We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely relaxing hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a lovely relaxing hotel.”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in this mountain top hotel after driving up from Porto. It is so high you can see it from miles away, sitting like a lovely Edwardian centrepiece surrounded by trees. The view from the terrace is amazing, sit there in the afternoon or evening with a drink and just enjoy both.
The public rooms are very well decorated and comfortable. The food is very well presented and a good choice on the menu, particularly fish.
As this is Portugal the wines are excellent. The staff were really helpful and pleasent. Next time we stay we will use the funicular to get down to the town, it's a little hairy going down otherwise!!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willow077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to know that you have liked the beauty and charm of Pousada de Viana do Castelo and have had a pleasant stay with us.
We really thank you for so kind words about the choise and quality of food and wines, stunning views of the terrace, beautiful decoration and confort of public areas and so important, the friendliness of staff.
We will be pleased to welcome you again at Pousada de Viana do Castelo.

Best Regards,
Célia Marques
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    153
    40
    17
    5
See reviews for
104
291
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Lovely old hotel in an amazing location. High on a hill overlooking the town and the church. Views out to sea and surrounded by lovely gardens. Nice rooms but the aircon did not work very well. I think we were just a little unlucky. The staff were very helpful and there was lots to see in and around the town. The vehicular was the best way to get up and down the hill and very inexpensive. We felt we had gone "back in time" on a few occasions, sitting out on the patio sipping gin and tonics. A lovely change from our busy modern world.

Room Tip: Definitely request a high room facing the town and ocean. As high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking time to write so kind words about Your stay in Pousada Monte de Santa Luzia, wich help and motivate us to keep on improving the quality of our services.

We will be pleased to receive You again at Pousada de Viana do Castelo.

Best Regards,
Célia Marques
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our second night on the road in Northern Portugal We had come from the Pousada in Geres not expecting views of equal quality. When we opened our doors of our room to our terrace we were again treated to breathtaking views! The hotel sits high on a mountain with Santa Luzia in the foreground of fantastic views of the city below, the river and ocean. The hotel staff were very accommodating and friendly. The food was was excellent and served was served very professionally. Another gem in the Pousada chain!

Room Tip: Request the view of Santa Luzia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABDCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your kind words and for choose to stay in Pousadas of Portugal.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the charming views, the quality of food and the profissionalism and welcoming staff.

Look forward to recieve you soon in Pousada de Viana do Castelo.

Kindly Regards,
Célia Marques
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

If you're visiting Viana do Castelo, this is a great hotel to stay in. But be aware of a few things. For example, it can't help its location, which is at the summit of a hill. That means great views - but it also means, how do you get down to the town below? Fortunately, taxis are easy to get from the rail station on your return journey though can take 15 minutes plus when you're waiting for them at the hotel. Expect to pay ten euros per journey. The staff are friendly though when my partner and I arrived at reception - and we are both male - the idea that we might want to share a room was greeted with some unease! This is northern Portugal and moral attitudes can be a little antiquated! Be aware. We used the restaurant and service was good but I thought the food was indifferent and hugely overpriced. Eat in town - cheaper and better. The rooms are big but make sure you insist on a good view with a balcony - we had a terrible view and next door was a private room used by the cleaners, who were extremely noisy. The swimming pool was good though the number of flies floating on the surface was a little off-putting. I'd still go back - even after this review - but I hope it can a few things right.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony and a good view - the alternative is dull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking time writting these words, which we carefully read.
We have been taken into account all your comments, that we will use to improve our services.

We will be pleased to welcome You again in Pousada Monte de Santa Luzia.

Best Regards,
Célia Marques
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Loved everything about Viana do Castelo. Loved the location, the view and the people at the front desk were very accommodating. The food was wonderful. The breakfast that was included was delicious. The drive up to the pousada is an adventure in and of itself. We visited the Basilica and the ruins that are all within walking distance of the hotel. This is a great jumping off point to do lots of great things.

Room Tip: The pool is a little cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfamily1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for Your Kind words.
We sinceraly hope to welcome you in a future opportunity at the Pousada Monte Santa Luzia and contribute to new memomable moments with us.
Best Regards,

Célia Marques
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent one night here before going to our rental Villa near Braga. We specifically chose this Pousada as its supposed to be one of the best there is in the country and we wouldn't disagree with that.

After the spectacular drive up the twisting road, and past the Basilica, we drove into the shady car park, and made our way into the cool lobby, and there we got a taste of what we had in store. As I am of a certain age, I qualified for the "Golden Days" rate, which meant a very nice discount on the quoted price for our room and breakfast - so I booked us into a Junior suite. This was on the second floor - and this has to be the nicest hotel room I have ever stayed in. A massive room with a full sitting area with 3 piece suite, coffee table and sideboard, a writing desk in front of 3 huge floor to ceiling windows (with fantastic views over the basilica and the town and beaches), and an enormous bed, all beautifully decorated.

After a long dusty drive - we headed for the pool which also had fabulous views over the locality, and also of the Roman excavations nearby.

We cleaned up and headed down to the lounge/ bar for pre dinner drinks, and were brought the dinner menu to choose at leisure. We were escorted into dine spot on 8pm, and enjoyed a delicious dinner before retiring for the night.

We went down to breakfast quite late the next morning - and to be honest this was the most disappointing thing about our stay. The coffee machine had run out and my husband had to ask for some to be brought to him, and the platters, particularly the fruit ones were almost empty when we arrived, and showed little sign of being replenished. There wasn't much in the way of cooked items available (all fitted in to one heated serving dish). We didn't think what was provided on the breakfast buffet lived up to the standard expected in a 5* hotel. That said, the service was good and the ambience excellent, and if you left the dining room hungry, it would have been your own fault.

Although there is free wifi throughout the hotel, you can only sign on for 30 mins at a time, and Reception will give you a handful of vouchers to use as required, however - these have to be used one at a time, and the network kicks you out at 30 minute intervals until you enter the new password. I have been assured that the chain are looking into a more efiicient system for providing this (now essential) service to their guests.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolynUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente at Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for sharing here your comments about your memorable experience at Pousada Monte Santa Luzia.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Pousada de Viana do Castelo.

Look forward to welcome you back soon at Pousadas de Portugal.

Kind Regards,
Célia Marques
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My fiancé and I visited the restaurant of the hotel at the end of May (the main dinning room) we were not staying in the hotel.

The location is at the top of the hill and has magnificent views of the city and the coast line.
It must have been low season as the hotel and restaurant were very quiet.

We were shown to a good table next to the windows looking towards the stunning church and city-scape.

As it is low season the staff count was quite low. We ordered a starter of Fish soup and a mushroom and Prawn dish. Both starters were ok, the fish soup was a bit weak and the prawns were over cooked but the mushrooms were very succulent.

For the main we went for their traditional stews - one Rabbit and the other "goat kid". Both were tasty with strong flavours, a bit tricky with all the tiny bones, but worth the effort.

I was surprised that the staff didn't speak better English, it made ordering the wine a little tricky!

One point to note, they put the bottle of wine and water on a separate table (not within reach), supposedly so they can top up your glasses through the meal....unfortunately this did not happen and we resorted to grabbing the bottles ourselves and keeping them on our own table, not great service for the price that you are paying.

In all, the view is what made this place, the food was ok, and the staff need to up their game especially considering the high cost of the meal.

Had I known I would of skipped food and just enjoyed a glass of port on the terrace enjoying the stunning views.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venetiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viana do Castelo hotels
0.8 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#3 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
#1 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.9 mi away
Quinta do Monteverde
Quinta do Monteverde
#1 of 1 in Castelo do Neiva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
#6 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Laranjeira
Hotel Laranjeira
#5 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flor de Sal Hotel
Flor de Sal Hotel
#8 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel

Property: Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel
Address: Monte de Sta. Luzia, Viana do Castelo 4901-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Viana do Castelo, Santa Luzia, built in 1918, is fruit of the remodelling of the old Santa Luzia Hotel, maintaining the impressive characteristics which set it apart with the high majestic granite walls and the wide archways. A few hundred metres from the city stands the Mount Santa Luzia, dominating the metropolis and the Lima estuary up to the Atlantic, where our eyes are fed by the luxurious panorama. There lies the Pousada de Viana do Castelo, offering its guests from the moment they arrive, a magnificent view of the city which according to history has been occupied since the remote Mesolithic times; testimonies state numerous archaeological findings from the pre-Roman citadel. Viana do Castelo offers a superb panoramic view. It's a tourist city for its excellence, where perfect harmony of progress and wealth meet, a true living museum of ethnography and folklore. The heritage of Minho has a unique richness, with striking landscapes, churches, convents and beautiful palaces. The feast in honour of Our Lady of Agony, which runs from the 17th through to the 20th of August, stands out as the most colourful of Portugal. Classic and refined, the Pousada de Viana do Castelo exalts luxury in every detail and depth, which will surely make a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing