We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and quality- and some music”
Review of Venta El Jinete

Venta El Jinete
Reserve with
Venta El Jinete is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Warn hospitality awaits you at Venta el Jinete situated only a few minutes from La Cala de Mijas. Enjoy the breathtaking views from our large terrace. Live music every night except Tuesdays. We specialise in grilled meats. Come and enjoy a relaxing evening with good food and great ambience.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value and quality- and some music”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were taken by some friends who live locally and the overall experience was truly first class. The staff were excellent, from the welcome through to the service, and the food and wine was very good indeed- at reasonable prices, and served hot (and on hot plates- a real issue in many Spanish restaurants). The bonus was that it was 'music night' (a Saturday) so we were entertained by a young pianist- creating a most relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    209
    60
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limburg
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A great restaurant”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This has got to be the best restaurant in the whole area. Didn't try them all of course but the difference between this and the rest we did try was a mile apart.
The service in the restaurant is TOP !! The girls must have telepathic communication .. Ask one for something and another appears seconds later with what you wanted.
There is a fairly good selection on the menu at reasonable prices and a very good value 'menu' with 5 or 6 options for each course.
We found the quality of both the food and wines very good ... We can highly recommend a visit.
Several times a week there is live music starting around 20.30.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijas, España
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“"El Jinete"...A country restaurant with a fantastic chef.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were invited out by friends on saturday. At the end of a short drive on a country road from La Cala de Mijas (toward La Cala Golf) we arrived at what seemed to be a nice country villa... There we were welcomed at "El Jinete" restaurant. We sat in the dining room, though there is a large, very nice terrace which is best for summer days and evenings. The meal was exquisite. The menu at 17€, has several choices in each of the three courses. From the quality of the dishes we chose, I would say that they are all worth trying. Our first course was excellent. I had a wonderful duck and orange salad... Slivers of duck on a bed of lettuce with orange slices and an orange sauce... My husband had the homemade paté: delicious; our friends had the gambas al pil pil, also fantastic. We all agreed on the main course: entrecôte, cooked to perfection. The vegetables that accompanied the meat were interesting, well cooked and nicely presented. All this with a Ribera del Duero red wine that had a great bouquet and flavour and was not overly expensive.
At last we went on to the desserts. Again several interesting choices: I had the "Mississippi Mud" pie with coconut ice cream (I go for anything chocolate!), everyone else chose the apple tart with vanilla ice cream. After this, we all sat and chatted over a good cup of coffee. Everything served by a competent and friendly young woman... A wonderful way to spend a saturday afternoon! We will definitely return.. and probably soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AbuelaNany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cala de Mijas, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Special place”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This has been our favourite place to eat out for 4 years now. All our guests and family love it - especially as you can go a la carte or go with their Menu del Dia which is amazing value for such quality food. Their house wines are excellent and the service is friendly but efficient. The best in La Cala. Forget the rest!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Easily the best in town”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

After being in the area all year, only just found this excellent restaurant. The setting itself was enough, even without he brilliant food/service etc. It even beats Llaves!!!

Will definitely be back again and again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Borneobound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venta El Jinete also viewed

 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 

Been to Venta El Jinete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing