We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Maroma Asador

La Maroma Asador
Reserve with
La Maroma Asador is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great find !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have eaten in lots of small village restaurants in Spain and to be honest they can be a bit hit and miss, especially the standard of service and atmosphere.
Well we were very pleasantly surprised when we first visited here, the welcome was very warm and friendly...and genuine! the staff were very helpful and the restaurant was spotlessly clean.
Nice menu with not too many choices, when we had ordered our food we were bought some free nibbles (little stuffed pastry cases) very nice !
All the courses came up quickly and were served hot and plentiful !!!
After the meal we were presented with a complementary bottle of Cava and frozen glasses to drink it from which finished the evening off nicely.
All in all a good restaurant with good service and reasonable prices, I have been again since and received exactly the same level of service, well worth a try in my opinion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    58
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cutar, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch time munches.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was the first time we have explored this village, one of many on our list, and we were not disappointed!
After wandering around for sometime we decided on this restaurant and I have to say it was wonderful and totally unexpected experience. The waiters were very attentive and friendly.
The food was outstanding and portions were huge, far to much for lunchtime but hey ho, delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great meal and first class service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Ate here last night. Food was excellent. Restaurant was lovely. Waiters were very attentive and helpful without being intrusive and the portions were substantial. Made the mistake of eating three courses because the food was so tasty and could hardly move afterwards - and we didn't even eat the complimentary bread (about half a loaf between two of us). The goat was melt in the mouth and the meatballs were possibly the best I've ever tasted. The complimentary glasses of cava at the end of the meal was a nice touch as well. 3 courses each, wine etc for two came to 48 euro and even after adding a decent tip we felt as if we were cheating them out of money! Would thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grumpasav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant for miles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have lived in the village of Canillas de Aceituno for 10 years and this restaurant is easily our favourite. The food is always extremely good and Paco and his family are very friendly, attentive and generate a welcoming atmosphere.
The menu offers a good variety and often changes which is uncommon for most village restaurants (some restaurants still have the original menus they were serving when we moved here).
A variety of small, free tasty nibbles are served along with bread before your meal arrives (remember to ask for some alioli to go with your bread). The servings are quite large so if you decide to have a starter I can almost guarantee you won't have room left for a pudding. If you do have any special dietary requirements they will do their utmost to accommodate you - even if it isn't on the menu.
The house wine is very drinkable and very reasonably priced and don't be surprised if you are served a bottle of cava once you have asked for 'la quenta'.
Every month of so they have an evening where, after your meal, a local group play to a mixture of Spanish and foreigners dancing the night away - always great fun.
This restaurant deserves to do well - the amount of time and effort Paco and his family have put into this venture, especially opening during the recession was a very brave thing to do - they even built the restaurant themselves.
I can almost guarantee you will not be disappointed if you eat here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatureTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, excellent service, wonderful views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Visited on Sunday 5th of May. We were made so welcome and the whole meal was relaxing and delicious. We didn't order a starter but we were given nibbles including little blue cheese pies to keep us going whilst our food was being prepared. For mains we had salmon, sea bass, sword fish and chicken skewers. All were delicious and tasty. I asked for sauce (salsa) and secretly prayed they would offer us our favorites...bingo..roquefort sauce and peppercorn sauces were delivered with our mains. The building itself was the original municipal market so steeped in history, and the surroundings are stunning. The views of mount Maroma, the food, and the waiters attentiveness made it a fantastic experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudeGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maroma Asador also viewed

Canillas de Aceituno, Costa del Sol
Canillas de Aceituno, Costa del Sol
 
Canillas de Aceituno, Costa del Sol
Canillas de Aceituno, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Maroma Asador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing