We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bargain with a view”
Review of Hotel do Parque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel do Parque
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
New Jersey
Level Contributor
154 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A bargain with a view”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel is nothing special. Clean, contemporary basic rooms, some with a great view of the river. The establishment is near most of the tourist attractions in Viana. it's located next to the
river only a few blocks from the center of town. This place is also near the crossing bridge
when exiting Viana. And knowing Viana do Castelo's daily traffic this is a good thing.
I recommend eating in town, an example "O tres Potes".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penhadafranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    81
    64
    26
    17
See reviews for
63
93
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was the most reasonably priced decent hotel in Viana do Castelo when I searched for accommodation. I did read comments that it looked old. In fact, when I first arrived, I was a bit taken aback by the dated look of the reception area. However, the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. She let us check in early and explained to us how to get to town. She said that it's about 10 minutes on foot but it really will take about 20-25 minutes. Still, it was a comfortable walk as the promenade was sheltered by old trees on the 2 sides.

When we got into the room, it was a totally different story. It has been nicely renovated and really felt cosy. We had a great night of sleep.

There were ample free parking spaces which we loved because most of the hotels closer to town charge you a fortune to put your car in the garage. Internet is not free but only 2 Euro. Many people complained about the breakfast but for the price we paid, we were very happy. There were coffee, tea, milk and juice, cereal, bread, cheese and ham. I have no complaint. If people want an extravagant breakfast, they can pay 3 times more and go into a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
340 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel was friendly, good English spoken by helpful staff. The pools looked good, but the weather wasn't up to it.

Large room with good air conditioning

It's not a very long walk into town but it does involve crossing a number of busy roads, so it's not a pleasant experience. On the other hand Viana was horrid to drive in so keeping out of the centre in the car is no bad thing.

Large breakfast room but pretty basic fare and the juice was that watered down stuff. Plenty of food available though and in a buffet style.

The hotel did seem to have a tendency towards coach parties.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

When I arrive to the hotel, I immediately notice is old aspect but the lady at the reception was kind and the room was comfortable. The problem was that when I returned after my dinner to the hotel (10.40pm) at the reception nobody was. I waited for 10m more or less and during the time I ringed the bell. After this period the same lady came and gave me the key. I told her that situation was incredibile especially in terme of security because everoby could take the key without problems. And the worst thing was that the lady told me that I didn't wait for 10m and something else like "nobody's come, don't worry" but I didn't understand because she spoke in Portoguese and she was absolute rude because she spoke me going away.
So I didn't absolutely recommend especially for the security.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Viaggiatrici08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Viana do Castelo hotels

Nelson
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel do Parque for two nights, on our three month trip from New Zealand, and loved it there. The location was perfect, just a five minute walk from the old town, views of the river and an enormous outdoor swimming pool. The rooms have obviously been recently refurbished and modernised, the beds were very comfortable, it had a big bathroom and it was quiet, so it ticked all the boxes for us. There was WiFi in the hotel at 4 euros a day. Our room was large, with a river view and a balcony. The manager was really friendly and helpful and spoke extremely good English. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was adequate. It was served in the restaurant on the top floor which had amazing river views. We would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river and swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fabtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Just off the end of the central promenade, and close to all the restaurants, this hotel is basic but clean with particuarly helpful and pleasant reception staff. It has a swimming pool out the back, and is only 2 minutes walk into town, either along the river boardwalk, or through the pedestrian promenade.
Our room looked out at the back over the pool and the river, so was very quiet - no problems at all.
It lets itself down though in a few ways - breakfast is very, very basic. We stayed 3 nights and that was enough - coffee awful, juice worse and only bread and cheap ham/cheese and jam. There is a bar beside the pool, but it is not staffed - you have to go and find someone in reception to come and serve you - not good if you are just out the pool and dripping water. No mini-bar in the room, or kettle, and finally the tiniest little balcony I have ever seen - room for one small chair, so you have to take it in turns to sit out there !
Despite this, the price is so incredibly reasonable, I didn't feel badly done to at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room, and take extras into breakfast !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

After 3 weeks enjoying Portugal I have to say this was our only failure.
Breakfast, horrible and no choice.
Rooms, very old furniture and not good bed. No save in the room and the windows could not be properly closed.
No free WIFI
Nice pool and grass to have a sun bath
Very good shower and WC facilities

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnold e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viana do Castelo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Laranjeira
Hotel Laranjeira
#5 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rali Viana
Hotel Rali Viana
#10 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo
Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo
#12 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Char...
#3 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
#6 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#2 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Parque

Property: Hotel do Parque
Address: Praca da Galiza, Viana do Castelo 4900-476, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel do Parque 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel do Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing