We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating badly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Brussels City
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Hilton Brussels City hotel. The location was convenient near a metro stop, but off a very busy street and seems to be in maybe a business district. The location does offer a nice walk down a pedestrian street, Rue Nueve, with a lot of shops on your way to the Grand Place. We arrived early but the hotel staff was very nice and took our bags to hold until our room was ready. The lobby of the hotel is very nice and modern, but once we did get to our room we were disappointed. I am used to small hotel rooms in Europe, so that was not a problem. However, the bed was not so much a bed but rather box springs with a very thin rubber- or foam-like pad on top. Not only was it rather uncomfortable, it also had a very VERY bad smell to it. There was a switch or something on the desk that was broken and also an odd square cut out of the ceiling and put back. Our room was in the back of the hotel and we could hear the train running until late. They still have old tube TVs that need to be updated to flat screen. The heating/cooling unit is simply a radiator. The best part of the hotel was the bar, where Yousef entertained us! He is a great asset to an otherwise very average hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back, which was quite noisy due to the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocesweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,203 of 2,468 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Pros: Deluxe room was very spacious, even by American standards, as was the bathroom (plenty of counter space and excellent water pressure in the shower). Quite a few English language channels on the large flat screen TV (4 BBC, CNN, CNBC and Bloomberg at least). The front desk staff was outstanding in their helpfulness and friendliness. The wireless internet access was reasonably fast in the rooms and was free in the lobby (they even have a table in the bar set up with power). Steam room and sauna (very nice for a quick defrost after coming in from the cold) included in the gym. Convenient location adjacent to the Rogier metro station, a couple blocks from the Gare du Nord train station (pretty much a straight line, if you take the Rogier exit), across the street from a Mall (which even has a grocery store in the basement), and about a 10-minute walk to tourist central, the Grote Markt.
Cons: Hot water availability in the shower was hit or miss. A curved shower rod that could have made the shower more spacious, was instead mounted too far in and reduced the available space (it may also have contributed to lots of water on the floor because the spray was hitting the curtain too hard). No light switch in the bathroom, so the lights would go on every time you walked by the door, and turn off if you spent too long in the shower (not sure how long it gave you because I wasn't wearing my watch ;-) - of course trying to figure out where everything is in the dark, so you can get out of the shower, just takes a little longer. There was only one power outlet on the desk (couldn't find any other free ones in the room). Breakfast was so-so - the omelet station was never open until requested (tried going later one morning to see if that was it, but no); the scrambled eggs were the standard European runny and not especially hot; nice spread of cheeses and cold buts; loaf breads and pastries were also good; no self-service coffee (and often no one offered any); pet peeve - staked out a table that had one place setting left of 4, with a glass of juice, before getting a plate, and when I returned someone else was sitting there and the table had been refreshed, luckily, the neighboring table had been refreshed also, so only a glass of juice was wasted. The closet was way too short - not even long enough for a man's suit, let alone a dress (luckily I was on vacation, so I didn't bring any).
Bottom line: Would probably stay here again because of the convenient location, the roomy rooms and great front desk staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DragonLady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is well located by Place Rogier and very close to the city centre. Gare du Nord is also close by the hotel and through the Rogier metro station the hotel is well linked to the city. The check in went smooth with very friendly staff, but we thought that it took longer than a check in normally does, until we decided to eat dinner at the hotel restaurant and that took even longer. Though staff continued to be helpful and friendly, while we were waiting to be served. We were also offered vouchers for free drinks. We stayed in both a standard room and a suite, the quality did not differ, apart from the size and the number of cupboards, shelves and TVs. The bathroom was actually bigger in the standard room than in the suite. What was strange was that the price for the standard room was higher than the one for the suite. There also seems to be an obsession with the cleaning staff to enter rooms while you are in the room and ask you questions. The check-out was an even longer story, as the staff in the reception does not care who was in the queue first. Also the morning staff had kind of an arrogant attitude with less smiles, more authoritative, and giving confusing directions, despite the fact that they were a bunch. I got more help from the other guests waiting in the reception than from the staff itself. I would recommend this hotel for its prices, as it is much cheaper than other hotels in the same class range.

Room Tip: Do not get a room next to the elevator as it becomes too noisy and the cleaners tend to leave their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I chose the Hilton because of its closeness to the EC Offices as I was there on business - having made the booking I checked the reviews and began to get quite worried with a number of complaints about the facilities and the staff. Having now stayed there for five days I have had a really positive experience. The staff, all quite young, were extremely helpful and pleasant. The room was a little small but not too bad for a city centre hotel - the one downside of the small size was the tiny wardrobe hanging space - but with a little ingenuity we overcame that obstacle. Breakfast was a little pricey but of a very high standard and here again the staff were very helpful. Apart from being close to the EC offices the location of the Hilton is perfect - very close to shops, stores, restaurants and bars. The only criticism we had came at the end of our stay when we found out that the hotel had taken the full cost of our stay from us - despite the fact that we had prepaid!! So, be careful when you give them your credit card details.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and they arranged this without fuss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cfab777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I chose the Hilton because of its closeness to the EC Offices as I was there on business - having made the booking I checked the reviews and began to get quite worried with a number of complaints about the facilities and the staff. Having now stayed there for five days I have had a really positive experience. The staff, all quite young, were extremely helpful and pleasant. The room was a little small but not too bad for a city centre hotel - the one downside of the small size was the tiny wardrobe hanging space - but with a little ingenuity we overcame that obstacle. Breakfast was a little pricey but of a very high standard and here again the staff were very helpful. Apart from being close to the EC offices the location of the Hilton is perfect - very close to shops, stores, restaurants and bars. The only criticism we had came at the end of our stay when we found out that the hotel had taken the full cost of our stay from us - despite the fact that we had prepaid!! So, be careful when you give them your credit card details.

Room Tip: I had asked for a quiet room and they arranged for this perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CfabEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great location, metro just outside but evrything within walking distance.
The room was small but had everything you needed.
The bar was very expensive (10 euros for a vodka) and breakfast was really poor, food tureens half empty at best or just empty, no coffee or tea offered, neither were we shown to a table or did we get shown around to establish where things were.
At one point there were no clean tables at all.
On complaining we were told that they were short staffed, like that was supposed to make us wither away.
I would expect better at a Hilton,not sure if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magoo8014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is well located, by Place Rogier, in the center of the city, near metro station (Rogier) and train station (Gare du nord: connection in 15' to the airport). The quality standard is the one of Hilton hotels: good service, nice rooms and good food. There are less expensive hotels in Brussels for in this price range it's a very good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing place Rogier and in the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerTorrenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le...
#2 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,978 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4,031 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#72 of 199 in Brussels
2,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brussels City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brussels City

Address: Place Charles Rogier 20, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range: $99 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brussels City 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights•Situated in the heart of Brussels near the Rue Neuve shopping district•A few minutes’ walk from Brussels Gare du Nord station•Close to World Trade Center and popular attractions including Grand Place City Square•Wireless internet access, business center and Scandinavian Wellness and Health Club •Bien Belge Living Lounge restaurant and bar serving Belgian specialties, fine wine and beerSituated in the center of downtown Brussels, within yards of Gare du Nord station and in close proximity to the Rue Neuve shopping district and the World Trade Center, the Hilton Brussels City hotel is the ideal place to stay when you are visiting Belgium’s capital. All the facilities are in place to allow you to remain productive during your stay. With wireless internet access, a business center and a range of meeting rooms you will be able to work with the minimum of hassle.After a busy day in Brussels or a long journey, you can relax and rejuvenate in the Scandinavian Wellness and Health Club and sample the delicious Flemish cuisine on offer in the Bien Belge Living Lounge restaurant and bar. Offering responsive service and stylish contemporary comfort in an enviable location, this Brussels hotel has everything you need to make the most of your stay in one of Europe’s most vibrant cities.Local Attractions •Stroll to Brussels’ famous Grand Place, the center of the Old City’s pavement café culture•Stop in at Marcolini’s Chocolatiers and buy some handmade Belgian chocolates to take home•Experience world class shops located on the Rue Neuve •Visit the Delerium Café•View one of the world’s finest collections of pre-modern art at the Musée d’Art Ancien ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Brussels City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brussels City Hotel Saint-Josse-Ten-Noode
Brussels Hilton
Hilton Brussels City Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing