We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super service and elegant accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Super service and elegant accommodation”
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We hosted our wedding in the Pousada's restaurant, and all the rooms were booked by our friends & family from all four corners of the world. I think everyone enjoyed their stay there immensely. The big pluses in my mind are: the views, the food, the staff and the very chilled out, elegant and peaceful setting. The rooms have been recently updated so the previous comments about the faded decor don't apply anymore.
Its a very romantic location and would definitly suit those looking to get away for a weekend.
That said, it is a little bit removed from the centre of the town (i.e. 10 minutes down to the town by taxi, which are anyway cheap & plentiful): the town itself is small, and the central historic part is compact & pretty much can be seen within a day.
Outside of the town there are other sights and attractions including beaches, but most of these would require a car to get there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank little_reef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    153
    40
    17
    5
See reviews for
104
291
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

In my opinion Pousada de Santa Luzia is one of the most beautiful places we have ever seen (and me and my husband travelled a lot). It is more than superb. More than beautiful. More than gorgeous. The rooms are above and beyond! Especially ones with the river view. It is very very quiet and tranquil and relaxing!!! As you were in another, more beautiful reality.

If you are just passing by that region - it`s worthwhile visit this pousada. Just to have a look at such a beauty. I can sincerely recommend to stay there.

This pousada belongs to Pestana Group - very famous, high level hotels with a stainless reputation.

Impecavel staff always with a smile and is very helpful.

Magnificant place

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

I did not stay here, but took the time to visit. The common areas are beautiful and the views superb, but it is not within walking distance of anything. I am submitting this review not as a negative, but simply for information for those like myself who pick accommodation based on what I can walk to. It is probably a wonderful choice if you want to enjoy the grounds and restaurant, but not if you want to be able to enjoy a dinner with drinks in town unless you plan on a taking a taxi.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LxryTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Just returned from a business trip and stayed at the Pousada. I arrived late at night and was impressed by the overlook of the city at night, but it was nothing compared to the view the next morning from the small balcony in the room. I had a sea-view room with balconies off the bedroom and bathroom which I would recommend. Bathroom was large, room an adequate size with a very comfortable bed with both feather and fiber fill pillows (important to me as I'm allergic to feather pillows) and everything very clean. Service was impeccable, they really went out of their way to please. As others have said the public spaces were large and grand and breakfast (which was good) was served in a room overlooking the church and the sea. A large shaded terrace was a nice place to relax with a coffee or a drink and just soak up the ambience. The grounds were well kept and large and the swimming pool was delightful. It is a bit of a hike down into town, but there's a funicular by the church that runs every 15 minutes from 8:00 to 20:00 and costs 2 Euro for a single or 3 Euro for a return. Turn right when you get out of the funicular at the bottom of the hill and cross the road and go down the stairs or lift to the train station which is at the top of the main road through town. The town centre is easily walkable and charming. If you miss the last funicular back, there's a taxi rank by the train station where you can get a taxi back to the Pousada for just under 7 Euro. I didn't eat at the hotel for lunch or dinner so cannot comment on that, but every place I ate was very good -- seafood is very fresh, simply cooked and excellent. Overall a very enjoyable stay and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rjms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
126 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Pousada perched on the top of a hill, just behind the Santa Luiza basilica. 1920s, elegant and relaxed style. Parking and a comfortable walk to the funicular down to the town. Ask for a room at the front which gives a fabulous view of the basilica backed up by the sea.

The usual excellent pousada breakfast with attentive staff. We ate in one evening and the food was good if not spectacular (but we found that to be the case during most of our holiday in northern Portugal).

Didn't use the pool as it was a bit too cold at that time of the year but it looked inviting.

  • Liked — Elegance and style
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

This hotel has the faded elegance of a bygone age. Lovely public rooms with splendid views over the Basilica and looking out over the Atlantic and the mountains.

Our room was on the side but still had gorgeous uninterrupted views - rooms at the front had samll balconies and looked delightful. Ask for one of these if you visit.

Nice terrace where you can enjoy a drink and nibbles.
Gardens, once elegant are now a little neglected. There is a swimming pool surrounded by a large sunny terrace - water temp about 20 degs, so not for the faint hearted.

We ate here, as part of a group and bearing that in mind it was very acceptable. Getting down to town is via a long, narrow winding road, so eating elsewhere in the evening is probably not an option.

Slightly dull furnishings and slightly grey towels, but a lovely soft bed with high quality linen.

We enjoyed the experience.

  • Liked — Fabulous views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MosesGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

We had a voucher for a pousada and we chose this one, our standard bedroom was 130€, with no balcony but they did put us in one on the 3rd floor with a great view over the monument of Santa Luzia and Viana do Castelo.
Comparing to other pousadas or even hotels for the same price the only good thing on this one is it's beautiful location and surrondings. Otherwise bedrooms are ok and the breakfast is very disapointing for the price you pay.
There is an elevator that you can use to go down from the hill to the city center.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Martaribeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viana do Castelo hotels
0.8 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#3 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
#1 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.9 mi away
Quinta do Monteverde
Quinta do Monteverde
#1 of 1 in Castelo do Neiva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
#6 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Laranjeira
Hotel Laranjeira
#5 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flor de Sal Hotel
Flor de Sal Hotel
#8 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel

Property: Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel
Address: Monte de Sta. Luzia, Viana do Castelo 4901-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Viana do Castelo, Santa Luzia, built in 1918, is fruit of the remodelling of the old Santa Luzia Hotel, maintaining the impressive characteristics which set it apart with the high majestic granite walls and the wide archways. A few hundred metres from the city stands the Mount Santa Luzia, dominating the metropolis and the Lima estuary up to the Atlantic, where our eyes are fed by the luxurious panorama. There lies the Pousada de Viana do Castelo, offering its guests from the moment they arrive, a magnificent view of the city which according to history has been occupied since the remote Mesolithic times; testimonies state numerous archaeological findings from the pre-Roman citadel. Viana do Castelo offers a superb panoramic view. It's a tourist city for its excellence, where perfect harmony of progress and wealth meet, a true living museum of ethnography and folklore. The heritage of Minho has a unique richness, with striking landscapes, churches, convents and beautiful palaces. The feast in honour of Our Lady of Agony, which runs from the 17th through to the 20th of August, stands out as the most colourful of Portugal. Classic and refined, the Pousada de Viana do Castelo exalts luxury in every detail and depth, which will surely make a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing