We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the lift from hell”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Siru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Siru
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“the lift from hell”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

the rooms are compact and clean no kettle so you must wait for breakfast .breakfast is supplyed by the hotel nextdoor and if you stay more than 2 days this runs out .we arived by coach and was shocked by the lift no more than 2 people at a time so you can imagin the time it takes to empty 104 people so if you are on a coach trip bewere

Room Tip: lower floors can be reached by stair case ;/
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, Directeur général at Hotel Siru, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mick F,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Siru with us.

We are glad to read that you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms.

At Hotel Siru, upon arrival, the guests can access their room by using 1 of the 2 elevators, which have a total capacity of six people, or the stairs, easily accessible.

The Continental Breakfast buffet is composed of a large variety of bread and pastries as well as cereals, cheese, delicatessen and scramble eggs.

Actually, our breakfast area is located just next to the recreation/games room and is shared with our other hotel called “Hotel des Colonies”.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you again at Hotel Siru.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    120
    151
    47
    31
See reviews for
26
111
29
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pancevo, Serbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Although good location in Brussels, the hotel is quite average and nothing special. The room was nice and clean, but I was freezing (although the heating was on!). At moments, it looked as if the hotel is not finished, because there are so many little things broken or old. The breakfast was good and the service was ok, but the staff is generally not very interested in making your stay better.
Ok if you're in a hurry through Brussels and stay for one night, but I would not recommend it for longer stays.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YuffieLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel Siru, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear YuffieLeo,

First of all, thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience at the Siru Hotel with us.

We are glad to read that you appreciated the cleanliness of the rooms and the central location.
Please be assured that we took your comments into consideration and have talked to our front office department concerning the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff in order to avoid any reoccurrence in the future.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon at Hotel Siru for your next visit in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

After reading the reviews from other users of the hotel I thought I should give this place a try. I had already prepared myself for a 'noisy' night as some reviewers had warned. Well, it was quiet, comfortable and pleasant. Although I had not requested a specific room before my arrival, I was given a non-street facing room and this was the best. I could not hear any noise from the passing traffic and the night was very peaceful. The only noise was from the plumbing pipes when my upstairs neighbor flushed the toilet and used the shower - but really, this was okay.
I would stay here again, especially when in Brussels for business - it is central, easy to reach, accessible to public transport and near a very good shopping centre. Thank you Hotel Siru :)
Nthabi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nthabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel Siru, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Nthabi,

First of all, thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience at Hotel Siru with us.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Siru as well as its central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Siru for your next visit in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is is a quite small hotel with not too many facilities but with a large enough clean room with sufficient bathroom and wifi. Ideal if you stay there for business or any other activity such that you just need to use the hotel to rest and sleep. Is near the Sheraton and the Hilton but at a fraction of the price so decide on what you spend your money!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIR54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, Directeur général at Hotel Siru, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Fir54,

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your recent stay at hotel Siru.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness and the comfort of your room, and also the central location of our establishment.

We hope to welcome you again at Hotel Siru during your next visit in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Expensive compared to the average in the city, small, short and uncomfortable beds, noise and slow check in process .. I would never stay there again, but the breakfast was average and the place was clean, stay somewhere else..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakoblunoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel Siru, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Jakoblunoe,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at hotel Siru.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and that our breakfast buffet met your expectations.
Regarding the inconveniences you had to cope with, be assured that we have passed your comments to all the concerned departments in order to avoid such reoccurrence in future.
Despite your disappointment, we truly hope to have the chance to welcome you again, during a next stay at Hotel Siru, to prove you that your comments had be taken into consideration.
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in Brussels and this one should be avoided. It was not cheap, there was a rather unpleasant chap on arrival. I was asked to pay on arrival which should have set the bells ringing. There is no air conditioning and if you open the window it is on an exceptionally busy square, noise all night.
The room is basic and there are no drink offerings in the room. This wouldnt be too bad if it wasnt for the fact you pay 3.5 Euros for a bottle of water, i pay that in 4 star hotels and this one isnt.
The lift is pathetic!
And to top it off there was a terrible stench coming from the plugs in the bathroom.
All in all not a hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here do not go for the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel Siru, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Seran T,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience at Hotel Siru.

We are very sorry that you were disappointed by your stay and we sincerely regret that the delivered service didn’t meet your expectations.
We can assure you that your feedback will seriously be taken into consideration so that further action can be completed in order to improve the quality of our hotel.
Despite your disappointment, we hope that you will give us the chance, during a next stay at Hotel Siru, to prove you that we take actions in order to deliver a better service quality.
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hotl Siru was recommended through a eurostar hotel and train fare deal. The hotel is in perfect walking distance to Brussels North Station (less than 5 mins) as well as the main centre of shops, pubs and bars.

Be warned the 'queen rooms' are composed of two single mattresses. Rooms are very small, so don't consider booking if you are looking for a spacious hotel to relax in!!

Rooms were cleaned daily, although found the surfaces and curtains dusty every day. Shower facilities however are good.

Our room was facing the main square and we found it quite noisy (even with windows closed) at night and early in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yau12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel Siru, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Yau12,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent stay at hotel Siru.

IT is a pleasure for us to read that you had appreciate the central location of our establishmentand the cleanliness of your room.

We hope to welcome you again at hote l Siru during your next visit in Brussels


Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Colonies
Hotel des Colonies
#8 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels City
Hilton Brussels City
#4 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#57 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#99 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siru

Property: Hotel Siru
Address: Rue des Croisades 2, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Siru 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BUDGET – TRENDY – BUSINESSThe Hotel Siru Brussels is a unique property, convenient for your business visits, family and lovers city breaks, and for all your leisure trips. The history of this hotel goes back to the 18th century, when coaches and barouches stopped at the Saint-Jean Hotel which served as a love getaway for Arthur Rimbaud and Paul Verlaine. The building is today one of the oldest buildings in the city of Brussels, and more particularly one of the oldest hotels still in activity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Siru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Brussels
Comfort Inn Brussels
Hotel Siru Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing