We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, fantastic view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada Viana Do Castelo
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the pousada at the end of June during a very hot spell and found the whole place fantastic. We had a third floor suite with a balcony looking out over the basilica and the town, and then down the coast - a fantastic view, and we understand that National Geographic puts it in the 10 best views in the world. The hotel was very comfortable (the air conditioning was just up to the very hot weather) and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We would recommend this hotel very strongly to anyone visiting this area.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a view out to the south, on as high a floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham_NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking time to post your comment.
We appreciate your kind and friendly words about the experience you had in our Pousada.
Your comments makes us continue with our work and improving every day.
Waiting for your return to our Pousada, we remain
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 564 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We usually don't stay at pousadas, but we were entranced by the magic mountain aspect of the setting. From our balcony overlooking the city below, it was as if we were in an airplane, it's that high. The room was quite luxurious as were all the public spaces. The dining room was in a magnificent turret room, formerly a grand veranda in the early days. But the menu was pompous and food disappointing. Such a pity. The place really deserves a great chef. Nonetheless the staff were all delightful and helpful. I dithered over beautifully crafted dancing shoes, made locally, in the gift shop, but they didn't seem to mind. The grounds were lovely but it was too cool to take advantage of the pool. My husband greatly enjoyed exploring the Celtic or maybe neolithic village site, some of which had been destroyed to make the pilgrimage hotel back in the 20's or 30's. Shrine of Sant Lucia was very interesting to visit as well. Very grand on a monumental scale, very austere neo-Romanesque (think Sacre Coeur). Built as a memorial to war dead and boost the local economy, as well as venerate Santa Lucia. Bus loads of pious school children were being herded through as we visited. The view from the front plaza of the church overlooking city and seacoast is breathtaking and one can believe that is indeed a holy place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernardette44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking some of your time to post your comment that we appreciated.
Your comment makes us continue with our work and improving every day.
We’ll take in consideration your opinion of the points you mentioned about the meals.
Waiting for your return to our Pousada, we remain
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is indeed a pleasant place to stay and Viana itself is a charming, laid back town .
The location and view are the main attractions. Unfortunately, the town below was shrouded in mist/fog for much of our week long stay which certainly put a slight damper(!) on things.
The hotel itself is fine with spacious rooms and pleasant public areas and a nice pool area with spectacular views.
However, having experienced the excellent service and staff in the Palacio de Freixo for our first three nights we were majorly disappointed with the staff in Viana where service tended to be rather diffident and less professional. This was particularly noticeable during breakfasts with nobody apparently in charge and guests often left to fend for them selves.
The biggest disappointment was that ,on checking out after seven nights no one at all asked if we had had a nice stay!
I would recommend sending all the staff to Palacio de Freixo for training and please put someone in charge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kildareman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking some of your time to post your comment.
We lament that your stay with us was not completely pleasant for you.
We’ll take in consideration all your comments and we’ll take the actions to avoid this kind of situation in the future.
We apologize for the inconvenience and hope we’ll receive you in a nearly future.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We've been in lots of hotels in our life but this one is very special. From our room we saw the Atlantic Ocean, the river Lima and the town Viano do Castelo. The hotel is different from other Pousadas, as it was built as a hotel in the gay twenties of last century (the other pousadas we visited were old castles or convents). The service was superb and so was the food. It's situated on a hill and you can use the cable train (a funiculare) to go down to the charming city of Viano.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking time to post your very pleasant comment.
We appreciate the friendly words about your experience and it would be a pleasure if we could have you with us again in a nearly future.
Waiting for your return to our Pousada, we remain
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We enjoyed staying in this pousada, the location is unbeatable, the views are very nice. Going to viana itself during daytime is easy, just take the funicular next to the church. In the evening a car is imperative, but then it is also fun driving up and down the mountain. You must choose a room with a view, we had originally booked a standard room located at the back, but with a bit of negotiating we could move to a room at the front (superior) for a mere €10 per night only. Well worth the money. The breakfast was very nice, buffet, but I must admit I have seen better, not that it was not good but a bit average. Wifi was for free, the rooms have been upgraded with a flatscreen tv, however in our room they could have done a bit more effort to hide the cable. closet with only a few hangers. the bathroom is a bit cramped and the location of the toilet paper is absolutely stupid. (room 106) . Would go back if I could get a good offer.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterEijsbouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking some of your time to post your comment that we appreciated.
Your comment makes us continue with our work and improving every day.
We’ll take in consideration your opinion of the points you mentioned about the rooms.
Waiting for your return to our Pousada, we remain
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have been there for the first time, great location with nice view over Viana dC. Very friendly staff, nice rooms, good food - summarizing: It will not be the last time we are going there! Simply be aware that you should have a car to go there, this place is on the very top of a mountain. The other small limitation we would mention is the rather small and "old fashioned" bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dina_and_Juergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking time to post comment.
We appreciate your words about your experience in our Pousada.
Your comments makes us continue with our work and improving every day.
Waiting for your return to our Pousada, we remain
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We would just thank for two wonderful nights in Viana. While the Pousada's location is truly fantastic, what impressed us most was the friendliness and service of the staff. They opened the restaurant for us for an exceptionally early breakfast. Moreover, food was good and standards of room and wine selection were high.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SjurOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking time to post your very pleasant comment.
We appreciate the friendly words about your experience and it would be a pleasure if we could have you with us again in a nearly future.
Waiting for your return to our Pousada, we remain
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viana do Castelo hotels
0.8 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#5 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
220 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel FeelViana
Hotel FeelViana
#3 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
77 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flor de Sal Hotel
Flor de Sal Hotel
#8 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Quinta do Monteverde
Quinta do Monteverde
#1 of 1 in Castelo do Neiva
251 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
#1 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
#7 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Viana Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Viana Do Castelo

Address: Monte de Santa Luzia, Viana do Castelo 4901-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Price Range: $96 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Viana Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Viana do Castelo is located atop the Monte de Santa Luzia, in Viana do Castelo. Lofty and elegant, it further enhances the beauty of the city of Viana do Castelo. It features one of Portugal's most dazzling views of the mountain, the city, the Lima river, the Atlantic Ocean and the iconic Templo de Santa Luzia which, located just a few hundred metres from the hillside, frames and fills the landscape and the view. Inaugurated in 1921, this Pousada was born of the excellent restoration and remodelling of the Hotel de Santa Luzia, maintaining its stately features that make it so unique, such as its high granite walls and broad archways. During your stay, you can take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and enjoy the view of the Serra de Santa Luzia, the city of Viana do Castelo, as well as the gorgeous Lima river and its mouth. If you would like to relax or rejuvenate yourself, schedule at massage at our Magic Wellness Spa. Feast on minhota cuisine at the Pousada's re ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Viana Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing