We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Cala Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
La Orquidea(Sitio de Calahonda)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
CalaMijas Hotel(La Cala de Mijas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveler rating
463
245
69
26
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
245
69
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat golfgolf courses arethree coursespro shopplay golfgolf resortgolf breakin great conditionround of golfclubhouse barnon golfersgreat resortchallenging coursestee timestapas barhotel restaurantmain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 816 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

a friend and I went on a last minute golf break for a few days .
cannot fault the hotel on service or cleanliness. the golf was amazing value for money (through golf breaks) when compared to other (inferior) Costa courses . The Asia course was spectacular .
tennis , spa , pool , restaurant ambience and food quality , bars were all wonderful . Yes its 10 mins from the coast but in my opinion thats a bonus and the views were terrific .
I thoroughly recommend it and will return with my family during the school holidays some time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GUYWEBSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for our Daughters wedding and have to say that everything went to plan .We had a great room overlooking pool with a roof terrace. The Hotel itself is lovely and the staff are really friendly. Well done to Rafael Trujillo for the work put in ensuring that all was perfect on the day ,food and presentation etc.100%..I would have no hesitation recommending La Cala Resort Hotel as a wedding venue. The location is a bit remote but its worth it for the stunning views.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bchesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked this hotel as we were part of a wedding party that were all staying there. We booked our room and paid in full in advance as we were driving down from Alicante and were unsure if we wanted to stay the first evening, but we wanted the option and the guarantee of a room being there either way. We were leaving our very young son with his grandparents in Alicante for the first time so we booked our hotel in both locations just in case we found it hard leaving our son.

In the end we decided to travel down early the next day, as we had booked the evening before we thought we would be able to check in early and enjoy the facilities for the day before the wedding. When we arrived after a five hour drive we stopped out the front to Drop of our bags, on entering the hotel we were greeted by the receptionist who went on to tell us that as we had not turned up the night before they had sold our room to someone else because they were overbooked. We were advised that we had been booked into a hotel down in the town for the night. Well after I expressed my opinion i decided to leave and cool down.

Luckly in the end we were put up in one of the wedding party's villas just down the road for the night and we ended up being able to book a room again in the hotel for the last two nights of our stay. We did however end up paying for our stay twice so we are claiming our original booking back from American Express.

The hotel facilities are very nice, the rooms were really nice and clean, the food was stunning and the location is out of this world.

I would like to revisit this hotel someday under circumstances.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Simon-linden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just back from a week at La Cala Resort and as you can see from the title of the review, not a happy start.

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with an embarrassed looking receptionist who informed us that they had double booked our room and it would not be free until the next day. I struggled to understand that there were no alternative rooms that they could have put us in and my mood did not improve when they said that they could not contact us in advance to let us know as they did not have any tel number/email address. The fact that we had exchanged emails on 23rd August to confirm our booking (which also included my work & mobile number) makes a mockery of this excuse.

To make matters worse they booked us into a training hotel for the night down in La Cala de Mijas which backed onto the A-7 dual carriageway. The room was absolutely terrible, the bed even worse, the bathroom had mildew on the tiles and rust on the bath. It’s one thing to make a mistake and double book a room but frankly diabolical to then offer a substandard alternative.

When we finally arrived at the hotel the next day they had arranged an upgrade to a suite and a 3 course meal for the inconvenience. Whilst appreciated, it did not make up for the loss of a day at the resort as we were only staying for a week. And to top it off, after the three course meal that they had arranged for us, the waiter told us that we had to pay for the wine ourselves! Not a major expense but not the best customer service given the circumstances.

The resort - Definitely a very good 4 star hotel but needs sprucing up a bit in areas. The rooms are lovely with comfortable beds and well equipped bathrooms and the private sun terrace with views looking out over one of the golf courses is a great place to relax.

The pool area is fantastic, not crowded, and there are plenty of sun loungers available but I suspect this may not be the case in high season. Excellent pool bar and Jesus (no, not the Christ Almighty) was a really attentive and friendly barman. The spa is also a great place in spite of the enforced swimming cap policy which is a bit of a pain!

The food in the hotel was of a good standard with plenty of options for breakfast (stay clear of the mushrooms though - not good!). Lots of other reviews here say the Terrace restaurant was not value for money but I didn’t think the prices were OTT and we had two really good meals there in the lovely courtyard. The “bar food”, burgers, chips etc were less of a success.

As a non-golfer (although that is now changing as a result of my stay at La Cala) I cannot really comment on how good the courses were apart from to say that most people we spoke to had lost plenty of balls but thoroughly enjoyed themselves! It was a shame that we could not walk the courses to have a look around but I understand the reasons why.

The surrounding area was lovely but you definitely need a car if you want to explore. Most of our evenings were spent down at La Cala de Mijas with plenty of good restaurants to choose from by the sea. Marbella & Puerto Banus are 20 mins down the road as well but I would give the former a miss.

Would I go back? Despite the god awful start, yes I would. Really love this part of Spain, and really enjoyed the resort and most importantly the weather which was 31 degrees throughout the 3rd week of September!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just back from La Cala 4 nights and 3 rounds of golfl ast weekend, hotel staff nice and friendly although some of the rules around bars opening and closing, in tha tmaybe they were a wee bit understaffed.
As for the golf i have to say we were a little diasppointed, there appeared to be a fair amount of risk for little reward on all courses .
America was less so but some holes were being dug up which was a shame.
Unless some landing areas are created on some of the more difficult holes i cant see us going back, they were not particularly long holes so its difficult to know if moving the tees up wouild help.
Most of the people in front and behind lost balls and on average we were 5 and half hours per round in buggies!
there is no rating below for golf courses but i would rate it 2.5/5

Room Tip: all the same although top deck might give rounder view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allpat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerRelationsLCR, Director General at La Cala Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent visit to La Cala Resort and for your constructive feedback on our product. It´s very much appreciated.

It´s difficult to pin point where you may have felt we had issues with the opening and closing hours in our F&B outlets without more detail but we feel we offer an extremely good range of options throughout the day. Admittedly we don´t open all of our outlets at the same time but there´s always at least a minimum of two, very often three options available at any one time. Our schedule in summer is very much client driven and of course there must be a rational applied in terms of labour cost.

The options we have are as follows;

La Terraza 19.00 hrs – Last Orders 22.30 hrs
Pool Bar 12.00 hrs – 19.00 hrs
Club House 08.00 hrs – Last Orders 22.00 hrs
Lobby Bar 17.00h - Close
Night Porter Available as required
Room Service 08.00 hrs – 22.30hrs

In relation to the golf courses, I appreciate that they can prove challenging. We have recently been rotating the tee platforms as part of our efforts to improve the experience and aid our grass recovery but we must accept that on certain holes our positioning on the white tee´s had not perhaps been appropriate, and as a result they were made much more difficult than they should have been for mid to high handicap golfers. We have since altered that policy and believe that we now have a much better balance and a much better playing experience. We want it to be as enjoyable as possible for everyone.

On the holes in America... they are as a result of the “Jabalies”, essentially wild boar, a nocturnal animal that comes down from the mountains at night at this time of year. As you can appreciate it can be dry in their natural habitat and the golf course is a good source of both food and water for their needs. We make every effort to dissuade them but occasionally they certainly can have a negative impact on the conditioning of our course. We make the repairs as quickly as we possibly can.

Thank you again for your feedback. Please be assured that we make every effort to ensure as enjoyable experience as is possible for our guests.

Kind regards

Patrick Murphy
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews