We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ever again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Normanton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Normanton Tourist Park
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Unfortunately, i have to leave a negative review. Management of the Normanton Tourist Park were acting strange and not really welcoming. We slept in a tent next to the pool, which was fine. Did not get to swim in the pool because apparently it's illegal after a certain hour. Amenities were average. The next morning we found our car had been broken into and electronics stolen. Had to wait for police to arrive to work for an hour. Owners of the Normanton Tourist Park basically didn't want to hear about it and weren't helpful at all. According to the police it happens there fairly often, but visitors never get a fair warning to prepare for such a thing. Obviously the owners knew, just didn't tell us. So lock up your things, and don't walk around town with your ipads and iphones.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JanekValdsalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Normanton Tourist Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 72 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Normanton Tourist Park was a welcome sight after travelling on a dirt road for 3 days and sleeping in our tent each night.
We were travelling with my sister and her husband and we got a cabins side by side. We had to use a communal shower and toilet but the rooms were very comfortable and warm.
The lady in reception was a great help when we asked where to get a good meal, she recommended the Central Hotel across the street and we had a wonderful meal thanks to her.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice big park close to everything in town.Grounds itself reasonably untidy,overgrown trees and weeds,outdated dongas available for accomodation.Old amenities.
Lady owner of the park "Marie" is a lovely helpful person and a funny character. Husband "Tony" well,hmmm avoid him and you will have a fantastic stay.
Ridiculously it is an extra $5 a day on top of your site fee if you use your own washing machine.The park is dog friendly but watch male owner as he will torment them.
A pleasant short-term stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAEQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Karumba was booked out so we decided to stay at Normanton Tourist Park which we were glad we did. We were staying on a powered site with our own caravan and it had plenty of sites with shade. The facilities were good and what impressed us was the 25m swimming pool with a spa which was well used for a 3 day stay in the warm weather. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the park was well positioned a short walking distance to all eating and tourists attractions. The cost was very reasonable for the site and I would recommend this park above others and wouldn't hesitate to return to Normanton has we loved the interesting historical township with its history and remoteness.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gayle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

One for the very keen fishing folk. We needed a cabin overnight and Karumba was booked out. Friendly reception but pretty ordinary cabin (Donga) next to shared bathrooms. 25m Pool was a plus and looked like there were some nice camping/van sites - just not where we were. Also note the Foodworks Supermarket nearby is the worst we have visited. Afraid we are not hurrying back to Normanton.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wills68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This property offers a mix of cabins with ensuite, cabins without ensuite, camping sites and caravan sites. The website is http://www.normantontouristpark.com.au/

I can only comment on the cabins with ensuite, only just stayed in. As is usual in such areas, cabins are actually 'dongas' but what we found was pleasant and clean, with a kitchen, flat-screen TV and a covered verandah. I would have loved to stay longer but we had a deadline to travel on the legendary Gulflander train to Croydon - a must do event!

The 'lady of the manor' (at the reception) is a real character!

Room Tip: Phone ahead during the peak season (winter months)
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rossko_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Björn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normanton
22.1 mi away
Karumba Point Sunset Caravan Park
22.1 mi away
Ash's Holiday Units & Cafe
22.0 mi away
Gee-Dee's Family Cabins
Gee-Dee's Family Cabins
#8 of 12 in Karumba
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gulfland Motel
Gulfland Motel
#1 of 1 in Normanton
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Purple Pub
The Purple Pub
#3 of 3 in Normanton
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normanton Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normanton Tourist Park

Address: 14 Brown Street, Normanton, Queensland 4890, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Normanton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Normanton
Price Range: $72 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oasis in the Tropical Gulf Savannah. Normanton Tourist Park is located in the centre of town and is walking distance to all conveniences. Our park has a variety of accommodation, cabins - ensuite, cabins - no ensuite, rooms, camping and caravan sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing