We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amygdalia Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amygdalia Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Livadia B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

In the middle of nowhere, 7 stone villas with all the creature comforts you could wish for have been built by capable masons, and a warmhearted team awaits to welcome you to an other-worldly experience. Think of waking up to a practically Olympic-sized pool for your private use (okay, a little exaggerated on my part, but anyway they aren't one of your standard "private foot-bath pools"), spending the day down at Elefonisi, coming back to a quaint dinner accompanied by the requisite "Raki" and then going back to your lodge and simply luxuriately underneath a star-studded night sky that isn't impacted in any way by ambient light. Those who are aesthetically inclined in any way and understand the joy that's to be had on Crete in general, away from the madding crowd, will absolutely adore Amygdalia. We were there precisely one month ago and it was truly a memorable experience. Thanks, Thalia! Couples and families looking for that "something special" are well advised to make their way to this very special place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Perched above the tiny village of Livadia, the seven villas with private pools offer stunning views over the sea from the top-floor terraces. Our villa had a huge living room, a state-of-the-art kitchen, two large bedrooms (and a further one that was closed, as we were only two couples) and bathrooms featuring Jacuzzi bathtubs. Loved the stone walls, I imagine the rooms are cool during the summer heat. The very friendly and helpful Lefteris arranged for a meal for us at the villa, as all restaurants in Livadia were closed. I would absolutely recommend this to: families, groups of friends and anybody who wants peace, quiet and beautiful beaches. It's in a part of Crete that hasn't been ruined (yet) by mass tourism, so get it while you can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoxanneV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in Amphitriti for 7 days and were taken aback by the peace and tranquillity, the best holiday ever, we were treated like the king and queen by Thalia,Helen and Dimitri who's food at the taverna was delicious! What a setting! The sunset's have to be seen! The sound of the sea, waves crashing in 24/7 in the background! Amazing and yes the only thing to say was WOW!!!!
Marie and Alistair Sept 2012

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yavne, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

For my 60 years birthday, last August, my wife arranged a 7 days vacation for our close family, all together 10 persons including our very young grandchildren.
The wonderful villa, excellence facility, unique location, wonderful people and most of all the hosts, Thalia, Dimitry and the team, so devoted, so gracious, they gave us the best filling as we are family.
We are traveling a lot, all over the globe, but this vacation was one of the best if not the best.
We already recommended all our friends,
Thank you Guys, hope to see you again…
The Kaftzans

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avital K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalia M, General Manager at Amygdalia Villas, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your time to write a review concerning your stay in Amygdalia villas.
It is a real pleasure to know that you had such a good time with your family in one of our villas.

Once more thank you for your kind words and warm feelings and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
(mi)
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've stayed one week in villa artemis, a wonderful villa with 2 private pools and wonderful terrace facing the sea and a breathtaking sunset.

The villa is perfect, full equipped, with jacuzzi bath and shower, everything is so nice, also the little details. We couldn't ask more.

The owners are so kind, thalia in particular, they are totally at our disposal (for example we remained with no petrol in the car and they provided us a bottle of petrol)

Close to the villas there are their little family taverna and a bar. The taverna serves great greek food, I still remember a home made dessert similar to a cheese cake. The taverna is really quiet and romantic,you can hear only the sing of cicadas.

The only suggestion is to arrive there with cash and fuel because there are no bank near there (the nearest is 40 minutes away by car) and the credit card is not accepted in tavernas and there is no petrol station (20 minutes away by car)

The west coast of crete is wonderful, but really quite compared to the north one, so around the villa you can find only little markets and good tavernas, during the day you meet lot of goats! :)
It is perfect to relax and enjoy the seaside and the nature.

The villa is really near to elafonissi beach, the most beautiful beach I ever been in all my life.

I'll come back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niki81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalia M, General Manager at Amygdalia Villas, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words concerning your stay in villa Artemis- Amygdalia villas. It is always a pleasure to have such vivid and energetic young people in our villas.Our chef would also like to thank you for appreciating his traditional tastes.
We are looking forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I had our honeymoon at Amphritriti which was a small villa just for 2 people. It had a Private pool and its own private terrace overlooking the sea.

On the first night we sat outside and watched the stars come out, you could see the nebulas of the milky way because the skies were so clear. I took a video of the stars so others could see the amazing sights from our terrace that you can see here.

http://youtu.be/giXY6pmVhs0?hd=1

It was such good value for money and we had an awesome time, the service was amazing as well. There is a taverna 2 seconds from the villa that sells beautiful food and will even deliver it to your terrace for free so you can have a romantic meal watching the sunsets! Plus the staff were so friendly!

Big Thank you to Occasus Citadel for making our honeymoon so special.

Sacha & Jmayel El-haj

Room Tip: Amphritriti was perfect for coupes on honeymoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edenexposed_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livadia
11.8 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
12.5 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#1 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
11.7 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Elafonisi Resort by Kalomirakis Family
3.5 mi away
Glykeria Rooms
Glykeria Rooms
#2 of 2 in Elafonissi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Keramoti Villas
Keramoti Villas
#14 of 32 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amygdalia Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amygdalia Villas

Property: Amygdalia Villas
Address: Amygdalokefali | Kissamos, Livadia, Crete 734 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Livadia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Livadia
Hotel Class:4 star — Amygdalia Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Amygdalia Villas! A complex of seven villas minutes away from the most famous Cretan beach: Elafonisi! Magnificent sunset, peace and quite with brethtaking view guarantee you an unforgetable and serene accommodation! Relax and join nature at your exclusive retreat - subtle blend of luxury and intimacy. Stone and craftsmanship, tradition and art, are tastefully combined to create a harmonious complex of beautifully appointed luxury residences in one of the most scenic areas of Western Crete. Built amphitheatrically on the slopes of the hill overlooking the seaside settlement of Livadia, surrounded by low-lying hills, plains and the sea, Amygdalia Villas will become your own exclusive sanctuary. Explore the real Cretan hospitality here at Amygdalia Villas! We are waiting for you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Amygdalia Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing