We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
38
68
20
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
38
68
20
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room the river lovely old building third floor place to stay lima town camino
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 131 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

Very poor quality accommodation, even for the price. Bathrooms at least 20 years old with old-fashioned coloured suites, broken shower and soap dish and mouldy sealants. This is a prosperous town in Northern Portugal, with modern vibe, but the Jardim hotel is worse than faded glory. It needs a total makeover. We had no electric sockets by the beds. Just two single sockets were weirdly by the window at floor and waist height. The room was painted all over yellow, so it was like sleeping in a bowl of custard. Beds were hard and double bed on small size with old fashioned bedspread. No duvet. Only positive was relatively clean. Breakfast room depressing. Appalling burnt coffee. Went to cafe right next door, which is also bakery, for excellent coffee/fresh orange juice/croissant after first morning. Could be great hotel, as good location. Needs investment and major refurb. Sorry.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank angela5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

Judging by our experience and the reviews in other languages this hotel has had a recent makeover. So all the old English language reviews are.... Dated?
We thought our room on the third floor overlooking the river had much to commend it. Comfortable bed, decent storage space, refrigerator and a walk in shower.
Some might find the traffic noise intrusive in a front room, but you can keep the windows closed and use the aircon.
The included breakfast was more than enough to get you going, while the breakfast room showed off several of the architectural features of this lovely old building.
While we were there the hotel was full, a recommendation in itself.

Room tip: Room 302 at the front
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis_the_Barman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

The beds were hard and the room was drab. It had the feel of a place that had been patched but not renovated for a long time. We slept OK, and were able to get out and walk by the river. The staff were friendly enough, but nothing great. This is a place to stay over for a night, but I definitely would not recommend basing yourself here for a few days.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank travel1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

We are in our 70's and made a 3 night reservation many months ago prior to travelling from New Zealand. We thought it was a hotel in central Porto but upon arrival in Lisbon we discovered that Jardim Viana Do Costelo was many miles away....about 85 in fact. Although it was described as a non refundable booking our Lisbon hotel receptionist rang on our behalf giving at least 3 days notice advising management of our mistake. Despite correspondence between ourselves and the manager we were told that no refund would be given because quot4"our accounting office are unable to make a refund". We found that explanation rather weak so wrote again suggesting that we could understand why they would charge us for 1 night, their accounting office could surely refund the other 2 nights. We were ignored and have heard nothing more except an offer of 3 nights accommodation during October. We live 22,000 kms away in New Zealand so that is no use to us. We advised them of that fact and urged them to reconsider because we had made a genuine mistake when booking. We did not get a reply and think that is very poor customer service.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kiwi_Classics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile

We slept just for 1night in a twin bedroom my friend and me. Furniture was old and the bathroom ugly. Photos in tripadvisor are not the same as the reality. Even though It is not bad election for the last minute.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank macadan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui S, Gerente at Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Thank you for your review.

I remember having the opportunity to see the room before check in, I remember that this was our last room available and so had a last minute discount. I remember that the city at that time did not have any more rooms available, however we are sensitive to your opinion and we are making an effort to continue remodeling. The photos available on the various platforms are legitimate and we have published photos of the rooms refurbished and not remodeled.

Thank you for your visit, see you soon ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews