We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Proper get away 🙌🏻”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Marrakech

Patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio
Master Bedroom - En suite Twin Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Patio
Master Bedroom - En suite
Twin Bedroom
Lounge Area
Communal Swimming Pool
Kitchen
Dining Area
Outside View
Lounge View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
merryweat...
England
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Nice location but needs so refurbishment”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a difficult property to review as I would give it 1or 2 for cleanliness and up keep but 5 for space and location. I don't think this apartment will ever get less than 3/5 because the lay out / space and location are great but it does come with a big 'but'.

It is sad to see such a great apartment so unloved. It is generally run down but even a good clean, some new curtains and bedding would make a huge difference.

We arrived early evening to sheets I refused to get into, so it was really lucky there was a washing machine. We tried to buy some new bedding locally but after failing I stripped the bed and washed the old sheets. This meant waiting up until they were dry enough to iron completely dry and put back. The problem with stripping the bed was it reveiled the soiled mattress protector and pillows ( which had no pillow protectors on). After washing the bedding, flipping the matress protector over and doubling up on pillow cases it was very late before we climbed into bed exhausted.

I also found it strange that there were no tea towels for drying the washing up or mats to protect the tables. Some of the crockery and pans also needed a good clean.

Like I said earlier the space and location are great and with a little more care and attention it could easily be a 5/5. Because of the state of the bedding etc as much as I loved the location I'd be embarrassed to recommend it to a friend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice apartment, very relaxing.”
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Minor maintenance underway on apartment block for all of the two weeks. Internally the apartment fell foul of lack of care as first booking of season. Great care required if used by family as nearness of extremely fast moving road traffic to access. Lots of pluses though and my wife and I did manage quite comfortably.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maggiie C
1 review
“Proper get away 🙌🏻”
Reviewed February 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2015

I stayed her with a friend we are both in our twenties, we needed a fast easy sunny holiday and this was perfect. We arrived and dropped out things of and we didn't quite realise how close we were to the sea we walked along the beach to the town were we made friends with a bar man who was fantastic and looked after us all week, we ate in a lovely seafood restaurant and we visited the big restaurant with glass doors more than once, we had sea food on the beach and we really enjoyed it! We got to know a few locals who have become very good friends and I cannot wait to get back out there. The night life can be chilled or buzzing it all depends where you go, we hopped on a bus to other towns which was very easily done as the bus stop was right near our place, you have a takeaway near by and if you walk along the beach away from la Cala there's a beautiful hotel/restaurant that serve the most beautiful food it's family run and I would often sit there until very late evenings. I can't thank the owners enough for letting us stay here it was lovely x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just far enough from the town to be quiet, with the sound of the sea to send you to sleep.
Liked least: Lack of AC for a summer holiday
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Witham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jabesty
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our week in La Cala”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It could be cleaner, tidiness could be better.
Also it would help where to find the code to get on to Internet.
The village is a short walk away which has some very good restaurants and bars.
The view from the balcony is lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the balcony, access to village.
Liked least: Cleanliness was not very good. Property needs updating.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing