We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regular hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Colonies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel des Colonies
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Regular hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 1 evening. This is your basic hotel so not for those who are looking for amenities and opulent decor. You are given a clean room and shower. The room was about average for a European hotel but definitely not small. The hotel staff were helpful and the location is great for those who will travel on to Bruges as the station is walking distance. Hotel is about a 20 min walk to the Grand Place where there are plenty of bars and food. They are open late. Breakfast was just as expected for a value hotel stay.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frijolitauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    135
    148
    45
    19
See reviews for
45
85
40
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2007

A nice hotel except there is no bar for a late night drink and the mosquitoes!

We arrived in late October and the day time temperature was about 8 c and nice and sunny. The room was a little hot so we opened a window..... it was at the back of the hotel with a view of a wall and an enclosed yard.

The next morning we were covered in bites and presumed the worst ... bed bugs because we didn’t hear or feel anything. We did see a small fly but didn't realise it was a mosquito...
After complaining to the management they moved us to a room with a view and said they had experienced this problem before! And it was definitely mosquitoes not bed bugs and our opening the window invited them in from the cold to our nice cosy room. We pointed out that they could have warned us not to open window! or better still put us in a different wing until they had resolved the problem, the hotel was not full at all so this would not have been a problem.

They got housekeeping to spray the room and said all rooms on that side were shut until they resolved the issue. We suggested that there must be some standing water somewhere that they breed in. Later that day I spotted one in the lift! So housekeeping sprayed that as well.

We asked for compensation as none was offered apart from the new room and I suggested they let us keep the room on the last day as we didn't need to be at station until 5.30 pm and to give them their due they did agree to this ... eventually.



Our bites are still itching a week later..... But nothing worse.....yet!

So beware of this hotel, ask for a room on the outside and if they only give you an inside room ask if the mosquito issue has been resolved! Otherwise it is a nice hotel with good breakfasts and good location... 15 mins to Grand Place or 10 if a fast walker..... Lots of shops very nearby and near to station for a quick visit to Bruges or Ghent.

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Disliked — Mosquitoes
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank palall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels

London UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2007

Stayed here on business for 1 night on 21.10.07. Hotel is very centrally located beside metro Rogier and a short walk from Gare du Nord. Hotel lobby is characterful and receptionists are helpful enough. Hotel seems devoid of facilities. Bar was closed (at 6pm on a Sunday evening). Eating options comprised a vending machine! Room was small and a little depressing. Decor needs a refresh. The bathroom fittings are tired and dated though the accommodation was clean throughout.

Breakfast was an uninspiring continental buffet affair. Coffee (from a machine) was vile. Juices (again machine-generated) a little better.

Not awful. Not great. Would only stay again if I had too. I'm sure you can get more bang for your buck if you shop around.

  • Liked — Good location. Pleasant staff.
  • Disliked — Small room. Overdue a refurb.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caseypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

It was a really good hotel, very comfortable and a close walk everywhere. We loved the breakfasts, very delicious. The hotel staff were friendly. Had a great time, would recommend it.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2007

Here 2 nights when over on work recently. Although I could have been justified in going to a more expensive place, I like such (less "sterile" than the modern big chains) old hotels with character. That is just what it was. A pleasant surprise on entered the single room I was given (average size), was that instead of there being the usual little afterthought of a bathroom, it was a spacious as the room itself -you could almost swing a cat in it (as the saying goes). Also the wardrobe was so big it could be classed walk-in.
Handy for me was to be able to find it easily on foot from the Gare du Nord /North railway station which it the first of the 3 main station stops when you get the train from the airport and arrive in the city. Also the metro is just across the road around the corner from the hotel, dead handy really. Breakfast was fine. The staff was helpful. Not sure was the wireless internet connection working, I tried but didn' t bother asking, but there was a computer in the lobby people used. There was no minibar in my room, only machines for drinks in the lobby, no big deal.
Leaving luggage on checkout till the afternoon was efficient and secure (a ticket system and it is locked away)
Overall happy and am planning to go again next month.

  • Liked — The bathroom and the old lobby
  • Disliked — Lack of minibar ...but that's only trivial
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnPaul1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2007

Great location if you need to use trains, which I did...from the airport in Brussels to a station that would get me to Holland. Clean, comfortable and loved the decor. Convenient to sightseeing, and the price was great. I booked through Venere.com...great website for European hotels. Read the reviews on Venere and also on Trip Advisor to get a feel. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nansi1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2007

We have stayed twice at this hotel and would not wish to stay anywhere else in Brussels. The reception staff are so friendly and helpful, it makes the stay. We really felt looked after. They even remembered us on our return, although our visits were a year apart. We'll be back again! The hotel is clean and has character in spades. I have read the negative reviews and my experience could not have been more different. I booked a 3star, I expected a 3 star and I got a hotel with 3star facilities but with service and atmosphere a 5 star couldn't match. Brekkie is OK, but frankly I'd rather have a genuinely friendly face. You can't buy it in a city.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank taistealai_fanach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
0.0 mi away
Hotel Siru
Hotel Siru
#8 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.9 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels City
Hilton Brussels City
#4 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#101 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Colonies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Colonies

Property: Hotel des Colonies
Address: Rue des Croisades 6-10 | Sint-Joost-ten-Node, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Colonies 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel des Colonies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Colonies Hotel
Des Colonies Brussels
Hotel Des Colonies Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing