We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN City Centre
England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I hadn't expected too much from my stay at the Best Western (it was a last minute booking) but I was pleasantly surprised. I was greeted by a welcoming receptionist who quickly checked me in. The hotel is in between the Botanique and Rogier tube stops which you can easily get to from the Eurostar station on tube line 2 in the direction of Simonis.

The rooms are basic but warm and clean. Breakfast is served downstairs from 7am and is a selection of cereal, yoghurts, breads / pastries - again basic but perfectly adequate. There is free wifi in the reception area and I think there was also free tea and coffee. I would definitely stay again if I was looking for a centrally located budget hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    86
    126
    45
    27
See reviews for
45
90
41
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

it was ok, not very special, the breakfast was ok too.
we were two persons.
it was ok, not very special, the breakfast was ok too.
we were two persons.
it was ok, not very special, the breakfast was ok too.
we were two persons.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Hazem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad hotel. Decent breakfast buffet. Bit depressing and shady neighbourhood, but the hotel itself was decent. Room was noisier than I would have thought, but doable for a night. Wifi gave voor signal but didn't really give a decent browsing speed or Skype connection. As mentioned... Judging by some of the earlier reviews possibly I lucked out by being put in an Executive room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ACJdeVette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Brussels was busy, so paid 370 euros via expedia for a smelly worn out prison cell. Very poor.reasonably clean but overriding smell of smoke in a non smoking room didnt make for a good nights sleep. Would have left but the hotel takes full payment on check in and everywhere else was full...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels

Porto, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed three nights at Best Western City Centre in June. We made the reservation directly with the hotel via email. At the check-in we were told we didn't have any reservation. I insisted that we had and showed the email confirmation. After 15 minutes of searching for our reservation, while telling us first that the reservation was indeed only a inquiry of availability and then that it was only for a single room, the receptionist finally told us that we were correct and that we had indeed a reservation. Not one apology for the trouble, not one smile. This rude behaviour would continue throughout our stay, particularly from what appeared to be the front desk manager.

Althought we were given a twin room and not a double the room itself is adequate and clean. We had no problems with the bed or pillows. One of the sheets had what seemed to be cigarette burns. The minibar was empty. The shower towels were so thin they looked like rags and the internet didn't work.

Despite of the name the Hotel is far from being in the city centre. Located 5 minutes from Gare du Nord it was good for us as we planned to visit Ghent and Brugge.

In conclusion: we would not stay at this hotel again mainly because of the rudeness and unfriendliness showed by the staff. I'm sure if we ever visit brussels again we will find better options.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel chosen because (a) Best Western and (b) name Best Western City Centre Hotel. Not up to usual Best Western Standard and certainly not city centre. At least 30 minutes walk to Grand Place. 5 minutes from Brussels Gare Nord railway station. If arriving in Gare Nord watch exit you use. Do not use a main entrance but that to the rear of the station at the far end of the accesses to the platforms away from the concourse. Another tip, if you are over 65 and going to say Bruges, tell the ticket office your age and you get huge concessions. For example, usual fare 30 Euros return, concession 6 Euros! Perhaps hotel staff should advise clients of this. Hotel, including bathroom, was clean. Breakfast adequate. Not a well stocked bar. They had no Bicardi! Staff friendly and helpful but do state Grand Place is 15 minutes away. Yes, at a sprint. As reported in another review staff didn’t know where the Hop on Hop off bus could be picked up. One of the buses (there are two, route 1 and route 2) stops relatively near the hotel. The woman I took as being owner or manager was a disgrace and not at all friendly, in fact quite hostile to the staff, but thankfully she seemed to only appear later on in the evening keeping her eye on her staff! Wifi was intermittent. Not a bad price for what you get I suppose but in a run down area currently being developed. Don’t think too safe for women on their own!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a four night break 6th-10th June.

Only booked an ordinary room and this turned out to be on the first floor at the front of the building looking out onto the police station. Had the window open at night as the weather was warm and was not troubled with any noise at all. The room itself was more than adequate with a large comfortable double bed and a very clean bathroom and the water was always hot.

They do provide you with a kettle and cups to make a cup of tea or coffee in your room, all was fine until we tried to make a drink and found out that we had..........

Ipk of earl grey tea.
2pk of coffee
7pk of sugar
no milk powder
no spoon

You would think that housekeeping would check the quantities match up.

Breakfast was good but the scrambled egg does tend to run out, we did ask for it to be replaced but felt the woman who oversees the breakfast could be a little more pleasent.
The coffee comes out of a machine and is the worse coffee I have ever had.

Reception staff are very good and nothing is to much trouble to them, all speak good English.

Its true that this hotel is about an half hours walk into the centre of Brussels and is not in a very good area but for what you pay it is not a bad hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyderbyshire37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royal Centre
1.1 mi away
Bedford Hotel & Congress Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Floris Ustel Midi
Floris Ustel Midi
#2 of 6 in Anderlecht
3.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#101 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN City Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN City Centre
Address: 9 Square Victoria Regina, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels B-1210, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Centre Hotel Saint-Josse-Ten-Noode
BEST WESTERN City Centre Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing