We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hospitality at its best”
Review of Welburn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welburn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Welburn B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hospitality at its best”
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Stella and Steve are charming hosts. They renewed our faith in British hospitality.
A lovely welcome, A good nights rest in a very comfortable atmospheric room, and a super breakfast completed our lovely break. Very clean and organized. And a beautiful location to unwind.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
122
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Booking was easy. Stella answered the phone, was very friendly and chatted about where to eat and what to see in the area. Our booking was followed by a confirmation e-mail. Their website is pretty good too. We stayed in the Minster Room and it was spotless - with very comfortable bed, power shower and a shelf of DVDs just outside the room. We arrived in bad weather but the room was warm as was the welcome. Stella and Steve clearly take pride in their 'baby' and it shows in every detail. The interior design is brilliant. The award winning breakfast was great - the B&B itself has won the Gold Award which is the highest in the 4 star B&B category - awarded by the national tourist authority. It is walking distance from Castle Howard and about 20 minutes into the centre of York. A peaceful place to stay with lots of character and really friendly owners. We would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Welburn Lodge looks good. However, it is very close to a main road. The priory room is very nice, looking out over the garden but it has a very musty, damp smell even in the height of summer! Breakfast is very good and close to Castle Howerd

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelburnLodgeDotCom, Owner at Welburn Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2010
We are sorry to learn that this reviewer was unhappy about their stay at Welburn Lodge. We always ask our guests during their visit and on check out if they were comfortable and satisfied with our service. As a small and very personal operation we would have recalled any negative comments and acted upon them immediately. We have never been made aware of any such problems in any of our rooms since we opened five years ago.

We are very approachable and work hard to ensure that everyone enjoys their time with us. It’s a pity that this guest didn’t give us the opportunity to address any issues at the time, or even contact us soon afterwards to make us aware of their dissatisfaction.

In answer the comment regarding the proximity to the main road. We make this fact perfectly clear on our website and the detailed map we provide for our guests. For the vast majority this poses no problem and makes us easy to find and reach by car or public transport. Our location is also convenient to visit the many popular visitor attractions in our area.

Although we are saddened to have read this less than perfect viewpoint of Welburn Lodge we are reassured by the consistent compliments that we receive on a daily basis. During June this year we had a mystery guest inspection from ‘Visit Britain’ that resulted in an accolade of a 4 Star Gold Award, reserved for the very highest quality of accommodation and service plus a Breakfast Award. We are very proud and pleased with this recent achievement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Stayed here for three nights in July / 10 Excellent hosts superb accomadation, great breakfast, what more can i say. While we were there they even ran the IItalian flag up for a lady stopping with her English husband, great little touches that show they put a lot of thought into making your stay as perfect as possible.Welburn lodge is on the main York road and lthough we had the room at the front we never noticed traffic noise. Great place to stay for Castle Howard a day out that must be one of the best in the country. Malton only four miles up the road York thirteen the other way. Great Indian restuarant three miles down the road and a further four miles an excellent fish and chip retaurant. Dined in the local pub in Welburn a good twenty minute walk if you fancy a pint or two and don't want to take the car. all in all a great few days break , just wish Stella & Steve all the luck in whatever the future holds,

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jondrakecarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2010

In september 2009 we had our wedding trip through the UK from Edinburgh to London. After a night in Haworth we went to Welburn Lodge near Castle Howard and about 10 miles from York. When I booked it on the internet I got a really nice mail back from Stella, with a few attached PDF files with restaurants, places of interest and tips for what we could visit on our way to Welburn lodge. We arrived late in the afternoon, because we visited Fountains Abbey on the way (lovely)……, first thing we noticed was the Dutch flag hanging out….!! Yes, Stella and Steve really bought the Dutch three-colour to give us a very warm welcome (see pictures) . Well, they succeeded!!! Stella showed us our lovely room. As it is said on the website, the front room is directly on a very busy road, that leads from York to Scarborough (A 64) A moment we were afraid of the noise, but it wasn’t a problem at all, because in the night it is really quiet and the room has double glass bay windows.
It was immediately a very warm and safe feeling. We had to find a place to get some food, but we were a bit late for that. Stella called a befriended pub in Welburn and though the pub was booked for a big private party there, she arranged that we could eat something in the pub. We went walking in the dark, but Stella and Steve do have the wind-up flashlights working perfectly. In the late evening we watched the short version of “Brideshead revisited”. There is a big cupboard full with great movies on DVD, whith a very good choice. After a good night of rest we went to the breakfast room downstairs. There are three tables. One for every bedroom. A few minutes later a women and another couple, (celebrating 5 years of marriage) joined us. Everybody introduced themselves, which is very nice, because you really have contact with each other. Breakfast is very good and they can make what you wish. Stella and Steve are lovely people. On our wedding trip we stayed at eight places in total, but Welburn lodge was the best place of the whole trip. Welburn Lodge is what one expect when booking a B&B. It is a lovely house, adorable people and beautiful surroundings. You cannot come closer to Castle Howard. We would certainly book it again in the future. Dear Stella and Steve, thank you so much again !!X

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolfenerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We have just had a fabulous weekend at Welburn Lodge, Steve and Stella came out to welcome us on arrival and we immediately felt we were with friends. Our room was charmingly decorated in keeping with the Gothic style of the house. The bed was extreemly comfortable and there were lovely big fluffy towels in the bathroom.
The B&B is idealy located for the numerous attractions in the area and there is a nice pub serving good food in the village about a 15 minuites pleasant walk away. We had a lovely walk to the ruins of Kirkham Priory with a superb late lunch at the nearby Stone Trough Public house.
The breakfasts are excellent and cooked fresh to order, nothing seemed too much for our wonderful hosts, thankyou so much for our wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I used to work in the hospitality industry for years, wether in uk or abroad, I'M AMAZED, staying in the welburn lodge was my best experience for the following reasons, everything (building, setting, garden, breakfast, room) was taken care of in a detailed manner and all of these nice things are forgotten about when you are with the warm, welcoming, genuine, kind couple Steve and Stella,
I definatelly recommend for friends, family and every customer not sure about booking

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tunisianboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welburn
4.3 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
4.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#2 of 4 in Malton
495 reviews
3.6 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Suddaby's Crown Hotel
Suddaby's Crown Hotel
#4 of 4 in Malton
21 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ham & Cheese Country Inn
4.9 mi away
The Cresswell Arms
The Cresswell Arms
#1 of 14 in Malton
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welburn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welburn Lodge

Property: Welburn Lodge
Address: Welburn Lodge Castle Howard Station Road, Welburn, Malton YO60 7EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton > Welburn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Welburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to Castle Howard and only 13 miles from the City of York Welburn Lodge is in an enviable location for most of the major visitor attractions of North Yorkshire. Welburn Lodge is a grade II listed property and a fine example of gothic revival architecture. Unlike most B&B's the guest and owners accommodation are completely separate including the enchanting guest garden. Beautifully furnished rooms have individual styles with modern and spacious ensuite facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing