We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTING, DOES NOT DESERVE ITS RATING”

Restaurant O Pescador
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: O Pescador Restaurant is located in the historical center of Viana do Castelo ... Visit the city and delight in here ... Be amazed by the delicious monkfish rice, succulent seafood feijoada and various grilled fish. Awaken your senses with cod dishes. At the end enjoy our traditional desserts ...
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING, DOES NOT DESERVE ITS RATING”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had dinner at the Pescador on a Saturday night based on the reviews and our desire for fish etc. We had the mixed fish grill for two at Euros 33 which also comes with a little sea food. The recession must have struck here because the quality price ratio was on the negative side. Perhaps to hold down prices the amount of fish for two people is reduced, although they artfully arrange it on type of a mound of potatoes to disguise the fact. The type of fish was a small fillet on the bone with small bones in it, not much taste and difficult to eat. The sword fish steaklet was small and dried out. The squid was very rubbery. We had bacalhau (cod) croquettes for starters but these we sent back as having mostly mashed potatoes and very little cod on them. The service was correct albeit of a morose nature. The owner was around in his white chefs outfit but seemed not to be interested in proceedings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O_Pescador, Gerente at Restaurant O Pescador, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thanks for the comment.
All opinions are valid for the improvement of our service.
All ingredients are carefully selected for the preparation of our meals. All our dishes are made-up "on time" which sometimes makes the service a bit slow, but it's the only way to ensure a good quilting.
We were saddened by can not satisfy you. We inform that the dish "mixed fish" has been improved.
Daily we give our best to ensure the best service together with quality meals, prepared with excellent ingredients and traditional way.
We hope you visit us again to change your opinion.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    112
    30
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“To expensive for what comes to the table”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Normal service,common food,poor and too expensive restaurant for what it offers...I had just arrived from matosinhos where I had lunch for half the price and the double the taste

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiagomiguelmiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O_Pescador, Gerente at Restaurant O Pescador, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thanks for the comment.
All opinions contribute to the improvement of our service.
Our goal is to provide the best meal to our customers.
Daily try to use the best and freshest ingredients, which can sometimes be a more expensive product.
We have the worry of having adequate equipment to ensure food hygiene and safety products that make up our meals.
We hope to come back to visit us and change your mind.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not just good for seafood!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We make a point of eating at this restaurant each time we visit Viana. Our last visit was in July and I had mussels to start - best I've ever had. For main course I had fillet of veal which was excellent. O Pescador is a small intimate restaurant with a relaxed atmosphere and great staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane_888_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service and great food!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We were referred by local family members to swing by. By the end of our two day stay we had had 2 lunches there and each was remarkable.

Great atmosphere. Would have enjoyed going back before we left.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrgummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent meal here.
Good food,good service, good atmosphere.
A three course meal two of had the moules superb, one the sardines best ever she said and on the date wrapped in bacon, not my choice she was delighted.
For a main course we all followed the previous post and had the Sea Bass stuffed with crap pâté and we were not disappointed.
The deserts were all made in house and just as good.
All washed down with a good Douro white wine at about 10 euros
We ate at Rick Steins at Padstow a few months ago, this was better and about a third of the price.
English menu and English spoken.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank robinsylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant O Pescador also viewed

Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
 
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
 
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
 

Been to Restaurant O Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing