We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One place with a bit of everything!”

Fortaleza de Valenca do Minho
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Valenca
Certificate of Excellence
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“One place with a bit of everything!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Many were the times i've visited this place, and all times i've been there i never get tired and it's like there's always something new. It's one place with a bit of everything that allows you to do so many different things, either if you are looking to explore on a wild adventure based, going through the history and back in time through the timeless walls that stand before you, tunnels and pathways, along with the canons and the bit of history and story on each of its place, or even just for a coffee or a meal and a walk through it's typical local commerce and people.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ziKho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    254
    44
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Trip Back in Time”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We found this fortress to be a great place to spend a couple of days to recharge the batteries after travelling through Spain and Portugal. We stayed in the pousada which was terrific. The village was quant and it was easy to imagine that this was like village life could have been centuries ago.

Many merchants selling their goods but in a laid back and friendly manner. There are also some great places to have a meal or just a drink.

I would recommend staying in the village especially the pousada to get an appreciation of the place.

I would also recommend walking across the river into the village of Tui in Spain.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“History.”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

The Fortaleza, or fortress, was a nice final stop on our way to Galicia. it does not look like much from the entrance, but it is literally a huge area with dozens of shops of the finest linings and towels. A nice visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank Wajdi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Hills, Maryland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lovely town”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Valenca do Minho, Portugal is a pleasant town whose 17th century ramparts were raised to keep the Spanish invaders out. Visitors can walk along its quaint streets filled with pottery and crockery. It rained a bit while we were there, but we were able to buy rain hats in one of the many stores. The people are utterly charming and helpful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank timecop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Views of Spain from Portugal!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I can recomend a visit to this wonderfull fortress town.From Vigo by bus to Tui or valenca is only 30mins.From Tui you can walk to Portugal over a bridge across the river Minho,beautifull.The walls are complete sheltering the small town.It is touristy but with charm.Stay in the area to really soak up the atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank inertiaanne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortaleza de Valenca do Minho also viewed

Valenca, Viana do Castelo District
Valenca, Viana do Castelo District
 
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo District
Tui, Province of Pontevedra
 

Been to Fortaleza de Valenca do Minho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing