We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed three nights to visit the Xmas markets. Hotel is clean and modern.
Breakfast on first day was a nightmare as lots of coach trips were leaving earlier and it was chaos, also really hard to find hot water for tea.!
Our twin room was clean , but really hot, couldn't open the window and decided that perhaps we were at the hot flush age !!
Resorting on the third night to having bedroom door open to try and cool down , which was spotted by duty manager who couldn't believe we had not moaned ! He very kindly moved us rooms.
It was about a ten minute walk to the main square.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubyreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkeCeulemans, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear traveler,

We thank you for your comment on your stay with us at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre.

If we have many groups staying in the hotel, we try to work with different breakfast times for these groups, in order to prevent an overcrowded breakfast buffet. Unfortunately this only works if everyone respects their time table, but we can not refuse people of entering the breakfast area either. We can only apologize for this chaotic experience, we know that our staff manages these situations in the best possible way.

Hot water can be taken on two of the coffee machines in the breakfast area, as well as from the hot water kettle, just beside the tea display. Please do not hesitate to ask our staff were to find things, as we are there to help you and to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible.

The same goes for the window, which you were not able to open. You can always contact the reception, if you experience something which you believe is not normal. You do not bother us with these remarks, we are grateful you bring these to our attention, so we can solve it for the future.

As the windows are not opened on a daily basis, it can happen that they jam, whilst trying to open them. However, the windows can not be opened completely, this out of security reasons , as we are situated in a high tower, but they should be able to be opened for fresh air.

During winter time, room temperature is put on a minimum of 20°C. All the rooms have an individual thermostat, so that every guest can set their own preferred temperature upon arrival. We apologize if your thermostat was not working properly. We are glad to see our duty manager react correctly and offered you a room change.

We do hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you again upon your next visit to Brussels.

Best regards
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    485
    225
    60
    36
See reviews for
93
308
43
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I selected this hotel for it´s location and according to the reviews I could see on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to say that both the reviews and the hotel info are very misleading.
They sell this as a four star hotel but and it looks like that online. But our experience is the following: The room is so small, that you can not walk straight passed the bed to the other side (you need to slide passed it). The bed is very bad, my back is absolutely killing me.
There is a door between two rooms and we can hear everything going on in the room next door and I even woke up in the middle of the night to the neighbours snoring.
There is no room service and no restaurant. Not even possible to buy a cup of coffee until 5pm.
We wanted to rent a movie but the TV did not work properly so we called for help (twice) and they promised someone to come - but they never came. So we were stuck with whatever we could find on the Dutch and French stations.
I did complain to the front desk (I still have one night to go that I am dreading) and the only thing they could say "oh.. I am sorry" - they did not offer to change rooms and when I asked them to take my complaint to the managers they asked me to write it down and put it in an envelope so they could take it to the upper management. They did not even ask for my room number or any other detail to check if they could make my further stay any more tolerable. So, dear managers, please consider this as my written complaint (without the envelope) - for your info, I am registered for three nights under the name Sigurbjornsson.
Gudrun

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gudrun_Kristjans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkeCeulemans, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear traveler,

We appreciate you took the time to share with us your opinion on your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the fullest and that you left with a negative impression of our hotel.

We apologize for the lack of reaction of our reception staff. Please do not hesitate to ask for a supervisor, such as a duty manager or a front office manager, if you feel you are not helped adequately. We are well aware this should not be even be necessary in the first place, but sometimes a necessary action. Asking you to write down your complaint rather than solving it, is definitely not correct and we can only apologize for this.

We have indeed some connecting rooms, where there is a door between 2 rooms. Even if this door is locked when the rooms are separately rented out, a room change can always be requested if this bothers you. May I point out that we have different sizes of rooms: we have are standard rooms, and the bigger superior rooms and suites, if a spacious room is a priority for you.

During the renovations, all the beds and matrasses were changed. We opted for the harder matrasses, but we are aware that not everyone likes these kind of bedding. In general the feedback we get is positive, but we are aware that a 100% satisfaction is difficult to achieve.

There is indeed no room service, neither do we have an operating restaurant. If you read somewhere on the internet, that we have, we would like to know where you’ve seen this and we will be happy to correct this misleading information.

We have a breakfast buffet in the public area and the possibility to order breakfast in your room. The leaflet has to be put out on your doorknob, so that the night staff can collect it and the breakfast staff can prepare it for the requested time.

The restaurant is not open for dinner nor lunch, we only serve small snacks at the bar. The bar is officially open as from 17:00 but if you ask the reception, a coffee can always be served by one of our members of staff. This light bar service is foreseen during daytime.

We are sorry to hear you had problems with the PayTV. As this is provided by an external company, we often are depending on their reactivity to solve the issue. Unfortunately technology isn’t always flawless and we do apologize you were confronted with this during your stay. Nevertheless, we do have a wide variety of TV channels, apart from the Dutch and French channels, we also have BBC1 and BBC2 for instance.

We really wish we had the opportunity to talk to you during your stay and we do hope we'll get another chance to convince you of our hotel and its advantages.

Best regards
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
346 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Staff not very friendly or helpful :( Clean & modern with convenient breakfast area. I would only stay here again if other options were not available....Once was enough for us thank you! Rooms are a model for minimalist concept!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank upupandaway3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkeCeulemans, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear traveler,

We appreciate you took the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the fullest and that you left with a negative impression of our hotel.

Our staff should be at your service, to help you in a professional and friendly way and we regret to hear that this was not the case. The staff should help with any possible question by giving you both correct and ample information. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the missing help from our staff. Please don’t hesitate to ask for a supervisor, such as the duty manager or front office manager, if you have the feeling that the service you are receiving is not adequate.

Please do hesitate to visit our website as we believe that other hotels of our group, such as Thon Stanhope hotel or Bristol Stephanie hotel are more what you look for in a hotel and will fulfill your expectations.

We do hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you in one of sister hotels in Brussels.

Best regards
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Nothing spectacular about this city centre hotel. Good base for visiting Xmas markets. Room was clean. Bed comfortable. Basic bathroom. Breakfast was adequate. Used the Bar a few times. Very busy and often just one member of staff on.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CazDodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkeCeulemans, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear traveler,

We thank you for your feedback on your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre.
We are happy to hear that in general you were happy with the cleanliness of the room and the infrastructure of the hotel.

Breakfast being an important meal, we find it our task to offer a wide choice of hot and cold items. We are pleased to see you appreciated your breakfast at our hotel.

In general there is one barman taking care of the bar. If there are events planned in the hotel, or a higher occupation, we schedule a second person. Unfortunately it is very difficult to foresee if our bar will get busy or not. We have a very professional barman, who does his/her upmost best to give the best possible service on busy moments. We’ll verify with him/her and our food & beverage manager how we can improve our bar service.

We do hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you again upon your next Christmas market visit.

Best regards
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

POSITIVE: Close to subway, train station (Nord), shopping Panoramic sauna in the morning
NEGATIVE: Room interior & cleanliness Unlimited free WiFi should be standard Lobby (currently looks like a basement food court) Professionalism of staff

- City 2 Shopping Mall, Delhaize supermarket, HEMA - Grand Place - Pho Pho across the street has amazing pho
Stayed here in Nov. 2013
- Close to Gare de Bruxelles Nord Station, but quite far from Central Station and even further from Midi Station
- Close to City 2 Shopping Center Nieuwstraat and Rue Neuve, also close to a HEMA for everyday personal needs and Delhaize City supermarket (right beside the hotel on the right side when you're exiting the hotel entrance)
- Staffs were friendly, but not professional and does not speak fluent English, express check-in machine not working properly
- Lobby is actually in basement so is the dining area and bar, which looked much better on website than in actuality
- Small room was poorly decorated, hallway had a persistent weird smell, washroom looks old, tub clogs badly, it gets stuffy in the room after a hot shower, regardless of climate control settings, I had to go up to the sauna facility for shower
- Gym was under renovation, hotel offered gym usage at a location right beside the hotel, a gym used by white-collars in the office towers in the area
- Don't be misled into thinking "unlimited" free WiFi, I was only offered 1 hour of free Wifi during my entire 3-day stay, good thing there is an illy coffee nearby with free WiFi (not sure if it was from illy or its associated hotel), otherwise go to City 2 shopping mall with free WiFi

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MingMingJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

The quality of this hotel is summed up by the bedside 'tables' - a faceless, plastic column with no practical purpose. We were disappointed on every level with this Thon.

In Brussels for four days, we were given a tiny room, one door down from the lifts, and facing office blocks on two sides. The latter meant that our room was like an oven with the glass windows of the hotel and the offices effectively reflecting heat at each other. The air-conditioning did not work at all - a weak bubbling was the best it could manage - so we went for the open window option. All this did was ensure we could hear every siren in the streets below. Neither of us slept much, and this was in December.

The hotel is supposed to be a four star. Frankly, it barely merits three and does not meet the standard of a basic Premier Inn. The floor is covered in vinyl not carpet.

The coffee tray allows you two sticks of indifferent coffee per day, ghastly powdered milk and plastic spoons.

There were five clothes hangers, one of which was broken, for two people staying for four days. We asked for eight more (one more than we actually needed, we like to hang our clothes rather than fold them – and there were no drawers anyway) and were treated to blank amazement- "You want eight!!!". Despite this, the coat hangers did not arrive until we asked again four hours later.

The towels were small and thin. The promised 'toiletries' turned out to be cheap, squeezy soap bottles attached to the wall - though on our penultimate day we returned to find we'd been left a small bar of soap and one micro-bottle of bath foam - and the ever-useful shower cap.

Worst of all, the hair dryer only blew cold air on its highest setting. Heat was only generated on the lowest, weakest setting. Usually I carry my own hair-dryer when travelling but, believing this to be a four star hotel, had decided to lighten my luggage load. A big mistake. Every morning I had to leave the hotel with damp hair - not great in the chill wind on the Brussels street. I complained about this on the first morning, as I sat there with dripping hair, and was told that 'there were no spare hair-dryers'. Something I find hard to believe in a hotel of this size.

We avoided the extortionately priced breakfast - no better than at any ordinary hotel - and popped next door to the small snack bar in the shopping centre where we ate freshly-prepared omelettes and toast. drank freshly squeezed orange juice and followed this with very good coffee for a mere 10 euros each.

Brussels is a great place for a break. We met some fabulously friendly and helpful people everywhere we went - except in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birthdaytreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkeCeulemans, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear traveler,

We appreciate you took the time to give your opinion on your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we were not able to convince you of our strong points.

We appreciate your comment concerning the toiletries in the room. Indeed, we decided to replace the bars of soap to soap dispensers, this out of a out of an ecological and practical point of view. Our larger superior rooms and suites still have some extra toiletries, and if desirable, it can be requested at the reception.

We are aware that our towels our not the biggest ones and we are looking into the fact of changing them to larger towels.

Our rooms are equipped with coffee and tea facilities for one day. It is refilled on a daily basis. If more is required, please do not hesitate to contact the reception, who will send someone to your room with more of whatever you require. The same goes for the milk. If you prefer normal milk instead of the powder milk, provided in your room, our colleagues from the reception are more than happy to give you some of the milk, which is served on the breakfast buffet, to put in your coffee or tea.

Our hairdryers were all recently replaced and should be all functional. The hairdryer has two buttons, one for cold air and one for hot air. Please don’t hesitate to contact the reception if it doesn’t work properly or when you need more information on how to use it.

Our reception can be also contact to report technical defaults in the reception. All our air conditioning systems where changed during the renovations and have all individual thermostats, so that you can choose your own desired temperature. The rooms are verified by our housekeeping department, but it can happen that some issues escape their attention, and we do apologize for this. But our technical department is always more than happy to resolve them for you.

A room change can always be requested, if you are not happy with the view of your room. If we have room available with the view you like, we will change your room.
We have rooms with carpet, vinyl and parquet. If you have a preference of floor, you can always ask the reception to assign you a room according to your preference. Of course this is upon availability and can not be confirmed upon reservation.

We regret to hear you think the breakfast is too expensive. We believe we offer a good price/quality buffet with many fresh and local products. During the year, the breakfast is at half price in the weekend, and for those you who do not want a copious breakfast, we also have our quick breakfast for only 9 euro, which includes a coffee or tea, an orange juice and 3 pastries.

Please do hesitate to visit our website as we believe that our Thon Stanhope hotel or Bristol Stephanie hotel are more what you look for in a hotel and will meet up to your expectations.

We do hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you in one of sister hotels in Brussels.

Best regards
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed on 24th Floor - the water pressure to the basin was so low it was hard to tell if the tap was actually on. Brush your teeth with the complementary water instead - not the end of the world. The shower could have been used to strip paint - seriously, the pressure was incredible - which matters more to me.

WiFi was OK around 4-5MB and stable, the TV was OK with some British channels. The standard of fixtures and fittings in the room was OK for the type of hotel (weird gap on the side of the bath panel - room 2401) but generally clean and usable. Staff were friendly and helpful.

The fitness centre was basic but seemed to get better during my stay - a water dispenser arrived at some point in the week but wasn't plumbed in. I thought maybe a TV or some music would have improved it but I guess having a fitness centre in a budget hotel at all is pretty good.

Noise wasn't too bad so high up, but you definitely are aware that you are in the middle of everything with distant sirens. That said, location for Rogier Metro station is ideal and there are a number of places to eat in the vicinity. Breakfast was fairly standard fare, lots of choice. For some reason the milk was always warm which I found a bit offputting!

Room Tip: Go higher up to avoid the noise, the lifts are pretty quick so no hardship
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nidieu_nimaitre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkeCeulemans, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear traveler,

We thank you for your objective feedback on your stay with us at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre.

We verified the water pressure in your room. Indeed, the tab in the sink wasn’t running correctly due to the filter in the tap. This was replaced by our technical department. Please do not hesitate to contact our reception if you notice these things during your stay, so that it can be fixed straight away by our technical department. We are aware the rooms should be impeccable upon arrival, unfortunately some things do escape the attention of the floor supervisor. We will inform our Housekeeping Manager, so that in the future a better follow up can be done.

The water pressure of the showers has been verified and adjusted as well by our technical department. It is now running at a lower pressure and it can also be manually adjusted by the mixing tap.

The fitness was indeed recently renovated and we decided to re-open it before the water dispenser was delivered. Unfortunately our supplier did not deliver all the pieces, so it could not be installed right away. This has been resolved in the mean time.
There was a TV before the renovations. We intend to re-install it, the new flat screen was ordered, but we are still awaiting delivery.

We are glad to hear that you liked our breakfast. Nevertheless, we are sorry to hear that the milk wasn’t properly cooled. It is kept in the fridge before serving, so we’ll take it up with our F&B manager, so that he can verify why the milk container does not keep it cooled. We do apologize for the inconvenience and will do the necessary follow-up.

We do hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you again upon your visit to Brussels.

Best regards
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1.2 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#14 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le...
#2 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels City
Hilton Brussels City
#4 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
0.9 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre

Property: Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Address: Avenue du Boulevard 17, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium (Formerly Tulip Inn Brussels)
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre is a hotel that offers infrastructure in keeping with both the requirements of business travellers and tourist alike. The hotel is located in the Brussels city centre and possesses 13 function rooms of which the largest has a capacity of 400 persons. It is also the first Thon hotel which offers express check-in/check-out kiosks that provide the ultimate level of self-service automation, privacy and convenience for hotel guests.Express Check-in / Check-out:This solution has been installed to leverage your comfort level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing