We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over ranked?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maroma Asador

La Maroma Asador
Reserve with
La Maroma Asador is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Over ranked?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

After reading the reviews and them stating that it was the top resturant in Cannilles, we decided to visit the restaurant during our holiday.

The menu was very basic in its presentation and I ordered Piri Piri Prawns and my partner ordered Scallops both priced at 9 Euros. For main course I ordered the Duck breast and my partner ordered the Turbot. Both came with a few vegetables and a plate of chips to share.

We shared a bottle of house red and the final bill totalled 61 Euros which compared to other restaurants in the region was quite expensive.

The service was good and we were offered a complimentary glass of champagne to complete our meal.

Overall however, we cannot say that the food was anything special and left feeling rather disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissKaren3139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    57
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Little gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were recommended by family who found this restaurant on their travel's. We happened to be in Canillas de acietuno, so stopped in for a quick lunch. Great menu, and excellent friendly service. We chose Quail salad , and a fried brie and fig dish to share, both were delicious and presented beautifully, before our main course little amuse bouche were given and fresh bread and alioli. Excellent value, and with the bill came 2 glasses of cava, a lovely touch. We will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynzinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great meal and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Chose to go for lunch after reading previous reviews and was not disappointed. Had an excellent lobster paella and a selection of starters. Service was friendly and attentive, even got a complimentary bottle of fizz and little gifts for the girls! Scenic drive up to village added to the experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great find !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have eaten in lots of small village restaurants in Spain and to be honest they can be a bit hit and miss, especially the standard of service and atmosphere.
Well we were very pleasantly surprised when we first visited here, the welcome was very warm and friendly...and genuine! the staff were very helpful and the restaurant was spotlessly clean.
Nice menu with not too many choices, when we had ordered our food we were bought some free nibbles (little stuffed pastry cases) very nice !
All the courses came up quickly and were served hot and plentiful !!!
After the meal we were presented with a complementary bottle of Cava and frozen glasses to drink it from which finished the evening off nicely.
All in all a good restaurant with good service and reasonable prices, I have been again since and received exactly the same level of service, well worth a try in my opinion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cutar, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch time munches.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was the first time we have explored this village, one of many on our list, and we were not disappointed!
After wandering around for sometime we decided on this restaurant and I have to say it was wonderful and totally unexpected experience. The waiters were very attentive and friendly.
The food was outstanding and portions were huge, far to much for lunchtime but hey ho, delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maroma Asador also viewed

Canillas de Aceituno, Costa del Sol
Canillas de Aceituno, Costa del Sol
 
Canillas de Aceituno, Costa del Sol
Canillas de Aceituno, Costa del Sol
 
Vinuela, Province of Malaga
 

Been to La Maroma Asador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing