We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not like it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Brussels City
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Did not like it”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I had a single room. Well, it was the smallest room I've ever seen! The bathroom is just tiny! Yes, it was clean, the quality of cosmetics in the bathroom was good enough, but the room was too small.
The most unbelievable thing was that in a 4* hotel, where the majority of visitors are businessmen - the Internet access costs 7 EUR/hour! Unbelievable! Look, it is the year 2013, the center of Europe, business class hotel and I should pay extra for the Internet?! There is a free Internet even in some 2* hotel.
No shoe brush in the room.
Also it is a noisy place and even with the closed window it was difficult to sleep there.
Moreover, one night I was woken up by some alarm signal.
Also telephone in the room has very loud and unpleasant signal. Once somebody called to my room at night when I was sleeping. And believe me, I wasn't very happy to here this loud signal at night!
Ok, there are also positive things: good breakfast, location, friendly stuff. And usually if you are not planning you visit in advance, then Hilton is one of the hotels that always has rooms.
All in all, these negative aspects make me choose another hotel from the same price category instead of Hilton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna_Tallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    860
    615
    265
    104
See reviews for
229
653
219
920
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a well above average hotel which you would always expect from Hilton. It is well situated in the centre of the city and is well presented internally. The only minor let downs for me were;

Housekeeping came in after first night and tidied but left used coffee cup by bed
Robe was like cardboard and well worn
Common areas are a little small making the hotel feel a little cramped when busy

Otherwise it was good.

The food is excellent and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Would stay again for sure.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank fozzibeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent 5 days at this hotel. This was my 2nd and 3rd time staying at the hotel. I had a one day break between stays in the same week.

My first room was small, but efficient, the second one was more spacious since it was on the HHonors floor, but the TV was quite old, not a flat screen.

Overall the tront desk staff was helpful and friendly. There were a few trainees on duty while I was there and they seem to multitask, the person who greeted me at the entrance to the hotel also delivered my room service.

Room service was OK, decent wine selection and desserts. I also ate at the restaurant twice, once for lunch and once for dinner. It seems to be a popular place for lunch since I was told that it was completely booked for lunch and was offered the option to eat at the bar or squeeze in at the long bar/table at the center of the restaurant. The special menu for lunch was good and good value. I wouldn't have dinner again, the wine I was given tasted like vinegar so I did not drink it and the service was extremely slow, almost nonexistent.

There's not much around the hotel, except for other hotels and a mall. I needed to wander out for breakfast each morning since the hotel's breakfast was expensive, I think around 30 euros. I walked for 20 minutes before finding something that was open before 8 amAfter 8 am, . the area comes to life.

The hotel is in walking distance to Grand Place and a train station I think Gare du Nord.

There are steps to get to the elevator which can be a pain if you have a lot of luggage. I also got stuck in the elevator once during my stay. It is also being refurbished so there was netting on the outside of the hotel.

Overall, quite different than my first stay there and after the third time all in all, a decent place to stay in Brussels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kh214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

stayed one night on March 31 and I really enjoyed my room. Although I did't have enough time to spend in the room, while there, I really liked having a huge flat screen across from my huge bed which was very comfortable.

Location is a big advantage as well with a 3 min walk from the north train station and a mere 15 min from the Grand Place.

My flight was leaving late in the afternoon so I asked if I could have a late check out which was gladly given to me(3 pm) - thank you.

This is my hotel on my next visit to Brussels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skinjo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Hotel is being refurbished and I got, perhaps because of the agreement with my company's broker, an old room with no view if not to the EU offices in front of the window.
Should you need to stay for a longer time, it would be better to check room availability.

Nonetheless, breakfast was good and service excellent. The location is less than five minutes walk from North Station, so less than 20 minutes from the airport if you prefer not to use a taxi.
And a pleasant (straight) stroll in a commercial road will lead you to the Grand Place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frapomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is called the ‘but’ review because this hotel has some great features, but they all seem to come with a ‘but’. I am someone who understands that sometimes people are having a bad day, or there are things that happen outside of a hotel’s control. However during our stay, for every aspect that was good, there was the not so good.

The hotel itself is nice enough BUT it’s unfortunately currently covered in green shadecloth. I would have been unhappy if that was my view.

Our room was a nice enough standard Hilton style BUT when we checked in there were some small stains on the bedcovers and toilet. BUT these had been rectified after housekeeping came through the next day. There is an opening window in the room which was wonderful, BUT the blinds don’t block out the sunlight entirely, and the trains going past on a weekday seem to start very early (and are very noisy!).

A bathrobe and slippers were provided BUT just one set even though the booking was for two.

The breakfast selection was one of the nicest I have ever come across, with a range that would surely please even the fussiest eaters, and included champagne BUT the hot food was not hot – I would describe it as barely warm. Not the nicest way to eat scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages etc. Also it didn’t appear to open as early as advised during the week (as in, people weren’t even setting up. It was completely dark). Luckily there are plenty of options outside of the hotel if you have an early start (we were heading out at about 6.45am).

Matthew on reception could not have been more helpful with everything from check in, advice, and helping with bags BUT Youssef in the bar / restaurant could not have been more – how shall I put this – non-customer focused. We received differing advice on what drinks were available, what time they were available, where we should sit in the restaurant and the service the night we ate in was awful – I think approximately 2 hours for a main course and 2 glasses of wine! That was probably the most disappointing part of our stay as normally I avoid eating in hotels as much as possible and this just reminds me why.

Overall the hotel was fine BUT if I ran a hotel, I’d want it to be fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask to for a room with a view that doesn't include the train lines or the shadecloth
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
506 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

finally a hilton that has a star rating that matches the hotel. the hotel is clean, 5 minute walk from north train station 10-15 walk to grand place. staff were friendly, room was nice bed was comfy and all and all a good three star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
0.7 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le...
#2 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3,847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Plaza
Hotel Le Plaza
#42 of 199 in Brussels
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brussels City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brussels City

Property: Hilton Brussels City
Address: Place Charles Rogier 20 | Sint-Joost-ten-Node, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brussels City 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights•Situated in the heart of Brussels near the Rue Neuve shopping district•A few minutes’ walk from Brussels Gare du Nord station•Close to World Trade Center and popular attractions including Grand Place City Square•Wireless internet access, business center and Scandinavian Wellness and Health Club •Bien Belge Living Lounge restaurant and bar serving Belgian specialties, fine wine and beerSituated in the center of downtown Brussels, within yards of Gare du Nord station and in close proximity to the Rue Neuve shopping district and the World Trade Center, the Hilton Brussels City hotel is the ideal place to stay when you are visiting Belgium’s capital. All the facilities are in place to allow you to remain productive during your stay. With wireless internet access, a business center and a range of meeting rooms you will be able to work with the minimum of hassle.After a busy day in Brussels or a long journey, you can relax and rejuvenate in the Scandinavian Wellness and Health Club and sample the delicious Flemish cuisine on offer in the Bien Belge Living Lounge restaurant and bar. Offering responsive service and stylish contemporary comfort in an enviable location, this Brussels hotel has everything you need to make the most of your stay in one of Europe’s most vibrant cities.Local Attractions •Stroll to Brussels’ famous Grand Place, the center of the Old City’s pavement café culture•Stop in at Marcolini’s Chocolatiers and buy some handmade Belgian chocolates to take home•Experience world class shops located on the Rue Neuve •Visit the Delerium Café•View one of the world’s finest collections of pre-modern art at the Musée d’Art Ancien ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Brussels City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brussels City Hotel Saint-Josse-Ten-Noode
Brussels Hilton
Hilton Brussels City Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing