We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Sr Bife Restaurante
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 5, 2018 via mobile

We ate here on a Monday evening, the place wasn’t busy so we were a little jubious but actually the whole experience far exceeded expectations. High quality steak which was well cooked, lovely setting. Friendly staff AND reasonably priced.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank bridiecurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 195 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2018 via mobile

Hi, visited the sr bife on a tuesday evening.
A nice little place on the quay side . I ordered the tenderloin; Good quality meat, but sadly it was not fried to perfection.
In the centre it was raw and to the sides medium done ( i ordered it medium ).
And I must have got it wrong on the menu because it was served with only potato chips and a minimum of sauce. The service was Good quality, Price was ok. I will recommend the place, if they get the steak right next time.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank DanT1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

We found Sr. Bife from a Yelp search. Family owned and run establishment on the river of Viana do Castelo. It was the beginning of the off season, (a wonderful point to consider..) and the restaurant was not busy. The woman, (wish I remembered her name,) matriarch of the establishment I believe, was uber helpful. She brought three different bottles of wine to our table to view over, giving some explanation of each, (English was not her first language, but as I have found in Portugal, this does not defer this wonderful nation to help out their customers.) The wine, as shown, was fantastic. We started off with a sausage appetizer that we shared. She explained after we had eaten that this was blood sausage. I probably would never have ordered it if I had known. It was actually delicious with a rich smokiness. Our main was their surf and turf. Large steak portion, with shrimp atop wonderful creamy mashed potatoes. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Service
    • Food
Thank filebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

We tried to go to another restaurant we had heard was amazing, but it was packed and had a waiting list a mile long.....so we decided to wander the neighborhood and see what else was available. We stumbled upon this place and were a bit worried that it was only half full (we are from NYC and it was already 8:45 pm, but we didn't realize the Portuguese don't eat until 9:00 - 9:30ish). So we looked it up on Trip Advisor. The reviews were promising and we took the advice of several reviewers. We ordered the cod pastries and grilled shrimp with garlic.....both were amazing! Then we ordered the grilled sardines and the pork w/ clams. Wow!!!! The flavors of both dishes were so clean, fresh and simple. We asked for more bread to soak up the sauce of the pork w/ clam dish bc it was sooooooo delicious! The white sangria was a great pairing with everything. Then we shared the bolo de bolacha dessert....holy schmoly good! If you are in Lisbon, you have to go here. The food is unbelievable and the service is warm, friendly and not to be missed!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank mindyhwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

We decided on Sr. Bife after a small amount of research and a desire to eat a decent steak. We were not disappointed. Attentive, genuine staff with steak cooked perfectly as requested. We were also given good tips on wine. Reccomend the Land & Sea Steak (Sirloin & Shrimp).

Recommended.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank KrisKJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sr Bife Restaurante also viewed

Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
 
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
 
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
 

Been to Sr Bife Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing