We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The View is Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada Viana Do Castelo
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Located high on the hill overlooking the town and the cathedral this hotel is very well positioned. Although some of the decor is still somewhat "dated" (bearing in mind it was inaugurated in 1918) this hotel has charm and the staff are both friendly and professional. We had dinner at the restaurant and found it to be very good.

Sitting out on the veranda (it seems quite inadequate to call it that) was simply stunning. As we were not staying in the high season we found the rates very competitive (as they were in all the Pausada's we stayed at)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 564 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is an expensive hotel. The rooms with THAT stunning view are worth the price. Make sure you book one of these. The hotel has undergone a renovation in 2008 and is now much closer to its former grandeur. Unfortunately the interior decorator missed the opportunity to bring back the full "art deco" style, but it looks nice ( some parts, like the salon, are still to be renvated, as I can see the old style stil prevails). The service is good and attentive - the portuguese from the north are genuinely warm. The outdoor pool closes in September and the acesss should be closed to the public ( leaves everywhere, dods not look nice at all). The breakfast is excellent in a free buffet style. Viana do Castelo, the small town, has a beautifully maintained old centre. Enjoy !

Room Tip: Chose room 207 or 307
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joseandglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Went to this hotel due to the suberb ratings. The view towards the old cathedral is indeed very nice, less nice is that behind that lovely scene you see ugly harbour buildings all around.
The hotel is a pousada, but they have done their utmost best to cover any old charm: cheap 70's brown wood, plastic window frames, tasteless flowers on the wall.
Nice marble bathroom - but bath with a sticky shower curtain.
Nice balcony - but everyone visiting the cathedral sees you, and at night huge 'construction lights' do not only light the building but you as well.
Restaurant listed on the michelin (no star) but there as well cheapish food in large tasteless portions.
You are nicely in nature, but still hear all rumour of the city traffic coming up.

Pro's: good bed. Nice hiking route down to the village.

Room Tip: They have 1 suite (309) that is called 'presidential suite' but is just an average junior su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hedoniaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The hotel is in a fantastic location. Views are amazing and rooms are great. Service is a bit aloof and the restaurant is not very welcoming. However, the room and location make up for this and you can always go into town for a meal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKtraveler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Yes the view is spectacular and the warmth of the staff amazing especially in the restaurant.

Food of good quality, wine list list perfectly adequate.

Decor is a bit faded otherwise you'd be hard pressed to find fault.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pyecombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We arrived here having spent two nights at the Pousada de Oporto and, I'm sorry to say, this hotel can't begin to measure up to its cousin to the south, even though the prices are virtually identical. The room we stayed in was dated, the double bed was small (I don't even think it was a full-size queen), the public rooms are a bit threadbare but still elegant, you have to pay for wifi and the signal isn't particularly reliable. The staff, however, is excellent and accommodating, the bar is cozy (and the bartender is world-class; ask for a caipiranha and you'll get the best one you've ever had), the breakfast buffet is lavish and the views out over the city and Atlantic are breathtaking. This pousada is heavily used by locals for public events -- a wedding was taking place the weekend we were there -- so meals had to be taken in a large room off the lobby but that was OK; it was interesting to see a Portuguese wedding reception which began mid-day and continued until the wee hours of the night. (People behave with much more decorum than they do at American wedding receptions.) One last note: Viana do Castelo is very difficult to get around in and nothing special compared to nearby cities like Oporto, Braga and Guimares. There are lots of one-way streets, no parking whatsoever and traffic is dreadful, particularly at rush hour. We had difficultly finding the hotel and my wife finally insisted that I ask directions (a fate worse than death). Simply look up on the mountain that presides over the town and remember that the pousada is the building behind (and higher than) the cathedral --the highest point in town. Because of the traffic/parking, you will do well to take your meals at the hotel rather than go into the city. (It's too far to walk and there are no taxis, but I'm sure the front desk would call one for you if you asked.)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stubenposters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We booked this hotel for 5nights as a treat to ourselves, although it was a bit pricier than where we would normally stay. Upon arrival we realised why it was so special as the views are absolutely Spectacular.
We were greeted by Armando who is the most gracious and professional receptionist I have come across! He said all the correct things to make you feel special and welcome. When we were shown to our room, unfortunately it didn't have a balcony and upon request I was told that 1 would be available the next day, this gesture was much appreciated. Our room the next day was fabulous, huge comfortable Kingsize bed, lovely balcony, silent airconditioning and a beautiful marble bathroom complete with bath and shower.
Buffet Breakfast was good but a bit too busy with no personal service whatsoever.. the waiter was just too busy to provide even a good morning. Tea and coffee was self service in a cup and at the price, I think it was overpriced for what it was. Personally I prefer a teapot or coffee pot. The choice of fruit varied every day but the same scrambled eggs and mini hot dogs became a bit repetitive!
Sadly the hotel did not have free internet connection or the facilities for tea and coffee in the room,which I think the traveller of today benefits from.
We found also the price of meals very expensive, Euro28 for fixed menu with, in our opinion, not a great choice. There are lovely cakes and pastries available in town and it would have been a good idea if the hotel had been able to offer more choice for guests. Also it would be a good idea to provide some light entertainment for example someone to play the beautiful piano in the lounge.
All this said we had a lovely holiday and the pool facilities a pleasure to use although it is unheated.

Room Tip: I think if you ask they will do the best they can?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank undecidedLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to know we were able to meet your expectations and provide you a wonderful stay.
The members of the staff, especially Armando, want to thank you for recognizing the value of their work.
We are glad you have enjoyed the amazing views over the city of Viana do Castelo, the River Lima and the sea.
Thank you very much for sharing your suggestions on the buffet breakfast service and variety, the internet connection, the facilities in the room, the price for the meals and the temperature of the swimming pool.
During weekends, there is indeed a piano player entertaining the guests of the Pousada.
We have been taken into account all the opinions about the Internet service and we are improving the internal procedures and the suppliers service to have an efficient and adequate internet standard on all Pousadas. Currently, we inform that Pousada de Viana provides paid wireless connection in all common areas and in the rooms and there is 30 minutes free of charge at each check-in.
We certainly hope to welcome you again,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viana do Castelo hotels
0.8 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#5 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
220 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel FeelViana
Hotel FeelViana
#3 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
77 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flor de Sal Hotel
Flor de Sal Hotel
#8 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Quinta do Monteverde
Quinta do Monteverde
#1 of 1 in Castelo do Neiva
251 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
#1 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
#7 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Viana Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Viana Do Castelo

Address: Monte de Santa Luzia, Viana do Castelo 4901-909, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Price Range: $96 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Viana Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Viana do Castelo is located atop the Monte de Santa Luzia, in Viana do Castelo. Lofty and elegant, it further enhances the beauty of the city of Viana do Castelo. It features one of Portugal's most dazzling views of the mountain, the city, the Lima river, the Atlantic Ocean and the iconic Templo de Santa Luzia which, located just a few hundred metres from the hillside, frames and fills the landscape and the view. Inaugurated in 1921, this Pousada was born of the excellent restoration and remodelling of the Hotel de Santa Luzia, maintaining its stately features that make it so unique, such as its high granite walls and broad archways. During your stay, you can take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and enjoy the view of the Serra de Santa Luzia, the city of Viana do Castelo, as well as the gorgeous Lima river and its mouth. If you would like to relax or rejuvenate yourself, schedule at massage at our Magic Wellness Spa. Feast on minhota cuisine at the Pousada's re ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pousada Viana Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing