We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Welburn Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$175
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burythorpe House(Burythorpe)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
$140
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
$100
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
$137
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel(Huby)(Great Value!)
$80
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
166
1
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
1
1
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 169 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Stella and Steve are charming hosts. They renewed our faith in British hospitality.
A lovely welcome, A good nights rest in a very comfortable atmospheric room, and a super breakfast completed our lovely break. Very clean and organized. And a beautiful location to unwind.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Booking was easy. Stella answered the phone, was very friendly and chatted about where to eat and what to see in the area. Our booking was followed by a confirmation e-mail. Their website is pretty good too. We stayed in the Minster Room and it was spotless - with very comfortable bed, power shower and a shelf of DVDs just outside the room. We arrived in bad weather but the room was warm as was the welcome. Stella and Steve clearly take pride in their 'baby' and it shows in every detail. The interior design is brilliant. The award winning breakfast was great - the B&B itself has won the Gold Award which is the highest in the 4 star B&B category - awarded by the national tourist authority. It is walking distance from Castle Howard and about 20 minutes into the centre of York. A peaceful place to stay with lots of character and really friendly owners. We would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Welburn Lodge looks good. However, it is very close to a main road. The priory room is very nice, looking out over the garden but it has a very musty, damp smell even in the height of summer! Breakfast is very good and close to Castle Howerd

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelburnLodgeDotCom, Owner at Welburn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2010

We are sorry to learn that this reviewer was unhappy about their stay at Welburn Lodge. We always ask our guests during their visit and on check out if they were comfortable and satisfied with our service. As a small and very personal operation we would have recalled any negative comments and acted upon them immediately. We have never been made aware of any such problems in any of our rooms since we opened five years ago.

We are very approachable and work hard to ensure that everyone enjoys their time with us. It’s a pity that this guest didn’t give us the opportunity to address any issues at the time, or even contact us soon afterwards to make us aware of their dissatisfaction.

In answer the comment regarding the proximity to the main road. We make this fact perfectly clear on our website and the detailed map we provide for our guests. For the vast majority this poses no problem and makes us easy to find and reach by car or public transport. Our location is also convenient to visit the many popular visitor attractions in our area.

Although we are saddened to have read this less than perfect viewpoint of Welburn Lodge we are reassured by the consistent compliments that we receive on a daily basis. During June this year we had a mystery guest inspection from ‘Visit Britain’ that resulted in an accolade of a 4 Star Gold Award, reserved for the very highest quality of accommodation and service plus a Breakfast Award. We are very proud and pleased with this recent achievement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Stayed here for three nights in July / 10 Excellent hosts superb accomadation, great breakfast, what more can i say. While we were there they even ran the IItalian flag up for a lady stopping with her English husband, great little touches that show they put a lot of thought into making your stay as perfect as possible.Welburn lodge is on the main York road and lthough we had the room at the front we never noticed traffic noise. Great place to stay for Castle Howard a day out that must be one of the best in the country. Malton only four miles up the road York thirteen the other way. Great Indian restuarant three miles down the road and a further four miles an excellent fish and chip retaurant. Dined in the local pub in Welburn a good twenty minute walk if you fancy a pint or two and don't want to take the car. all in all a great few days break , just wish Stella & Steve all the luck in whatever the future holds,

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jondrakecarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

In september 2009 we had our wedding trip through the UK from Edinburgh to London. After a night in Haworth we went to Welburn Lodge near Castle Howard and about 10 miles from York. When I booked it on the internet I got a really nice mail back from Stella, with a few attached PDF files with restaurants, places of interest and tips for what we could visit on our way to Welburn lodge. We arrived late in the afternoon, because we visited Fountains Abbey on the way (lovely)……, first thing we noticed was the Dutch flag hanging out….!! Yes, Stella and Steve really bought the Dutch three-colour to give us a very warm welcome (see pictures) . Well, they succeeded!!! Stella showed us our lovely room. As it is said on the website, the front room is directly on a very busy road, that leads from York to Scarborough (A 64) A moment we were afraid of the noise, but it wasn’t a problem at all, because in the night it is really quiet and the room has double glass bay windows.
It was immediately a very warm and safe feeling. We had to find a place to get some food, but we were a bit late for that. Stella called a befriended pub in Welburn and though the pub was booked for a big private party there, she arranged that we could eat something in the pub. We went walking in the dark, but Stella and Steve do have the wind-up flashlights working perfectly. In the late evening we watched the short version of “Brideshead revisited”. There is a big cupboard full with great movies on DVD, whith a very good choice. After a good night of rest we went to the breakfast room downstairs. There are three tables. One for every bedroom. A few minutes later a women and another couple, (celebrating 5 years of marriage) joined us. Everybody introduced themselves, which is very nice, because you really have contact with each other. Breakfast is very good and they can make what you wish. Stella and Steve are lovely people. On our wedding trip we stayed at eight places in total, but Welburn lodge was the best place of the whole trip. Welburn Lodge is what one expect when booking a B&B. It is a lovely house, adorable people and beautiful surroundings. You cannot come closer to Castle Howard. We would certainly book it again in the future. Dear Stella and Steve, thank you so much again !!X

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolfenerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews