We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place in Creta to admire the sun setting into the sea!”
Review of Amygdalia Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amygdalia Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Livadia B&B and Inns
1 review
“A fantastic place in Creta to admire the sun setting into the sea!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

The owners went out of their way to let us try the delicious lamb from Creta. There is no menu as such so don't expect a tourist industry type of menu with dishes made for the average tourist. This place is really good if you are looking for a traditional place with all the confort and luxury combined.
To note, the views over the sea are stunning. Everyday, you can enjoy beautiful sunsets.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoubouAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    18
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The place is amazing. You will have your very own private village, with all comfortable and amenities. The view to ocean and the sunset is speechless. The breakfast and the dinner, in the hotel are perfect. The hotel is excellent if you want some peace and time to relax and is very easy to explore the beaches of the region, like Elafosini and Falassarna. One think that worth is the boats trips that the hotel offers, is something you must done if you are there. My wife and I have made one of the trips organized by the hotel, a private cruise, and it was one of the highest point of the whole trip. But above all is the hotel owners. Thalia and all the family are just perfect, the whole family works at the hotel and they are very kind and careful about the guests, you can fell all the authentic Cretan hospitality between the hotel owners, it worth the stay.

Room Tip: If possible, choosen the private village
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulysses F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Amygdalia Villas are a great combination of classy accommodation coupled with homely customer service. The Villas cling to the hills of the rugged west coast of Crete just 14km north of Elafonisi, an exotic beach that is famed throughout Greece for its beauty. From the approach road the development of stone houses looks a little like a fortress. After following a winding road iinto the hills the Taverna Kaliston is the hub of this development, the reception is found here.Villas are all around you at this point , but not all can be seen.
We booked a superior double room with sea view. We were in the highest position villa on the site. It can be booked as a whole four bedroom dwelling , the rooms on this occasion were booked out individually with the guests sharing a huge kitchen living room area and swimming pool. This might seem a slightly eccentric arrangement but the shared facilities are large enough for it not to feel uncomfortable.
Our villa had a traditional interior but had a contemporary feel with the clever use of bold colour accessories . Our bedroom had bright orange as its accent colour. It's always brave to move away from neutral colours but against the stone walls and with a backdrop of pure blue skies the colour choice was inspired. The bathroom was well fitted and had a small washing machine , my case returned to London with clean holiday clothes smelling of the herbs of the hills .
We ate at the taverna on all three nights, the choices were limited but were delicious and not standard 'tourist food'. We were disappointed not to have bought provisions with us to do our own cooking in our villa kitchen. Taverna food must be paid for in cash. The complimentary breakfast is also served in the Taverna , Breakfast was the usual buffet style with good quality choices offered.
Elafonisi is a pretty 20 minute drive away. The beach beds on the beach nearest to the car park are inviting but it really is far more worthwhile to wade out to the island and enjoy the white sanded coves that stretch around the island. Swimwear is optional on the island and people wear, or not, whatever they feel comfortable with. Appearances can be deceptive, we sat for a while on a beach with swimwear clad sunbathers but curiously when we decided to take a skinny dip the whole beach seemed to shrug off their inhibitions and the sea became full of tanned bodies flashing white bottoms.
Amygdalia has lovely architecture and spectacular geographical beauty to woo its customers but the true heart of the place is created by the people who work there. Customer care is fantastic but delivered in a laid back unpretentious way.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
565 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We found the Amygdalia Villas quite by accident - only following a roadside sign because we had been unable to find anywhere nice to stay at Elafonisi and Chrisoskalitissa. We had a lovely room with a fantastic bathroom (with a bathtub) in one of the large villas which had a fully equipped kitchen, large living area and gorgeous pool.

The villas were in an isolated location so we ate dinner in the on site taverna - which was really superb! The next morning we had an amazing buffet breakfast – lots of lovely fresh fruit, canned fruit, cereals, ham, cheese, ham, salami, bread, yoghurt, tasty scrambled eggs and coffee. There was even a carafe of wine on the buffet – which remained untouched. The staff were really nice - in particular Angeliki who despite being very busy was still very charming and nice to all the guests.

We really wished that we had time to spend more than one night - it was such a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed two nights in these fantastic villas where everything was perfect
The quiet location with brilliant sea views and the quality of the villas was superb
The hospitality and friendliness was brilliant and the peace and tranquility was rare
The on site taverna cooked authentic cuisine and nothing was too much trouble including bring our food to our room when there was a storm and raining
A real gem to which we hope we will return one day

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalia M, Manager at Amygdalia Villas, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is much appreciated to state your views during your stay to Amygdalia villas so as potential guests will have a plus to make up a decision.
We also hope to see you some time in the future, as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Isolated resort that gives the most luxurious Sense.
The houses can accommodate a group of few friends easily with about 5 rooms in each house, fully equipped family kitchen and a nice pool.
With that said it can also be a very unique and secluded couple trip.
We ate daily in the resort taverna, the food was lovely and the sunset and atmosphere was exquisite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalia M, General Manager at Amygdalia Villas, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review concerning your stay in Amygdalia villas.
Your comments give us a boost to improve more and more in every part of our service so as to have more happy guests.
We hope to see you again in Amygdalia villas.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Far away from the tourist spots on Crete, we stayed in the Villa Elafonissi at Amygdalia Villas and had a wonderful time. The view from the terrace with its pool can hardly be beaten, sunsets over open sea, al ost too nice to be real!
The Villa offers a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, bathrooms and a nice living room area.
The people running the place are very friendly and helpful! We felt immediately welcomed and at ease. The Villas are really remote and you need a car, preferably a small one as streets are very narrow in the south west of the island. However, you will be compensated with tunning views and being so close to one of the nicest beaches on Crete, Elafonisi, is a plus. You can be there before the tour buses arrive and once they leave, you have the beach on your own again for fantastic sunsets. There are many nice small tavernas around a a few mini markets to buy what you need. One cute village about 30mins away is Elos, they have a great bakery there. If you don't mind being really far from the "action" this is the place to be.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Villa Elafonissi which is located away from the other villas and offers even more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isi-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalia M, General Manager at Amygdalia Villas, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for stating your review in Trip Advisor. We would also like to thank you for your kind words and special tips given to future guests.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you in Amygdalia villas in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livadia
12.1 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
413 reviews
12.0 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Kissamos
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Megim Hotel
Megim Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paleochora
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paleochora
161 reviews
1.4 mi away
Keramoti Villas
Keramoti Villas
#10 of 33 in Kissamos
22 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glykeria Hotel
Glykeria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Moni Chrisoskalitissis
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amygdalia Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amygdalia Villas

Property: Amygdalia Villas
Address: Amygdalokefali | Kissamos, Livadia, Crete 734 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Livadia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Livadia
Hotel Class:4 star — Amygdalia Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Amygdalia Villas! A complex of seven villas minutes away from the most famous Cretan beach: Elafonisi! Magnificent sunset, peace and quite with brethtaking view guarantee you an unforgetable and serene accommodation! Relax and join nature at your exclusive retreat - subtle blend of luxury and intimacy. Stone and craftsmanship, tradition and art, are tastefully combined to create a harmonious complex of beautifully appointed luxury residences in one of the most scenic areas of Western Crete. Built amphitheatrically on the slopes of the hill overlooking the seaside settlement of Livadia, surrounded by low-lying hills, plains and the sea, Amygdalia Villas will become your own exclusive sanctuary. Explore the real Cretan hospitality here at Amygdalia Villas! We are waiting for you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amygdalia Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing