We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't really fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Reviewed May 15, 2011

It was the first time we have done an all inclusive holiday or been to this part of Spain. Having read some of the reviews I was rather hesitant- I needn't have been. Reading comments criticising the food, the small town, the staff, the swimming pool, the towels and anything else that one could pick holes in I despair of what people expect.
The hotel was great, a typical concrete hotel of its age but it was spotless. The cleaning staff didn't stop all week ensuring the outside and inside were both perfect.
The room was a good size and exactly as it shows in the hoel pictures. We were fortunate that we were on the 6th floor overlooknig the pool and car parking areas. If you can, go for this and ask for even numbers from 602 to 624. The odd number are on the other side and get the morning sun and are somewhat darker in the afternoon/evening.
The all inclusive was incredible value for money. The rose wine was a bit rough but the white was fine, the Gin and Tonics excellent, the beer absolutely fine as was the Sangria and Cava - as much as you wanted and always served with a smile.
The food was very good with plenty of selection and yes, sometimes a few of the dishes were warm rather than steaming hot. However, there was an excellent range of salads, there was always freshly cooked meat and fish (with chips if you wanted them), the hot buffet had a wide seelction and despite what a previous reviewer said, there were plenty of sauces with the meat and fish.
The town of Cala was very attractive, it is not Mijas Pueblo which is a 20 minute drive away but it was a small, pleasant Spanish seaside resort with a good feeling and plenty of bars/restaurants etc. At no time did we feel threatened or likely to have our bags snatched.
The week we were at the hotel 7-15th May it was nicely quiet but was getting busier as we left. It would not be my scene in August at the height of the season and my comments are based on the time we were there.
Free wifi in the bar area was an added bonus.
We hired a car from Yellowcars.com which is based at Malaga airport but we collected ours from their office in La Cala, it was a 5 minute walk from the hotel and we dropped the car at the airport on our return, best of both worlds.
We caught the bus to Fuengirola which runs every 30 minutes. To be honest, it was a bit of a pain as you had to connect from there to other places such as Malaga and in preference I would hire a car.
We had a great visit to Gibraltar (1.5 hours drive each way), Mijas Pueblo itself which was very attractive. Ronda (1.5 hours drive) up the mountains but certainly worth it. We were going to visit Granada but the weather was very hot and 5 hours return drive put us off on this occasion.
If you get the bus to Fuengirola, be warned that it drops you off at a different stop on the return to La Cala from where it collects you and that can be a bit confusing. Miss the stop and you are back on the A7 and heading to Marbella!
Catching the train from Malaga Airport to the hotel is very easy. It costs less than 5 Euros for 2 people and takes you to Fuengirola where, outside the station, you can get in a taxi which cost 17 Euros to the hotel. This option is a lot cheaper than a taxi direct from the airport which is in excess of 50 Euros.
All in l we had a chilled, enjoyable and thoroughly value for money week.
We put up with the thin towels which were more than compensated by the modern, large bathroom, the shallow swimming pool as the sea was 20 feet away if you want it, the odd warm and dish as the range of food caters for all tastes. For sheer value, I don't think it could have been beaten.

Room Tip: 6th floor even numbers 602-624
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Bob,

We appreciate your time you have taken in order to send us your review of your recent stay at our hotel.
Your opinion is very important for us and we will study it carefully.
It is so great to know that you had relaxing and enjoyable holidays at our hotel.
Thanks for valuing our great value for money, our good choice of food, our friendly staff and our clean and spacious rooms.
We do our best in order to fulfill our clients wishes and provide them a relaxing atmosphere in our hotel.
We are looking forward to see you again

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2011

I visited Gran Hotel in March with my cousin and 83 year old Aunt. The position of the hotel is lovely right on the beach. The reception area was very welcoming and the staff were lovely and friendly and imformative. Our room for 3 people was roomy, with lots of storage, tv, and nicely fitted bathroom with hairdryer.

Our balcony overlooked the swimming pool and the sea, we could not have asked for a nicer outlook.

Our room was kept very clean so was the whole hotel. The staff were all nice and friendly and seemed highly trained for their jobs. They made us very welcome. The food was excellent with plenty of choice and freshly cooked meat and fish dishes at lunch and evening meals. The restaurant was a credit to this hotel, the staff, cleanliness and most of all the good food and choice it offered.

The area is a lovely village type atmosphere. It was a bit disappointing that we walked along the beach but could not access the hotel from one side. There is an excellent bus service into Fuengirola where you can access other areas of interest from there.

The only downside to the hotel was the evening entertainment. The guy there did try his best to entertain us at night and we did see 2 good dance shows and had a quiz one evening but saying that it was only March and early season so it may improve during the proper holiday season.

If you like a quiet holiday in a good hotel then certainly give this one a try.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnylincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you so much for your positive words and comments about your recent stay at our hotel.
Your opinion means a lot for us and gives us the chance to make our weaknesses to our strenghts.
I am pleased to know that you had relaxing and enjoyable holidays with your cousin and aunt in our hotel.
Thanks for valuing our friendly and helpfull staff, our great choice of food and our brilliant location.
We appreciate your suggestion concerning our entertainment programme.
In the next meeting we will do our best in order to find a quick solution.

Kind Regards from Spain

We hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Location right on beach.Plenty of sunloungers.Pool really only suitable for kids.Rooms spotless with great storage space. Was allocated room on 6th floor with great views overlooking beach( 623). There are some rooms that could be pretty poorly located so be careful. Went all inclusive which was very reasonably priced. Breakfast 100% lunch & dinner had limited meat dishes with no sauces/gravy etc but good selection of salads & fresh fruits. Hotel is located in a fairly residential area so limited things to do if weather was bad as we experienced. Buses close by to nearby towns. Entertainment pretty low key but a crowd of girls on a hen party livened up the place & made the holiday. Staff are lovely especially bar staff. There is so much potential with this hotel but major renovations needed (new dining room with windows & swimming pool) but then again the price would treble !!! good for a lazy sun holiday or as a base for travel. Not suitable for teenagers.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Alex,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken in order to let us know your personal opinion about your stay here.
Your opinion means a lot for us and helps us to keep on working hard.
It is a pleasure to know that you were satisfied with our great location (directly on the beach), with out friendly staff, our good choice of delicious food and our spacious rooms.
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is situated just a 5 minutes walk from the city centre of Cala de Mijas away.
In the centre you can find many bars, restaurants and locals which fits any kind of wish.
We hope to see you again

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Gran Costa del Sol, Costa Mijas. First the good points - The location is great right on the beach with fantastic views you can literally lay on the bed with views of the sea, and a good selection of beach bars. The hotel itself was clean and so were the rooms and the bedding, and I am fussy about these things. Breakfast this was OK I have had better in other 4 star hotels and lunch was quite a good selection, didn't venture in for evening meal but I hear it was not good from other guests. The entertainment was OK but was totally geared towards the Spanish guests who were plentiful. Now for the negatives one of us bought a bottle of Rum as a gift to take home which was left on the bed in a bag under some clothes which was stolen and a set of keys (which probably should of been put in the safe) have gone from a handbag left in the suitcase in the room. When we spoke to the man on Reception regarding the bottle of Rum he said and I quote "it is a trait with this hotel, things going missing" to which we replied they should do something about it then. Unfortunatley we did not notice the home keys had gone missing until we were travelling home - locks changed already! Most of the Spanish guests were on all inclusive which ended at midnight, we were paying guests buying drinks and were told very rudely by the security guard to finish our drinks and leave the bar at midnight, which at the age of 40 I don't want to be told to go to bed when I am on holiday having a drink in a hotel bar!
I would not return to this hotel the reception staff are rude and unhelpful and I couldn't stand the worry of who is rumaging about in my room. Please be extra careful if you book here get a safe and put ANYTHING of any value in it and don't buy gifts until you are going to pack and go home. Oh and by the way the pool is shallow and very, very small for the size of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidaypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your time you have taken to let us know your opinion.
Your comment helps us to improve our services and to offer every day a better service to our clients.
It is good to know that you were satisfied with our great location, our good choice of food, the breathtaking views over the sea and the cleanliness.
We feel very sorry about your lost bottle of Rum and your keys.
But I can assure you that our staff will never take anything of our clients room away.
We hope to see you again

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

I wanted to warn people that 2 of my friends had their bags snatched right outside the hotel. The muggers drove up in car, one jumped out and cut their bags off them and ran off back to the car. This was where the quiet road to the hotel crosses the main road. Anyone who looks like they could not out run a mugger beware. (It was late at night but were were in a group of 4 and other people were returning to the hotel at the same time in taxis etc).
Otherwise:
Found hotel itself fine. Did not like the food or wine, went out for a meal out one night, lovely food and cheap so I'd budget for meals out even if do go all inclusive. If you don't want Spanish places we found a very welcoming Irish bar walking distance away, and a great Chinese across the road from there, not the one next to it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you a lot for your time to send us your opinion.
Your review means a lot for us and helps us to improve our services.
It is nice to know that you had a nice few days at our hotel.
We feel very sorry that you got robbed just arriving to our hotel.
We want to apologize for the inconveniences you had.
Hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

If you are looking for cheap accommodation - this is the place. If you are looking for better-class accommodation - look elsewhere. The accent here is doing everything on the cheap. The towels in the bathrooms are changed daily - but they are threadbare. The food in the restaurant is plentiful - but the cheapest quality. Most of the fruit at breakfast was tinned. The orange juice was thin and weak and came from a machine. The coffee also came from a machine but tasted of powder and was largely undrinkable. (Tip: There is a good pastry and coffee shop in the street directly opposite the hotel!). The fried eggs were fried in batches and left to go cold; the bacon was either burnt to a crisp or undercooked. In either case it was inedible for us. The toaster took five passes to get brown toast. At dinner the starters were all salads with no meat or cheese and only fish on a couple of occasions. Again cooked food in chafing dishes was tepid. One dish was cooked to order every night but was not very appetising. On the plus side, the staff were helpful, the rooms fine and kept clean, the location is good but note the pretty but touristy town of Mijas is in the hills a couple of bus rides away. The township five minutes away mentioned in a previous review is Cala de Mijas.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobandAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear Bob and Ann,

First of all we want to thank you for the time yuo have taken in order to let us know your opinion about your recent stay at our hotel.
It helps us to improve our services and to provide better facilities to our guests.
Our main strenght is our great value for money. We offer a great location to our guests to enjoy relaxing holidays at reasonable prices.
Thanks for valuing the cleanliness and our great staff.
We have taken note about your comments about the quality of food.
In our next meetings we will discuss about all the mentioned points in order to find quick solution.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

lovely value for money hotel right on the cala gran beach, stayed bed and breakfast, the buffet breakfast was superb with huge choice and as much as you could eat and efficient unobtrusive staff. The town [mijas] is a five minute stroll and is very spanish [apart from one irish bar] with lots of bars,supermarket etc and a bus into fuengirola to the east or marbella to the west every half hour.The gran hotel is very clean and rooms serviced daily, it has a nice pool area and garden right next to the ocean and would be ideal for families.One small critcism is that the towels though plentiful are tissue thin and the toast needs three journeys through the toaster to resemble toast! We were fortunate to get room 427 which was a frontline corner room with views of the mountains and the sea, you could nearly dive into the sea from the balcony, you could also watch the sun rise over the ocean through the patio doors while laid in bed every morning and listen to the sea while dropping asleep at night,WONDERFUL. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Martin,

Thank you very much for your time to send us your comments about your stay at our hotel.
It is good to know that you were satisfied with your holidays and highly recommend us to other travellers.
Thanks for valuing our rooms with their incredible views,our ideal location, the huge choice of good food and our friendly staff.
Thanks for your suggestion about the toaster in the next meeting we will talk seriously about that.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cala de Mijas
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#2 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
108 reviews
4 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
1 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
107 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,541 reviews
3.4 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Address: Calle Butibamba S/N, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Price Range: $51 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is a 4 star hotel in Cala de Mijas (Malaga), located on the beachfront of Cala de Mijas with breathtaking views out over playa de la Butibamba. The hotel is placed only 15 minutes from Marbella and 10 minutes from Fuengirola , with big shopping malls . Sun , beach , golf and relax !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol
Hm Gran Mijas
VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol Mijas/La Cala De Mijas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing