There is no ironing no minibar old towels no internet in room no wine glase extremely hard beds. Brakefaste is third range food and not delicate at all. Water tasted of bleache and the juice was 90 percent water

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mortensandnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your opinion.
We are hard working to make our service beter and beter to be perfect for all the clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Cala de Mijas hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cala de Mijas
1.0 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
14.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
13.3 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#27 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#2 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
14.4 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#26 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
6.1 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Property: VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Address: Calle Butibamba S/N, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is a 4 star hotel in Cala de Mijas (Malaga), located on the beachfront of Cala de Mijas with breathtaking views out over playa de la Butibamba. The hotel is placed only 15 minutes from Marbella and 10 minutes from Fuengirola , with big shopping malls . Sun , beach , golf and relax !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol
Hm Gran Mijas
VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol Mijas/La Cala De Mijas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing