We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveler rating
135
309
190
62
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
135
309
190
62
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hidden portugal meal times plenty of sunbeds tour manager newmarket holidays portugal tour on a half board basis buffet style floor overlooking changed daily outdoor pool cleaned every day tea making facilities large hotel plate warmer high rise blocks wi fi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 720 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent staff and room cleanliness. Room 101 has a view of the air conditioning and the constant noise of kitchen extraction system, avoid if you can. The dining room is big and very noisy , seats more than 350 and is self service buffet. therefore warmish food on cold plates. They have a plate warmer that was only switched on once during my stay of 7 days
The range of cold buffet is good best stick with that .
The pool and surrounds are excellent and kept very clean

Room tip: avoid room 101
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Axis Vermar Hotel (Reviewed separately below) and our group was looked after by Mary-Anne. The hotel was only a short journey from the airport. Our coach was comfortable – no toilet but regular “comfort stops” with the opportunity to have refreshments and lunches. Excursions left the hotel at 8.45, 9.00 and on one occasion 9.30 am. The Santiago Compostela trip was scheduled to leave at 7.45 am. but was cancelled due to very small numbers booking the trip. Most outings brought us back to the hotel at about 4.00 pm. or 5.00 pm. We only booked one addition Optional Tour, that of the Douro Valley. The weather was perfect and the scenery as we drove through the mountains alongside the vineyards was beautiful. Our afternoon visit to the Quinta Pacheca was very interesting as they were harvesting the grapes at the time of our visit, so we were able to see the grapes on the vines, the crushed grapes fermenting and taste the final product at the end. I would advise making your port selection from the cards you are given at the tasting as the shop is very small and was quite crowded when we visited which made browsing and making a choice quite difficult.
We very much enjoyed the trip to Porto when some people took up the chance of a river trip up the Douro (15 Euros PP). Our tour and tasting at Calem port wine lodge was also very interesting but we would have liked a little longer after the tour ended in which to finish our samples of port and browse the shop.
On the first of the two days we were not booked on excursions we took the opportunity to walk the promenade and boardwalk at Povoa stopping for lunch at one of the many beach bars and enjoying an ice-cream at Mona Lisa’s. On the second day we caught the Metro from Povoa to Porto (7 Euros for an adult Day Rider ticket) to explore the city more. Being a very hot day, we took the cable car from the banks of the Douro River back up to the Metro (6 Euros single, 9 Euros return per adult) where great views can be had from the Ponte de Luis. If you get the chance do visit the mainline station in Porto to see the magnificent blue and white tiled picture panels.
Newmarket guests are the first into the dining room at the Axis (7.15 pm.) which is a great advantage when the hotel is full of mostly organised groups. Other groups are timed at 7.30 and 7.45 pm.
We found everyone we came across were very friendly and appreciated my few words of probably badly spoken Portuguese. Mary-Anne will teach you some phrases during your excursions! We did find some of the commentaries were spoken rather fast which made it difficult for some people to follow at times – but then we are no good at their language so can’t complain at their very good English! Prices we found were reasonable when purchasing refreshments but if you want a snack lunch we found most places offered the basic range of rolls/sandwiches in ham, cheese, ham and cheese or tuna.
We thought it good value and several of our group were regular Newmarket travellers which must say something!

Newmarket Hidden Portugal Tour hotel
We stayed here on our Newmarket Hidden Portugal holiday and enjoyed the sea views from our room and balcony.
Bathroom. Over bath shower, hairdryer, no toiletries, towels changed you leave them on the floor or in the bath. Hot water was always hot. TIP Leave the discreet mirror light on at night as the rooms are very dark, it will guide you to the bathroom in the middle of the night!
Bedroom. Rooms are cleaned daily, beds changed three times during the week, hospitality tray with tea, coffee & decaff but no milk. Milk can be purchased at local shops or a small carton is 1 Euro from the hotel bar. Free room safe. Plenty of hanging space and some drawers. Never found out why our wardrobe only had one door though! BBC World News and Sky News can be found on the TV. Bedside phone. Beds large and comfortable with additional pillows and blankets in the wardrobe.
Pool. Large pool and we were always able to find a sunbed and umbrella. Area can be windy as it is right by the Atlantic but there are hedges and bushes that can be used as windbreaks. Striped pool towels from Reception, free.
Bar. There was musical entertainment three night during our stay. Drink prices seem expensive, but we found the measures were generous! Hotel says water is safe to drink but will only sell you water at the table. Mary- Anne said it was because of the age of the plumbing as the hotel was built in in the 70’s.
Dining room. Evening meal - New market guests are allowed in first at 7.15 pm. and have designated seating (as do the other tour groups). Despite this we always found the hot main course food was mostly only lukewarm. Plates are also cold but after a couple of days I found a machine marked Plate Warmer BUT be careful if you use it as plates always seemed to be red hot one side and cold the other. A good selection of salads, meats etc for Starters but nothing is labelled so on some of the mixed salads some guests were unsure of the contents. (There is a special area at Breakfast marked Diet Table which had soya milk etc. so possibly anyone on a medical diet would be able to book suitable meals) Other guests are allowed in at 15-minute intervals so the noise level and congestion builds. Most guests seem to be holiday groups, several with one night stops only with a vast mix of nationalities. There was always a fish and two meat options plus a pasta and sauce dish. The vegetables were always overcooked we found. Desserts are assorted cakes and gateaux plus a beautifully arranged fresh fruit platter. Coffee can be purchased form the bar.
Breakfast – Once again the “hot” option was lukewarm, bacon, scrambled egg (I tried it twice and it had a sweet taste) hard boiled eggs, small hotdog sausages. There was also assorted pastries and cakes, bread and rolls, cereals, cheeses, meats, fruit, self service hot drinks, jams (they don’t do marmalade) and a toaster BUT beware of it! We reported it to our tour manager as the toast dropped down the back of the machine and guests had to stretch under the heated unit to retrieve their slices. Seating is not allocated at breakfast neither is the timing.
There is a small gift shop in the lobby that sells gifts, snacks water and magazines. We found the Reception staff were very helpful and a fault with our room phone was dealt with by the time we returned from our outing. Four lifts run from the lobby to all floors but can be busy when groups are scheduled to leave or arrive.
Ideally situated, friendly hotel but as other Newmarket guests in our group remarked - the food was not what they had come to expect from their other Newmarket experience

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sonja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

Very good Hotel, staff very friendly great location right beside the Beach. Breakfast was made up of good choices.
Swimming pool fantastic really big. Sunbeds always available. Over all a really good stay at this Hotel.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank Sam1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019

We found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Good facilities. Enjoyed food. Can be very busy at breakfast. Most bedrooms have great views. Sea can be rough. Plenty of cafes and bars close by. These are all very reasonable prices are low.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank dihudson08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

I stayed hear for six days with friends for the Nations League Finals, the hotel was very clean and so was the rooms being cleaned on a daily basis, the mini bar was always topped up for refreshments. Meal times food was basic but very tasty I did love the steak in the restaurant really tender. The pool is nice but due to the weather on a few days we stayed inside the hotel. The bar was a bit of a downfall as you could be standing there waiting for a barman for 20 minutes to turn up to serve you. Reception staff we very polite and friendly. Outside the back of the hotel you have the promenade which have many bars shops and even a casino in walking distance, inside was very cheap for drinks only €2 a beer, all in all it was a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank nickpR2273WQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews