We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pensao O Laranjeira
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

A great little family-run place. Very affordable and perfectly located to explore Viano do Castelo. Rooms are small but very comfortable. The restaurant downstairs is excellent and reasonably priced. Breakfast, included in the price of the room, was served in the downstairs dining room and included coffee, juice, fruit, cheese and baked goods ... it too was outstanding. Very hospitable!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haikutaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
33
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fort collins
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were delighted with the charm of this small family-operated pension. The room was small but sufficient, the bed was very comfortable, the room quiet, and the stairs up to the rooms was easy to navigate. The restaurant area, paneled creatively with fresh flowers on each table, gave on to full view of the kitchen and windowed patio area behind. Daughter Helen was a superb guide for local travel and events, and her father, son of the founder, made our dinner at the restaurant a real pleasure with his flair and style. This type of family-run business deserves support, as it is a reminiscence of times gone by. Finally, the pension is located directly across the street from the bakery that sells, at 5pm only, the famous cream-filled Belem donuts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rotarymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Small room but clean and comfortable. Good location in the centre of the city, but unfortunately no parking space. One big comment however is that the walls are like paper, i hardly slept that night because of a man snorring loud in the room next to us. It was almost as he was in our room. So after all not a great experience. Breakfast was basic but ok.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaartenVanDamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Pensao O Laranjeira is right in the heart of Viana do Castela. Everywhere is in easy walking distance. The Pensao has restaurant but it was closed when we were there. If the quality of the breakfast is anything to go by, dining should be a very good experience.

The room was very comfortable and surprisingly quiet given the location close to the city centre. The decoration of the Pensao is interesting and tasteful.

Getting to the Pensao is not easy as it is located on a very narrow lane. There is no parking on site, but paid public parking is nearby although difficult to find initially.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Hi,
This hotel is in the centre of Viano do Castello and is an absolute gem!
Stayed there for 6 nights. Ate in the restaurant twice as the food was so good especially the custard tart. (It was a bit like the traditional natas but even better)
It's run by 3 different generations who you only see at breakfast but add to the cosy and friendly feel of the hotel.
As it's a small hotel they really look after you and are always at hand to help.
Our room was the Roman room (they all have themes related to the area) which I think was the smallest room - perfectly adequate size and a large window looking onto the quiet, narrow street below - great vantage point for people watching.
If we go again we will have one of the rooms at back as they have a balcony area or the one next to us which was slightly bigger.
By the time we left we were impressed with everyone at the hotel:- Ellen who welcomed us, the portugese lady who ran the restaurant and communicated with smiles and the cleaning staff who were helpful and efficient.
One not to be missed.
Before our holiday we were quite undecided which of three hotels in Viana do Castello to stay in and couldn't help investigating during our holiday and this hotel had by far the best location and style.

Hope this helps

Room Tip: Ask for one at back with terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IsabellaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viana do Castelo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laranjeira
Hotel Laranjeira
#5 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo
Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo
#15 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel
#8 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#4 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Char...
#2 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
520 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flor de Sal Hotel
Flor de Sal Hotel
#7 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao O Laranjeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao O Laranjeira

Property: Pensao O Laranjeira
Address: Rua Manuel Espregueira 24, Viana do Castelo 4900-318, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Viana do Castelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"O Laranjeira" Pensao Restaurante is uniquely situated in Viana do Castelo historical centre close by the emblematical Praca da Republica. This vintage building has a well-referenced traditional kitchen restaurant and 7 theme rooms. The 3rdLaranjeira generation decided to refresh the image of the Pensao - the oldest commercial building in Viana - by telling their family story, reminiscing Viana's traditions and folklore. We wanted our rooms to be an unforgettable experience to our guests and created a cosy environment and still maintaining its historical legacy. Each room has a different theme: "Traje a Vianesa", "Eiffel", "Filigrana", "Lethes", "Santa Luzia", "Tapetes" (flowers street decoration), "Traje a Vianesa" (traditional costume) e "Vinho Verde". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pensao O Laranjeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing