We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Povoa de Varzim
East Anglia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay overall”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just back from a 1 week holiday at the Axix Vermar. Room was clean and adequate for our needs. Some people had free tea and coffee in rooms so we asked and got it too. View of the beach from balcony but sadly didn't use balcony due to chilly winds. Remember we are talking about mid-June and the wind was enough to blow you over. Rain and cold winds on 1st day and each day thereafter was dry but not warm enough to use pool.

Food was adequate but often not hot enough. Meals were pretty much the same every day. Would have loved a fried egg or omelette or pancake for breakfast but it was rubbery scrambled eggs, streaky bacon and tinned sausages. How I longed for some mushrooms and grilled tomatoes too. There was also cereal, fruit, bread, cakes etc though.

Evening meal never varied. It was ALWAYS a pasta dish, fish and a choice of 2 meats (usually pork or turkey/chicken) but the veg was never hot enough. Plenty of salad available and soup (ALWAYS veg every single night) but it was OK. Desserts were fresh fruit or a variety of spongey cakes. Never saw cream, creme fraiche or icecream all week which would have made a pleasant change.

There was no entertainment whatsoever - we did see a keyboard but no player. Too cold and windy in the evenings to go for a walk because we didn't bring coats so we sat around and had a drink and then went to bed early. That was all there was to do and we did miss an evening walk.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and if we needed anything we found the staff helpful. Just felt the samey food and it not always being hot enough let it down. Some nights there was a huge queue for food and this was also a bit off-putting but we managed. I'd score this hotel and facilities 7/10.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PennylaneEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    216
    123
    35
    9
See reviews for
151
191
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Situated amongst a concrete jungle. Cross between E Berlin & Famagusta!
Buffet meals were okay but quite mundane.
Rooms clean but small.
Pay extra for sea view, otherwise car park & bland concrete are all you get to look at.
2 miles to Metro ( for Porto ) as nothing going on in locality.
Had to rely on organised trips to see anything of note.
Would I/we book again? No

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view, a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnbg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel well located at about 50 mts of the beach, although the afternoon chilling wind makes it impossible to enjoy. The staff (namely at reception) was somewhat too dry and serious, while guests at 95% were comprised of retired foreigners, making it look like an old retirement house. The room was spacious enough, the furniture cheap and used. Both Tv´s on the living room and bedroom could only tune two or three channels, the others available at mere hearing, no picture. The breakfast was regal, one of the best I ever had while the pool & its surroundings looked great and clean but no swimming this time. For a 4 star hotel more was unfortunately expected and not met, namely the home feeling.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view definetly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Nice hotel ,clean recent make over,good buffet food,nice .A few points,nice room but a brown ceiling!made it look like a cave,no life at the very formal bar ,the area its in is a dump.Nothing around Povoa to do or see nothing. Over the road on the beach,very good restaurant,not part of hotel,but less than 50 euro for two with wine etc.We where with a tour group so nice holiday.but do not go solo.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andytutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsteignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hotel was spotlessly clean, friendly staff, nice pool area but always very windy after 3-30pm. Comfortable rooms and pleasant public areas. Food was quite good but restaurant would be better if you a had designated table instaed of having to search for one every meal so was not always possible to sit with friends.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the swimming pool have balconies and get afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I went in March to this hotel and I loved it, clean rooms and spacious, breakfast with good variety, clean swimming pool and the staff give to us lots of attention when we need.
front sea , best is impossible.

Room Tip: sea view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I spent five days at this hotel. I was surprised to find it located among several high rise blocks which was off putting.
Inside it was modern in style and my room was large without a balcony. The bathroom looked attractive but lacked storage for toiletries,particularly the shower which had no shelf so shampoo etc had to be placed on shower floor.
Food was very good,lots of fresh fruit and delicious fish. Staff however needed more training also more bar staff required during evenings.
Marco the food and beverage manager is excellent.n
Nice seashore walks but transport to other places lacking.
Recommend taxi and metro to Porto, alovely city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annyounis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Povoa de Varzim
4.3 mi away
Sao Felix Hotel Hillside & Nature
Sao Felix Hotel Hillside & Natur...
#1 of 11 in Povoa de Varzim
147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varzinn Hotel
Varzinn Hotel
#4 of 11 in Povoa de Varzim
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#3 of 11 in Povoa de Varzim
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre Mar
Hotel Torre Mar
#5 of 11 in Povoa de Varzim
85 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Andre
Hotel Santo Andre
#9 of 11 in Povoa de Varzim
136 reviews
3.4 mi away
Santana Hotel & Spa
Santana Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Vila do Conde
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel

Property: Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel
Address: Rua da Imprensa Regional, Povoa de Varzim 4490-518, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Povoa de Varzim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Povoa de Varzim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Porto Vermar is a 4 star hotel on the beach in Povoa de Varzim, only 20 km from the international airport and 35 km from the centre of Porto. Perfect for your next business trip or for a holiday with your family, the hotel offers 208 airconditioned rooms, including 125 non smoking rooms and 12 suites, eight meeting rooms with natural light for your conference and seminar needs, a restaurant, bar, private parking, swimming pool, tennis court and a terrace area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axis Vermar Conference And Beach Hotel
Novotel póvoa De Varzim
Novotel Povoa De Varzim
Novotel Hotel Porto Vermar
póvoa De Varzim Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing