We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and clean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Normanton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Normanton Tourist Park
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Normanton is sort of no where but is an important place. It served as a "port" for gold seekers coming to Croydon and boomed for a time. The park is as one might expect for an out of the way place somewhat unremarkable, however don't be fooled. The amenities are very clean and quite satisfactory- I had one of the best showers ever there. We had a camper van and our site was a little awkward but the very helpful lady had ensured we got a quiet, shady site.
They have a beautiful pool and a hot spa fed by the artesian basin underneath. We found the other occupants very friendly and thus the stay was very enjoyable.
I note one reviewer had things stolen and complained they were not warned. Neither were we but we follow an axiom of faith, "trust no one nowhere!" Perhaps the owners might review this but caveat emptor.
Normanton itself is a little gem. There is a self guided tourist walk and some of the attractions are quite interesting.The Tourist Information and library and museum is in a fabulous old building and well worth a visit.The pubs are little rippers and we drank at the Purple Pub.
Of course one big attraction is the Gulflander. an anachronistic little train that rattles along slowly between Normanton and Croydon. Try and do one on the trips on it- we unfortunately missed out but I did get some great photos of it coming from Croydon.
Again the park is not all luxury and glamor, but it is what it is for where it is and makes a very pleasant stay for a day or two. Above all it is DOG FRIENDLY.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 74 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the Normanton Tourist Park on a powered site for two nights. The owners is a lovely lady and very helpful. The facilities are clean and very brightly painted which gives you that beachy feeling, and the pool is magnificent. We also enjoyed a lovely spa, which was nice and warm after the cold water of the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheryl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for one night on a powered site. The lady who checked us in also drove round to show us where to park up. The site was shady and spacious. It was blistering hot and we went for a swim to cool down in a 25m x 9m pool, which was pretty impressive. Everything was clean and the park well maintained. Absolutely no problems and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Jay1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed there for work - cabins are basic but clean and comfortable. Park can get very busy in the tourist season with grey nomads, backpackers etc. Friendly staff who provide good advice about where to eat, what to see, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dirranbandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Unfortunately, i have to leave a negative review. Management of the Normanton Tourist Park were acting strange and not really welcoming. We slept in a tent next to the pool, which was fine. Did not get to swim in the pool because apparently it's illegal after a certain hour. Amenities were average. The next morning we found our car had been broken into and electronics stolen. Had to wait for police to arrive to work for an hour. Owners of the Normanton Tourist Park basically didn't want to hear about it and weren't helpful at all. According to the police it happens there fairly often, but visitors never get a fair warning to prepare for such a thing. Obviously the owners knew, just didn't tell us. So lock up your things, and don't walk around town with your ipads and iphones.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JanekValdsalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Normanton Tourist Park was a welcome sight after travelling on a dirt road for 3 days and sleeping in our tent each night.
We were travelling with my sister and her husband and we got a cabins side by side. We had to use a communal shower and toilet but the rooms were very comfortable and warm.
The lady in reception was a great help when we asked where to get a good meal, she recommended the Central Hotel across the street and we had a wonderful meal thanks to her.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice big park close to everything in town.Grounds itself reasonably untidy,overgrown trees and weeds,outdated dongas available for accomodation.Old amenities.
Lady owner of the park "Marie" is a lovely helpful person and a funny character. Husband "Tony" well,hmmm avoid him and you will have a fantastic stay.
Ridiculously it is an extra $5 a day on top of your site fee if you use your own washing machine.The park is dog friendly but watch male owner as he will torment them.
A pleasant short-term stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAEQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normanton
21.9 mi away
Karumba Point Sunset Caravan Park
22.1 mi away
End of the Road Motel
End of the Road Motel
#1 of 1 in Karumba
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gulfland Motel
Gulfland Motel
#1 of 1 in Normanton
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normanton Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normanton Tourist Park

Address: 14 Brown Street, Normanton, Queensland 4890, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Normanton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Normanton
Price Range: $71 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oasis in the Tropical Gulf Savannah. Normanton Tourist Park is located in the centre of town and is walking distance to all conveniences. Our park has a variety of accommodation, cabins - ensuite, cabins - no ensuite, rooms, camping and caravan sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing