We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again...”
Review of Hotel Albergo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Albergo
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Well you definitely get what you pay for at this place. Sorry for the long review so I added a pro/con in the beginning if you don't want to read it all.

Pros:
Cheap, Friendly hotel staff, decent breakfast

Cons:
Located in a bad part of town
Closest parking is about 1/4 mile away
Narrow/dark stairwell/no elevator
No additional locks on doors
Bathroom door didn't close
Could hear every sound in the hotel and staff wouldn't do anything to quiet other guests
Manager would not give a refund when we checked out earlier


We paid about £120 for the first two nights of our stay and the last two were supposed to be £89. Add in £10 per day for four people for breakfast and you can't be too upset about the price. However, the quality of the hotel leaves much to be desired. First of all there is no parking at the hotel and the nearest car park is about a 1/4 mile walk from entrance to entrance in a run down part of town. We were the only Americans in the hotel and my wife and daughters were the only female guests. This made my wife very uncomfortable with the way she was stared at when I wasn't next to her. The room we booked was billed as a quadruple room and had three twin beds and a double bed in a small room. The room also had a television and wardrobe and two night stands. The door didn't have a deadbolt lock which didn't make me feel good about security in the room. Also the bathroom door didn't close completely and in a room where the bathroom is all but on top of the bed this makes it quite uncomfortable. Also the walls are very thin and you can hear every sound and person talking all through the hotel at all hours of the night. On our second night it sounded like someone was rearranging the room above us at 3am. We called the front desk about the noise and there was nothing they would do about it. We checked out of the hotel on the third morning and were told they could not give us a refund since we had already booked the nights. I am still annoyed that I lost out on the money but there was no way we were going to stay another night in that hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 140BryanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Albergo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 158 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Not sure how to rate my stay at the hotel Albergo, and here's why, it's a thread bare, dusty and scruffy old building, the "en suit" was a plastic shower and curtain plonked next to the wardrobe 3 feet from the bottom of the bed and the toilet was a communal one at the end of the landing, but, on the flip side, the people who work at the hotel were very helpful, friendly, polite and generally very nice people, and the breakfast for 5 euro was the best 5 euro i spent all weekend, even so, i thought 45 euro per night was a bit much for a make-shift, thread bare en-suit

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Paid very little in comparison to other hotels in Brussels. One night was more than enough however, it was more of place to grab a few hours sleep. Was out all day and didn't intend being in a hotel all day.
Not the cleanest of hotels and rooms average size. Staff were ok can't really comment on their attitude as was not here long enough.
Location:- close to gare du nord station, and about a ten minute walk to the centre. Just be mindful of location at night and stick to lit areas walking back. Wouldn't advise cutting through the park adjacent to hotel at night.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mw238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My first night in the hotel Albergo I spent in a single room,which was a very surprising one- the en suite bathroom was separated from the room with curtains. The room was small and not at all cosy. The following nights I spent with my friends in a room for 5 pers. It was a nicer room and the bathroom was ok - with walls'n'doors.
To our great surprise the hotel served good breakfast- with fresh and warm croissants! (tasty cappuchino, cheese, ham, salami, hard boiled eggs, croissants).

The area of the hotel is close to the red light district, between the metro stops 'north station' and 'rogier'.

If you're chicken hearted, chose another place. I actually got used to the neighbourhood quite soon. Besides it's quite cheap. And the staff is very welcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

according to the price it's a decouros hotel in a good position in Brussels city centre area.
essential in its structure, good breakfast and kind staff members

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank angelico b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The location of the hotel is close to the Botanical garden but not so close to the metro station. The staff was very polite and kind. The room was very small, under the stairs and so close to the reception that I practically heard everything told. The toilet and the shower -bath were in the room. There was no ventilation and vapour and smell stay practivcally in the room. The window looked out on the grounds - small and dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank DesiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The room we stayed in was disgusting - the bathroom looked like something out of a horror movie and there was mould growing up the walls by the side of the bed.

Yes, it is cheap, but we stayed in a modern design hotel 15-20 minutes closer to the centre of Brussels for just a little bit more (Maxhotel)

It is not in a great location, as it is right in the red light district and we did not feel safe.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StueyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
0.0 mi away
Best Western City Centre
Best Western City Centre
#9 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
331 reviews
1.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,908 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Floris Ustel Midi
Floris Ustel Midi
#2 of 6 in Anderlecht
948 reviews
2.8 mi away
hotel prince de liege
hotel prince de liege
#5 of 6 in Anderlecht
5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Queen Anne
Hotel Queen Anne
#101 of 198 in Brussels
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergo

Address: Square Victoria Regina 11-12, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range: $59 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Albergo 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Albergo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Hotel Brussels
Hotel Albergo Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing