We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lara

Hotel Lara
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lara
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Valenca
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I went to Valença on work and stayed one night. Hotel Lara was definetelly a good choice.
The room was very spacious and clean.
The reception staff were very polite and kind.
The hotel has free wi-fi in the rooms. I used it a lot.
Breakfast with very few choices.
The soundproofing is not very good, so you hear noise from the room next door...
Overall, it's a good value. I liked it and would have no problem in staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa_vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    28
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
23
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

The hotel is at the edge of the (unlovely) new town of Valenca, only a few steps from the beautiful old town. Our room was clean, well-appointed and had a balcony. Reception was pleasant and efficient. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. We thought the Lara offered very good value.
We had a really nice couple of days in Valenca. The trick is to do all your sightseeing in the old town, then wander down into the new town to eat and drink. We went to Santiago's restaurant twice and it was great: large portions of simple authentic dishes washed down with local wine at bargain prices.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillywilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I've stayed here three times in the last couple of years and will happily return if I'm passing through again. Almost all of the rooms have balconies, most with a view of the fortress. Every room I've stayed in has been spacious with modern fixtures, and kept spotlessly clean. Satellite TV is good, with a wide selection of channels, including English programing. The air conditioning works well. Wi-fi in the common areas, but not in most of the rooms (unless you're on the first floor near the stairs). I almost find it difficult to believe this place is as relatively inexpensive as it is.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Not a hotel you'd go to for fun - it looks like it should host conventions of travelling salesmen.

But staff are friendly and helpful, and everything is perfectly functional. Nice to have plumbing that actually works - in so many "boutique" places it looks great but is a pain to operate.

It's on a busy road in the new town, but a short walk (or scramble up a steep path) and you're in the old town.

No free wifi. I didn't investigate the paid wifi connection.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

Having arrived in Valença quite late in the evening with two 11 year olds, we were relieved to be welcomed by the Hotel Lara after a restaurant in the deserted old town took pity on us and phoned round to find us a bed for the night. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean and the merry birthday party taking place on the same floor ended on the dot of twelve.
Next morning, the breakfast was a treat - fresh rolls, proper jamon, cheese, oranges, chocolate marble cake, coffee, tea, cola cao, good croissants, yoghurt, fresh orange juice, cereal and loads more. Great start to the day. When I complimented the young man working in the breakfast room, he told me that they were bringing in more improvements. Seems the place is under new management and they're putting a lot of energy into making the most of it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belem49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valenca
0.5 mi away
Hotel Valenca do Minho
Hotel Valenca do Minho
#3 of 3 in Valenca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada de Valenca do Minho, Sao Teotonio
1.5 mi away
Parador de Tui
Parador de Tui
#2 of 29 in Pontevedra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Colon Tuy
Hotel Colon Tuy
#3 of 5 in Tui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Alfonso I
Hotel Alfonso I
#2 of 5 in Tui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Minho
Hotel Minho
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Cerveira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lara

Property: Hotel Lara
Address: Avenida dos Bombeiros Voluntarios, Valenca 4930-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Valenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Valenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lara 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing