We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Tripadvisor reviews helped me choose this hotel for a 2 night stay. In a good central location to the old town this was a gem of a hotel lovely room great views the only fly in the ointment was that we had to fix the shower in the room so it would hold up so we could have a shower. the breakfast was good too. when we booked in there was a large stage almost opposite and sound tests were being held. We waited with bated breath but a band played into the night it was free and was finished at about midnight, this was an added bonus to our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bashbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiSousa81, Manager at Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks for you rate in Trip Advisor. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    58
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
50
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This really does the job and ticks all the boxes. Yes, it is quite traditional and a little old-fashioned. But it's also rare that you see such large, airy and well-appointed rooms. Absolutely everything works and the place is spotless. The location by the river (and the wonderful Dolce Viana pizzeria) is great and it's close to the children's playground too. Its a great place if you want to do what the locals do and enjoy a late evening stroll. The rooms are very quiet and well sound-proofed (double glazing and shutters) All the staff at the hotel were friendly, cheerful and extremely patient with me whenever I tried out my basic Portuguese! We will certainly be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigger42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. We arrived by train (from Spain on our way back to the US) and had no idea where the hotel was. Turned out it was a block from the train station. Great location in a beautiful old city. The people were so nice and helpful. The hotel is quiet and the rooms are basic, very clean, and kind of small. Very inexpensive! Great restaurants nearby. I would go back should I ever return to this charming little city!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni57_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I really liked the Residencial Jardim. It's an old building along the riverfront, a little bit quirky, but spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Staff are pleasant and helpful. While they don't speak English we communicated with ease in school French. Our room was larger than average and overlooked the river-front in the pleasant, historic town of Viana do Castelo. The bed was very comfortable and the room was old-fashioned but in a cheerful way, with dark wood furniture and shutters, welcome safeguards against the heat. There is very efficient air-conditioning there too. I never thought I'd take to a bathroom with porcelain in shades of mango, but somehow, it was appealing. Breakfast was decent too. Well-located and very good value; I'd definitely recommend it.
A word of warning, and nothing at all to do with the hotel, but if you're staying in Viana, don't get hustled into eating at the 'Bingo Café', further down along the waterfront. It masquerades as a good fish restaurant but these guys are at best amateurs and at worst crooks trying to make a quick buck. They present you with two different menus with complicated combinations and pricing systems. We fell for it and had the most expensive and worst meal of our two week tour of Portugal here, nearly sixty euros for what amounted to a few grilled sardines and some squid with salad and boiled potatoes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingmaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent 3 days during the 2012 summer. Nice and very cleaned room, a little bit to small the bathroom but in general it worth the cost because it's cheap. You can have the hill view or the ocean view. Perfect position (anyway Viana it's really small so all the lacations might be ok) and fair breakfast. No wi-fi but free use computer in the reception.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getamove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I did not find any "old charm" in this hotel; but it does look a bit old. I booked it based on good reviews and thought it would be something very nice. Well, it was ok definitely but next time I would try another place for a change.
The location is very good - near the river front; 1 min walk from the ferry to get you to the beach; 5 min walk from train / bus station.
The staff was nice and friendly, both at the reception and in breakfast room.
The breakfast was quite simple but there are some choices (fruits, cereal, ham and cheese sandwich).
The room was spacious but on the dark side.
Overall, it was a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anchi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is a very pleasant and well run hotel. Our room facing the front had very effective double glazing, so we were never bothered by street noise, and good air con and also a wall fan.
The room was spacious and cool, with solid shutters at the windows, so we slept well.
The beds were comfortable, the room nicely furnished. The bathroom was old-fashioned (I liked it!) but everything worked well, it was well equipped and had a good shower and bath.
It was very good value. Breakfast was a very good buffet with lots of fruits and choice. My only niggle was we only had 3 clothes-hangers, we asked for more, but they never arrived.
It was a genuine oversight, I'm sure. Everything else was very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SylvieNeedleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viana do Castelo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laranjeira
Hotel Laranjeira
#5 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#3 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rali Viana
Hotel Rali Viana
#11 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel do Parque
Hotel do Parque
#13 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
244 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel A Ponte
Hotel A Ponte
#10 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel
#8 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo

Property: Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo
Address: Alameda 5 de Outubro 68, Viana do Castelo 4900-515, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historic centre of Viana do Castelo, Jardim is set in a listed building providing picturesque views. Enjoy the colourful décor of its rooms overlooking Lima River, the city centre or the mountains. Each of the units combines classic features with modern TVs with satellite channels.There is a couch and a work desk, as well as en-suite bathrooms. Some open out on to private balconies with iron work. Breakfast is served daily in the atmospheric dining hall and is composed of a varied savoury and sweet selection. Staff at the 24-hour reception can also recommend noted restaurants of central Viana. The mountain is reachable via a panoramic elevator, less than 2 km away from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing