We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Big Fish”
Review of The Big Fish

The Big Fish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $17
Description: Serving Traditional Fish and Chips eat in of take away, or simply enjoy a drink on our sunny terrace.
Restaurant details
Description: Serving Traditional Fish and Chips eat in of take away, or simply enjoy a drink on our sunny terrace.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Yum, first visit to The Big Fish in Cala de Mijas. It won't be the last. Beautiful large fresh fish in a nice crisp batter with proper freshly cooked chips. And a glass of wine for €2, where else would you get better value.? We'll be back for more.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 1OMiadhachain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited The Big Fish with a large group of diners (25+) and they coped very well with our three large tables taking drinks and food orders and making sure everyone had everything they wanted. The menu had a good selection of fish, pies and other mains plus plenty of sides - peas, mushy peas baked beans etc. An pleasant alternative to chips were potato fritters. They also offer a childrens menu. On a personal note I though the chips were dry and some of the very thin ones were hard and inedible. The batter on my fish was crispy and the cod itself was white and flakey. Not sure about the tartare sauce though - may have been home made but I am sorry to say it was not very nice. My partner had a pie which he said was very nice but he made the same comments about the chips. If you wanted gravy it was an additional €1.50 which we felt was a bit steep. Fortunately there was tomato ketchup available on the table!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spanishrose1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Just got a takeaway of Fish Chips and Peas. The worst we have ever tasted. Greasy soggy chips..truly awful. Worse than awful really.

The mushy peas were like a dark green gruel and didnt even get round to the fish. A total put off and waste of money
Straight in the bin.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank VintageClaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

We were recommended to try The Big Fish at Urb. Jardin Botanico in La Cala de Mijas. Our first visit today and I have to pass on recommendation to all of those who miss Fish and Chips. Massive portions. Fish cooked to perfection and the light batter to die for. Also on the menu for fellow Scots..haggis, black pudding and white pudding. And no skin on the fish !! Well done Lesley and Anna and also to Lesley who served us with a lovely friendly welcome. YUM. stuffed now !!!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019

had an excellent takeaway at very reasonable cost. the 2 pieces of cod were nice and thick and nice crispy non greasy batter,and lovely chips as well. nice friendly staff, spotless clean place

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alden16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Fish also viewed

Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 

Been to The Big Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing