We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and perfect location”
Review of Hotel Laranjeira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Laranjeira
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and perfect location”
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and had a really nice time. The furnishings are very modern and the rooms were really clean. The staff were all fantastic-super helpful and friendly. The location is perfect, located off the main street, around the corner from the main town square and a 5 minute walk from the train station and from the ferry that takes you to a great beach. Breakfast was decent and our room had a very nice view. The only problem with the hotel (and this is something which seems to becoming more popular since this is the second hotel I’ve stayed in this year that had this), is that the bathroom with the toilet and shower had a see through glass sliding wall that separated it from the sleeping area. Although it looks very nice, it’s not very practical especially if you are sharing the room with someone who is not your partner!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    77
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
141
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed at Residencial Laranjeira for a couple of nights on a short trip from Porto. We loved it. The staff really make the place special, with loads of friend advice and help. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the rooms themsevles are nice, indeed the photos do not do the hotel justice at all.

Breakfast was great, the staff just kept binging more and more and I almost felt guilty leaving without finishing it all.

The overall feel is of a modern hotel, with great staff in a fantastic location.

Walls in the bedroom were a little thin and the rooms weren't huge but I can't say this caused any problems at all and I slept well here.

Viana is a great place, I wish in a way i had spent a day or two more here and a day or two less in Porto.

Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom_craggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed 3 nights in room 206.The website doesn't do the hotel justice at all. Rooms are very contemporary and comfortable. Breakfasts are filling and tasty - lovely breakfast staff. In an excellent location - a stone's throw from the train station and 2 minute walk from the sea front. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Everything spotlessly clean - really spotless! Our room was cleaned every day to an amazing standard, and I'm really finicky about cleaning. Wi fi didn't work in our room but did in the reception area which was fine. We paid 75 euro per night - I'd highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scallions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Great, affordable hotel recently refurbished in a contemporary style. Very friendly, accommodating and helpful staff. Within 1 minute's walk from the railway station and town centre, the hotel is located just off the main street in the historic part of this lovely town.

They think about the Planet too - most of the lights are are motion controlled.

I stayed there for 3 nights in June 2009 & would return at the drop of a hat.

Easy (and cheap) journey from Porto Airport to Viana by Metro (direct from airport arrivals) to Campanha railway station (30 mins) and from there, train to Viana (1hr 30 - 2hr 10 depending on need to change at Nine). Spotless trains.

Helpful?
6 Thank PetalBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 7, 2006

This small hotel, managed by a family is the perfet place in the center of town to sleep well and to eat. What would you like to know in Viana do Castelo and region they will explain to you. The hospitality and the friendship are the best in town.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viana do Castelo hotels
0.3 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#4 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Char...
#2 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rali Viana
Hotel Rali Viana
#9 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo
Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo
#15 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel
#7 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
#6 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laranjeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laranjeira

Property: Hotel Laranjeira
Address: Rua Candido dos Reis 45, Viana do Castelo 4900-082, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Laranjeira 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique Laranjeira Hotel is set in the heart of Viana do Castelo, just 500 metres from the Atlantic Ocean. It offers rooms with free internet and panoramic views of the area. The air-conditioned rooms at Hotel Laranjeira combine minimalist design with modern amenities. They overlook Viana do Castelo and Saint Luzia, and offer a flat-screen TV with cable channels. The private bathrooms have free toiletries. Some rooms feature a balcony. The Laranjeira serves a rich breakfast consisting of various continental dishes. There is also a bar serving refreshing drinks and sweet and savoury snacks, and room service is available. Guests can rent a bicycle from the hotel and explore Viana do Castelo's winding streets and rich heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laranjeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing